We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blissful break at Eratap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A blissful break at Eratap”
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We have just returned from a blissful 5 day stay at Eratap. We took our two young children (3 and 4 years old) and it was one of the best breaks we have had with the kids. The villa was specious and comfortable in every respect. The pool area was lovely and the beaches are all fabulous. Beautiful snorkelling just off the beach! The food was excellent and Fiona was always very accommodating. The kids meals were top quality - fresh fish used for the fish and chips (rather than the frozen variety that you normally get with kids meals), great pastas and several options for them to choose from. The grown ups were also very happy and each meal was a delight. I was so sorry to see the negative review received about Fiona earlier as we had the opposite experience - she was always helpful and obviously an excellent chef. Tony and Louise were also great - nothing was too much trouble and they arranged a couple of great activities for the kids. They also have plenty of toys (my son was a big fan of the train set) and textas for drawing which was great for the kids. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Cest73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    50
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
145
408
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

We have recently returned from 12 glorious days at Eratap. All previous glowing reviews were reinforced during our stay. From Louisa & Tony’s welcoming warmth and interest in creating and providing a superb holiday experience to the gentle charm, friendliness and elegant efficiency of the staff, it was an outstanding holiday - not to mention Chef Fiona’s talents in creating fabulous food and her willingness to provide personalized dishes if we required them. We are not young nor were we honeymooners but the location of the honeymoon villa with its own small beach and separate outdoor thatched pavilion with double day bed was our own piece of paradise. We treasured the experience and can’t wait to return.

  • Liked — Spacious and private
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trianSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2008

My Wife and I had a wonderful stay at Eratap of just 4 nights. All the positive reviews here really reflect what we felt about the place too.

The only thing I would add is that because the place is small you get to know the staff very quickly, and they were all very nice and very helpful. Its a bit like walking into the "Cheers" bar where everybody knows your name :-) This made getting to relax all the more easier.

This was helped by this being just a wonderful location. As I said in the forum: I don't know how many times I stood looking out from our rooms over the white beach to the blue sea and said to myself "isn't this just beautiful".

  • Liked — beautiful location and friendly attention
  • Disliked — nothing major, replacing used items was sometimes overlooked - nothing a quick call didn't fix.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My wife and I have recently returned from a great holiday at the Eratap Beach Resort and found the location and accomodation perfect for our requirements - quiet and relaxing with beautiful views out onto the ocean and reefs.

The accomodation is spacious and well presented and the staff cannot do enough for you. Tony and Louisa have established an incredible boutique resort at a fair price.

The restaraunt food was excellent and reasonably priced and Fiona (the chef) was more than helpful.

I noticed from a previous review that Eratap is accused of having a monopoly due to its position - all you have to do is look at the many maps available on the internet to see that the location is remote from town but that is its beauty. If you want more choice, stay in town. As I mentined earlier the food and drink is reasonably priced with plenty of choice and what we would expect to pay locally in our home location.

All in all a great experience.

Glyn & Jennie.
Perth. WA.

  • Liked — Comfortable with great views
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Carter198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Our family, including our three teenage children, thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay at Eratap Resort Port Vila.

The resort is very new having only been open since November last year. The main reception building and the villas are all beautifully decorated with ample accommodation in luxurious and relaxed style.

We did travel into Port Vila to shop and to do the usual touristy things but preferred to spend most of our days in and out of the beautiful waters around the resort. We were delighted by the friendly personable staff that were always there to help with snorkelling, canoeing and boating equipment and guidance as to the best places to go to see what the ocean around the resort had to offer.

The restaurant's view is second-to-none looking over the beach and their Australian Chef created meals that were delicious - breakfast, lunch and dinner. Must make special mention of the beef - steak was my son's choice every single night! The restaurant staff where so helpful and careful to cater for the needs of our daughter (anaphylactic allergy to all dairy products).

The resort catered well for our teenagers with activities and tours and plenty of recent DVDs to watch.

We loved it and will definitely consider returning to Eratap some time soon.

  • Liked — Beautiful Location, relaxed atmosphere, good food.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ebright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We booked a group of 32 people to the Eratap Resort in April 08 for two weeks. 50% of the group were vegetarians, which was agreed as being OK with Tony & Louisa (the owners) before booking. Some of the group were from the UK and some were from Australia

On arrival the resort was beautiful. The villas were perfect and a lot of hard work had gone into the place. The problems began with the chef: Fiona. In the begining we discussed the menus and agreed on certain dishes. These never materialised. The vegetarians ended up with a bowl of dried chick pea curry. In fact over 14 nights we ate a variation of four dishes either rice, pasta, soup or quiche, without any vegetable side dish! Not even a chip! (unless we constantly asked for them) We were so fed up by the second week that a group of people went to the market and bought an array of vegetables, potatoes and garlic. We then promptly handed them to the chef to cook! The cheers that went up that night were astounding!

If you are a meat eater you will be very happy there. If you are a vegetarian or staying longer than a week it will prove difficult. We had several professional nutritionalists in our group who also spoke directly with Fiona, but she still happily carried on in her world and dished up a very poor standard. We spoke to Tony on several occasions about her attitude, but he admitted that he was too frightened to take action due to him not being able to replace her.

By the time the holiday was over the majority of the group could not wait to leave!! Such a shame as the place is lovely. The resort is quite far out of town so the bumpy drive along 3km of a seriously pot-holed road, puts you off eating at other restaurants;
giving Eratap the food monopoly.

Another problem was the laundry facilities. I ended up with a lot of ruined clothes with white bleach spots and several pairs of underwear belonging to other villas! There needs to be more training in this department. The spa staff were also fantastic, as were the locals. Vanuatu is a beautiful unspoilt place to visit.

For facilities it is a great resort. The staff were fantastic except for Fiona and on occasions even Tony & Louisa. I would not go back and many in the group also agreed. Instead of giving us paradise we had quite a stressful time trying to communicate something so simple...A vegetarian eats vegetables...

When we left we travelled to Singapore and stayed in the Raffles Hotel. The first thing that the restaurant waiter said was, 'what would you like. We can make you anything?' That was like music to my ears after the battle we had at Eratap!

  • Liked — The Villas, the beach and the pool
  • Disliked — The quality and variation of the food, the 3km of pot-holed road
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank JLRNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We have recently returned to Australia after a one week stay at Eratap Beach Resort in a two bedroom villa.

Bottom line up front: Eratap is in a beautiful beachfront setting and the resort had all that we required for a superb tropical island break.

All of the accommodation is absolute beachfront - you can lie in your bed and watch the tide come in an out. The villas are well designed, stylish, spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms are lovely - the ensuite bathtub is deep and luxurious and the candles a nice touch.

The resort is nicely landscaped and the pool area is delightful. The resort is located on a scenic peninsula about 25 to 30 minutes drive from the airport. The peninsula location alllows for access to both an ocean beach and a lagoon beach (with pier). This means that no matter what the wind or water conditions there is invariably a good option for a waterborne activity - and there are plenty to choose from.

We stayed during the Australian School Holidays, when the resort offered daily Kid's activities. These activities were well conducted and really gave our children a good insight into the environment of Vanuatu and the culture of the local Ni-Vanuatu people. In particular, I feel that we have to mention the fantastic abilities of Sandy and Mac with the chlidren. The experience our children had was first rate and will stay with them for years to come. This was no run of the mill 'kids club' , but a truly warm and fun cultural and educational experience.

Adults have activities ranging from swimming, snorkelling,kayaking, various fishing actvities, cultural activities (the village visit is highly recommended) to a wide number of spa treatments in the resort's lagoon front spa (the massage is also highly recommended). Or , you can do nothing at all on a lounge on the beachfront deck in front of your Villa......

The standard rack rate at Eratap includes breakfast from an a la carte menu. All the meals we had at the resort were good and the service was always friendly and cheerful. The restaurant area and bar are tropically elegant and absolutely beachfront. It was always a delight to dine with the waves breaking a few dozen metres away on the pretty ocean beach.

The Eratap website honestly depicts and describes the scenic beauty, superb design of the resort and the warmth of the Ni-Vanuatu people.

Tony and Lousia are warm , friendly and great hosts.

Eratap is a dream location for travellers who are looking for serenity, beauty , relaxation and a beautiful Vanuatu experience without the crowds, night clubs and package tour touts.

We are already dreaming of our next trip to Eratap.

  • Liked — The location and design
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Head_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
17.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
552 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
665 reviews
4.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Property: Eratap Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing