We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best resort I've ever stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eratap Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best resort I've ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

We ended our stay in Vanuatu with 4 nights spent at Eratap. It is the best resort I have ever stayed at!

The rooms are beautiful and very roomy. We had a 2 bedroom bure which had 2 bathrooms and a seperate lounge. Each bure is very private from the others with their own lawn leading down to the beach to your own loungers. They seem luxurious but with traditional decorations with was in keeping with Vanuatu. The outdoor shower was also very handy after spending time on the beach.

The restaurant had fantastic food! As well as an extensive menu in which I attempted to try as many things as I could while I was there, they had a specials board which changed for each meal. The food was definitely worthy of 5 stars and is exactly what you hope for while on holiday.

The staff are very friendly and professional and willing to do whatever it takes to make it a pleasent stay. They have boats to take you to any of the islands off shore with which all you have to do is ask. They'll take you and pick you up whenever you want.

The facilities are fantastic with a great swimming pool, pool table, satellite TV and water sport equipment.

I would absolutely recommend staying here espcecially if wanting something a little more private and romantic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    46
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
137
395
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Oh my! This place was my favorite in Vanuatu. It was amazing from the moment we arrived. We got given beautiful fruit cocktails on arrival and were explained the lay-out of the property before being taken to our room.
The 'room' was a 2 bedroom villa right on the curve of the headland. Stunning white sand beaches, a gorgeous 'Grecian' swimming pool, set amongst the stunning gardens and palm trees - heaven!!! , amazing restaurant with the most delicious meals. I can't stop raving about this place!! The staff are there if you need them but keep a polite distance from you , which I actually liked! But if you need them they are there in a flash and their cheerful demeanour and quick laughter is very infectious. You find yourself not only smiling back but joining in.
The 2 bedroom villas each have 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, an outdoor shower, a sitting room with a small fridge, kettle and a DVD screen. No TV in the rooms - but there is a huge plasma outside in it's own hut that has many channels and is available all day for guests. There is also 2 outdoor decks, one with a table and 2 chairs and one with 2 lounge beds. There is also a thatched hut on the beachfront with another 2 day beds on it - it's amazing!!!
It takes about 1/2 an hour to drive out to Eratap with the wonderful Robert at the wheel. He goes into town everyday at 10am and departs from Port Vila at 12.30pm so if you need to go and stock up on supplies this is a wonderful free service with a great escort.
The restaurant is run beautifully and the meals are some of the best on the Island so you won't be disappointed in that regard. The location of the property is a major plus. It is about a 25 minute walk to the village of Eratap. You won't get any noise here - if it's peace and tranquility that you are after you are not going to be disappointed. Keep the shutters open at night and the only thing you're going to hear is the ocean - it's pure bliss!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

My husband and I had a glorious week at Eratap Resort. Fantastic Villa, large rooms, great bed and great position practically right on the beach. The food was terrific and we actually regretted not booking the full package of dinner and lunch as well as breakfast. We had lunch and dinner a few times in Pt Vila but the food was nowhere near as good.
We loved the pool area and also the area outside our villa - lots of comfortable loungers.
We also enjoyed kayaking which was great fun for us as total beginners and the snorkelling was popular. All in all a great place for a break away from Melbourne's cold weather. The staff were great especially Roslyn and Andre and Yvonne was so sweet.
Gloria gave terrific massages. A good tip is that if you live in Melbourne, its worth while popping up to Sydney and leave from there. The flight gets in to Vanuatu at about 2pm but if you leave direct from Melbourne its late at night and you don't get in until about 3am which means you are paying for a full night and you are only there a couple of hours and of course you can't look around and miss out on the lovely welcome with cocktails etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

Eratap is a great find....food is good, accommodation super and with views to die for, the staff are friendly and helpful.
We had a 3 bedroom villa, huge and well appointed. Views from all rooms.
It is a relaxing resort good for young kids but not teenagers. The swimming off the resort is only good on high tide as there is a lot of coral. The resort is very remote.
Port Vila was very disappointing lack of shops, markets and good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Where2next00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed here for the first time with my wife, mother in-law and young 1 year old. This was our first overseas trip with our son (short flight from Sydney 3 - 4 hrs).

First impressions were, "where the hell are we going", the resort is literally off the beaten track and the road in is a dirt bumpy track through the bush. Funnily enough it put our little one to sleep but gave everyone else sore bums. The resort is kind enough to pick you up from the airport so it is very easy.

It is a small report of separate villas along the water. The villas are comfortable but a bit sparse and given the humidity you can see things may show their age quickly. We found them to be very nice and homely. They lack a decent TV service in the rooms but offer dvds for free.

For babies, it was good. At first we were put off by the bumpy road in but the place is small so doesn't get busy and it was so relaxed that our little man chilled out and got into holiday mode. Plus the chef cooked meals for our baby so that was good, but you have to give them very specific instructions because otherwise they will do what they think is nice rather than what is good for a baby. But as I said it was great service and something you would not normally get.

The pool is small but there is the ocean with plenty of cool reef fish just off shore. They give free gear to use.

The isolated location does have one drawback in that it is not easy to go out on the town but that is not what we came for anyway. The food is excellent, top quality but it is not cheap. We didn't go for the food package and had lunch in town sometimes

The only issue was the weather that was raining for the first few days we got there which was disappointing but hardly controllable. There really is not that much to do without good weather. Plus if they say it should clear up just remember that they may mean in a couple of days.

The town is small and the markets not great but it is worth hiring a car and getting out and about. We found driving easy and not intimidating.

A tip, if a cruise ship is in town the markets put their prices up.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kosmo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stayed at Eratap for 5 nights.
You are immediately made to feel welcome by the owners which was nice. This is very much a place to relax and unwind, they have organised activities each morning which was really good (snorkelling, jungle walks, etc..)
The staff are all very friendly, Matt was a standout and a pleasure to speak with.
The food was fantastic, best I've eaten while on a break, you will not be disappointed.
Only criticism, lack of a nightly happy hour ;)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheStripedPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Right from our collection at the Airport by Robert we could not have wished for a better time at Eratap. The staff were all friendly and attentive, without being obtrusive. Our Villa was absolutely wonderful with all facilities one could need. We found the food excellent as to choice, variety, quality and the size of serves. The acivities, from the reef walk, snorkelling, trips to Castaway Island, the village visit and culture descriptions were varied and informative. We did not want for something to do during our 8 day visit.
A trip arond Efate with a car and driver arranged by the Resort was another highlight.
Thanks are due to Tony and Louisa and their wonderful staff for a memorable experience at Eratap.
We unreservedly reccommend time at Eratap Resort to anybody thinking of going to Vanuatu.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chops6247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
17.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
4.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Property: Eratap Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing