We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Magic Resort
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Its location is perfect - close to Port Vila but at the same time in a very peaceful and beautiful place with some of Efate's best attractions like the Summit Gardens, Cascade Waterfalls and Tanna Coffee close by. The grounds look very pleasant and well groomed, and the bungalows are equipped to enjoy your holiday. But best thing about it is that you can snorkel almost at your doorstep. The water is teeming with exotic fish. For those who are not so keen on getting into the water, you can watch marine creatures from the pier.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helga718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 174 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

My family of 4 stayed at Island Magic for 7 days in October 2013. I have two teenaged boys one who has Autism and so this place was perfect for us. As it was quiet and had lots of space for us to move about. I agree with Countrykids70 as we where there the same time! Our favourite day trip was spent with Joel and Nowa - Native Round Island Tour - phone 5450253 or 5438949 we went to the Blue Lagoon, Eton Beach, Taka Custom Village for lunch, WWII Air Strip, Natural Hot Water Spring. Survivor Beach, we also went to Lelepa Island, Vanuatu Jungle Zipline, Secret Garden for a Island Feast and also had lots of fun at Mele Waterfall Cascades. Friday night we went to The Beach Bar for Pizza and saw a great fire show. Most of these places are close to Island Magic Resort so it was much better to stay there then in Port Vila. We had no trouble getting buses to and from town. You just make sure before you get in what price to pay 400vat per person from Port Vila seem to be the go. Jane and David where wonderful. Australian television channel 9 is available and Wi-Fi which my boys where very happy with. I also took along some DVD's. Food is no problem either. Jane keeps stocks of meat, frozen pizza, bread, milk, soft drink, beer. So we only went to the shops once in Port Vila to buy supplies. Chill Restaurant is a great restaurant in Port Vila with good prices. We would be very happy to return to Island Magic Resort and maybe one day we would buy a place and retire there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 but nearly all rooms have ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have just returned from a 12 day stay in Vanuatu, and we were lucky to have spent 7 of them at this beautiful accommodation. The bungalows are spacious, clean and well appointed for travellers who like the convenience of being able to cater for themselves. We travelled with two children and they loved having their own bathroom, eating breakfast on the outdoor verandah and swimming in the small rock pool and swimming pool. The snorkelling was outstanding, although needs to be done early in the day, and is probably not for non-confident swimmers, but there are still lots of fish, crabs and sea snakes to be seen from the jetty and deck. Although the resort is not centrally located to Vila, the natural beauty of the adjoining Mele Bay and the peace and quiet more than compensate for the minor inconvenience of the colourful and varied public transport. The two BBQ areas are clean and well located to gorgeous alfresco areas, lovely spots for watching the flying fish and sunsets over a drink. The managers Jane and David went out of their way to make our family welcome, organising various tours and bus trips for us, as well as providing grocery requisites and answering our many questions. If you want to eat out in this area, the Benjor Beach club and Beach Bar at Mele Bay are close by, Tanna Coffee does nice coffee and cakes, otherwise Vila is only a short bus ride. We didn't mind having to walk the short distances to various places close by (such as Mele Cascades), our kids saw a lots on their walks and have come home with lots of memories about different aspects of Ni-Van culture and people.
Thanks so much Jane and David!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Countrykids70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This property was recommended by a friend and it certainly lived up to it's reputation! Peaceful setting with roomy bungalow accommodation was perfect for two couples or a family group. It is a bus ride to town which can take some time depending on traffic conditions and adds to the cost of the stay. However, we felt this minor difficulty was more than offset by the setting, the snorkelling off the jetty and the ability to cook for ourselves if we so desired. This is a useful feature as food in restaurants is western prices and adds significantly to the cost of a family holiday. More money for activities was a bonus for our family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My friend and I spent our last five days at island magic resort we both wished we'd stayed the whole holiday here, the accomodation, the location, the peace, it was perfect! Recommend this resort to holiday makers wanting peace and quiet with just a short bus ride to bustling Port Vila!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mazkeity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We did our homework and found it near to exactly as we wanted and expected. Lovely spot and very relaxing. Sat on the verandah had a wine or beer and looked out to the blue water. Went to sleep and woke up to the sound of waves laping up against the corals etc. The staff were all great and did everything we could have expected of them, nothing was too much trouble. I knew how far from Port Villa the resort is but didnt grasp logisticly how far it was. For us we simply hired a car for most of our stay and travelled around the island, went to buy our own groceries, went to restaurants and bars. Great place to veg out. Booked some tours from the resort. All roads around Port Villa are 3rd world, people walk along the side of them all the time, big pot holes, locals wave to you all the time. Embrace the fact it isnt the Gold Coast in Qld and you will have a great time. Expect a westerners 5 star Hilton style holiday dont go to Vanuatu. Glad we didnt stay in or closer to Port Villa, traffic is hectic. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but were glad we had a hire car and pleased we werent in town with everyone else.

Room Tip: Our accommodation had ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terryd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just had a wonderful week, away from the busy world,accommodation was perfect every mod con for self catering,clean comfort.
The reception has bread milk and food packs for the barbecue by the swimming pool, and we enjoyed feeding the colourful fish at the end of the jetty, great snorkeling.
To sit by the ocean with wide views of Mele Bay and a good book just perfect.
David and Jane with there helpful staff made our holiday, they can organize transport and lots of local advice with pleasure.
Eve and Pete Grimley

Room Tip: All cottages are private with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EveG550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.7 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
218 reviews
6.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,538 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
543 reviews
5.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Resort

Address: Devils Point Road | Mele Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $104 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Magic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with self-contained apartment accommodation with ocean views, tropical gardens, guest bbq areas, swimming pool, and jetty to access spectacular snorkeling. Ideal for wedding and family groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Island Magic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Hotel Port Vila
Island Magic Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing