We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we asked for! Peace, space and ability to self cater!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Magic Resort
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Otaki-machi, Japan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Everything we asked for! Peace, space and ability to self cater!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This property was recommended by a friend and it certainly lived up to it's reputation! Peaceful setting with roomy bungalow accommodation was perfect for two couples or a family group. It is a bus ride to town which can take some time depending on traffic conditions and adds to the cost of the stay. However, we felt this minor difficulty was more than offset by the setting, the snorkelling off the jetty and the ability to cook for ourselves if we so desired. This is a useful feature as food in restaurants is western prices and adds significantly to the cost of a family holiday. More money for activities was a bonus for our family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    35
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
52
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My friend and I spent our last five days at island magic resort we both wished we'd stayed the whole holiday here, the accomodation, the location, the peace, it was perfect! Recommend this resort to holiday makers wanting peace and quiet with just a short bus ride to bustling Port Vila!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mazkeity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We did our homework and found it near to exactly as we wanted and expected. Lovely spot and very relaxing. Sat on the verandah had a wine or beer and looked out to the blue water. Went to sleep and woke up to the sound of waves laping up against the corals etc. The staff were all great and did everything we could have expected of them, nothing was too much trouble. I knew how far from Port Villa the resort is but didnt grasp logisticly how far it was. For us we simply hired a car for most of our stay and travelled around the island, went to buy our own groceries, went to restaurants and bars. Great place to veg out. Booked some tours from the resort. All roads around Port Villa are 3rd world, people walk along the side of them all the time, big pot holes, locals wave to you all the time. Embrace the fact it isnt the Gold Coast in Qld and you will have a great time. Expect a westerners 5 star Hilton style holiday dont go to Vanuatu. Glad we didnt stay in or closer to Port Villa, traffic is hectic. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but were glad we had a hire car and pleased we werent in town with everyone else.

Room Tip: Our accommodation had ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terryd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just had a wonderful week, away from the busy world,accommodation was perfect every mod con for self catering,clean comfort.
The reception has bread milk and food packs for the barbecue by the swimming pool, and we enjoyed feeding the colourful fish at the end of the jetty, great snorkeling.
To sit by the ocean with wide views of Mele Bay and a good book just perfect.
David and Jane with there helpful staff made our holiday, they can organize transport and lots of local advice with pleasure.
Eve and Pete Grimley

Room Tip: All cottages are private with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EveG550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I read all the reviews and chose Island Magic for a quiet get away for 2. All the reviews looked great and as it was first time in Vanuatu we researched quite well and thought this sounded wonderful. We were very disappointed. The 'resort' has no facilities, the nearest shop is a 15 minute drive away and the only nearby restaurant, 5 minutes walk, is really not good. Breakfast there was close to inedible, coffee undrinkable. There is no access to the beach other than to climb down a ladder and swim around the jetty, hopeless for children. The pool is okay, older, bit bigger than family home size so when 3 groups are there it is crowded. It is quiet in the area but you pay for this in that everytime you want to eat you have to haggle price for a bus as there seems to be no fixed prices and the drivers really try it on and can get quite nasty, the road is dirt and very potholed. Bungalows are fine, reasonably clean and 2 bed 2 bath, service is only every 4 days and at $250 per day with not even basic breakfast we were expecting much more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Island Magic Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
A great shame Summer Suzie was disappointed with her stay at Island Magic Resort. We strive to present Island Magic exactly as it is on our website and also our wholesalers who all have direct links to our website. We make a point of explaining we are a fully self contained apartment resort and there is no restaurant on site. We also explain that we have no beach as such but a sandy foreshore with full access to snorkeling and swimming. Adults and children alike have been absolutely wowed by the natural haven of fish and coral we have on our doorstep. We do not have all resort facilities but I cannot quite agree with Summer Suzie's version that there are none. To list a few, wireless internet, DVD players and free library, TV, 24 hr continuous movie channel, snorkeling gear, travel desk, swimming pool. 2 excellent bbq areas, patenque court, on site shop for essentials like bread, meat, milk, drinks, wine and beer etc, large book library and courteous and friendly staff. Breakfast trays or supplies can be pre-ordered. Nearest shop is 5 minutes away for most supplies. We will have to look at other avenues at getting this information to prospective guests because unfortunately it has been missed in this case.
Vanuatu are tropical islands in the middle of the pacific so on occasions the dirt roads do fall into disrepair. Had this guest been here a week later the road would have been in a graded condition. Buses and taxis are not regulated in this country so unfortunately there is some disparity in prices and attitudes. We do have a list of recommended drivers who are courteous, on time and reasonably priced. Most of our guests enjoy using them.
We cannot comment on the guests breakfast down the road other than to say other guests have had excellent experiences and have made a point telling us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just had a week at Island Magic and could not recommend it enough. The units are clean spacious,private and easily accommodated our booking for 2 couples. Having a bathroom for each room makes a big difference. It is easy to snorkel and relax there for the day or come back to some comfort after a day trip.Hot showers, well set up kitchen for cooking and enough lounges for our group. Jane and David assisted with any queries as well as organising for the buses to do pickups from our door.We would recommend this to anyone. Absolutely great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here in a Beach front 2 bed Villa with Ocean view, very relaxing, awesome villa, so clean and heaps of room, well equiped for our family stay, great having a bathroom per bedroom. Jane and David are so helpful with arranging transport with either local buses or taxis. It takes about 20 mins to get to Port Villa on a bus, the buses have no timetables, you just pop up to see Jane or David and they will arrange a bus to pick you up in 15 mins, then you can also arrange pickup with the bus drivers at a time and place. Very easy to get around and well worth staying a little out of town, as you have so mush more space in the resort and beauitful waterfront views. Feed the fish off the jetty and go for a snorkel, my husband was talking to the local dive company and recommends Island Magic as one of the better snorkeling spots. Tanna coffee is just a short bike ride away (use the free bikes) and get coffee and choc browines every morning!! Cant recommend this resort enough, we travelled with 2 small children 3yrs and 5yrs and they had heaps of fun playing in the gardens, swimming pool and bolies court. (also borrowed a few kids DVD's for some down time) in a word......AWESOME

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichola31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
6.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
5.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Resort

Property: Island Magic Resort
Address: Devils Point Road | Mele Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Magic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with self-contained apartment accommodation with ocean views, tropical gardens, guest bbq areas, swimming pool, and jetty to access spectacular snorkeling. Ideal for wedding and family groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Island Magic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Hotel Port Vila
Island Magic Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing