We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Magic Resort
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just had a week at Island Magic and could not recommend it enough. The units are clean spacious,private and easily accommodated our booking for 2 couples. Having a bathroom for each room makes a big difference. It is easy to snorkel and relax there for the day or come back to some comfort after a day trip.Hot showers, well set up kitchen for cooking and enough lounges for our group. Jane and David assisted with any queries as well as organising for the buses to do pickups from our door.We would recommend this to anyone. Absolutely great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    35
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
53
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here in a Beach front 2 bed Villa with Ocean view, very relaxing, awesome villa, so clean and heaps of room, well equiped for our family stay, great having a bathroom per bedroom. Jane and David are so helpful with arranging transport with either local buses or taxis. It takes about 20 mins to get to Port Villa on a bus, the buses have no timetables, you just pop up to see Jane or David and they will arrange a bus to pick you up in 15 mins, then you can also arrange pickup with the bus drivers at a time and place. Very easy to get around and well worth staying a little out of town, as you have so mush more space in the resort and beauitful waterfront views. Feed the fish off the jetty and go for a snorkel, my husband was talking to the local dive company and recommends Island Magic as one of the better snorkeling spots. Tanna coffee is just a short bike ride away (use the free bikes) and get coffee and choc browines every morning!! Cant recommend this resort enough, we travelled with 2 small children 3yrs and 5yrs and they had heaps of fun playing in the gardens, swimming pool and bolies court. (also borrowed a few kids DVD's for some down time) in a word......AWESOME

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichola31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Heights
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This resort is located out of town which is perfect for a relaxing holiday. Jane and David make you feel very welcome and are able to put you in touch with local guides who can assist with transport if you require. The accomodation is neat and tidy and accomodates for a self-contained holiday. Benjor Beach club is walking distance if you would like to eat out. There are plenty of other attractions in walking distance to this resort also, but it is most definitely a place to rest and relax and have fun in the sun. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed a week in a two bedroom self contained unit with friends in September 2012. Each room had its own ensuite. The units were immaculate with everything one could need and David was super helpful. The resort itself was so quiet we had the small pool and amazing barbecue area to ourselves most of the time. Highly recommended if you want somewhere you can self cater (we had a free provisioning trip to Port Vila included in our rate which was handy as is some way out of the main town). Probably the best place around Vila for snorkelling as well although beach was rocky so not so good if you are wanting pristine white soft sand to lie on or walk along. We loved it and hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at Island Magic, and no negatives come to mind. Great bungalows, great views and great service. Jane and David are super helpful in organising tours and transport for you, and even gave us a lift on a few occasions! Bungalows are private and the resort's distance to Port Villa means that everything is really peaceful and laid back. Saying that, be aware that you will have to travel in to town for places to eat - but 400 vt per person for a friendly beachside 15 minute bus ride is fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived in Port Vila late at night a couple of days before Xmas - Jane and David organised all of our transfers and made sure we had a tropical breakfast waiting for us and our 4 year old. They could not have been more accommodating - sorting out bus rides and transport, booking us in for Xmas lunch and giving us tips as to what we should see with our 5 days.

The bungalows are spacious, clean and well appointed and the lay out of the property is such that it is private and quiet - perfect for a getaway. The jetty is awesome, the views are outstanding and the grounds are lush, pretty and well maintained.

Would recommend a stay at Island Magic any day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We (my wife & I sans kids!) are just back from our second visit to Vanuatu and Island Magic. First time in March this year and both times as part of a conference group. Another fantastic stay. The previous reviews really nail all the details. No exagerations there. This really is a piece of paradise in the paradise that Vanuatu is. Certainly Dave & Jane (and all their staff) ensure that any problems are resolved and questions are answers, B buses rung, restaurants recommended ... All very seamlessly. We visited some great restaurants ... Élan, Havana, Erakor, Wahoo Bar. And the American Saloon on the road in to Pt Villa. Pt Villa well worth visiting to soak in the hustle & bustle and experience the locals. All part of the gig but good to avoid "cruise ship day" ... Or not! Weather this time around not so great but that means more time to listen to the ocean and the birds, read a book and drink Tuskers!! Recommend the walk up to The Summit first thing of a morning and kayak/snorkeling with Charmaine & Terry @ Kayaking Vanuatu. We will be back, might even bring the kids??

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
6.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
5.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Resort

Property: Island Magic Resort
Address: Devils Point Road | Mele Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Magic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with self-contained apartment accommodation with ocean views, tropical gardens, guest bbq areas, swimming pool, and jetty to access spectacular snorkeling. Ideal for wedding and family groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Island Magic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Hotel Port Vila
Island Magic Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing