We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Everything was perfect, beautiful room, friendly staff, lots to do if you want to yet peaceful and quiet as well. One of my highlights was seeing a dugong in the lagoon. We visited old man Daniel and the village, both were very interesting. I found the food to be quite expensive, but the prices were no dearer than any other restaurants in Vanuatu, I believe they are all slightly overpriced with few cheap eat options. Maybe we went to the wrong places! Food at Eratap was excellent though and we were happy with every meal.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gabrielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Eratap Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 613 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and three daughters aged 22,18 and 15 spent 6 wonderful days at Eratap and none of us wanted to leave. We stayed in the 3 bedroom villa. The swimming and snorkelling directly in front of our villa was superb. The neighbouring deserted Castaway Island was perfect for a picnic lunch, swimming and snorkelling. The accommodation is very comfortable and surprisingly cool with a constant breeze. The restaurant food is delicious and the staff are warm, welcoming and friendly. Our waiter, Clifford, entertained the girls with card tricks before dinner. Tony, the owner, and Pascalle, the manager, were very welcoming and helpful. My youngest daughter got an infected coral cut on her foot and Tony and Pascalle organized antibiotics from a Pharmacy in Vila in 2 hours. Pascalle also booked a local bus driver to take us to the beautiful Blue Lagoon and Eton beach for a picnic lunch.
I have travelled extensively in the South Pacific (Fiji, Vanuatu, Samoa, and Tonga) and Eratap is the best resort and best location I have found. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We rarely find a resort that exceeds our expectations but Eratap certainly did. Amazing location, excellent accommodation with plenty of space and outstanding service. Perfect place to relax and unwind but with plenty to keep you entertained if you choose to. Perhaps it is the proximity to the local village where many of the staff live but we felt that everyone really cared about the guests enjoyment and were not simply doing a job. Spending time with Old Man Daniel was a highlight. Will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisgaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Plan - 6 days in Vanuatu for two adult couples. 5 days at Eratap (based on good reviews) and one overnight on Tanna Island. Agent requested two one bedroom villas together (3 & 4) and was advised that management would allocate as they pleased. (Villas 3 & 4 were available). Disappointment number 1. As we intended including an overnight tour on Tanna we would require a stay at Eratap of 3 nights, then 2 nights. This, the agent was advised was not possible as EACH STAY HAS TO BE A MINIMUM OF 3 NIGHTS REGARDLESS OF PREVIOUS STAYS. Disappointment Number 2. When the agent rang back and we chose to stay at alternative accommodation the first night, do the Tanna trip then spend the remaining 4 days at Eratap she was told very rudely that "We were an inconvenience!!" Too much effort - so we wouldn't recommend at all. Needless to say we booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
12  Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPVan, Owner at Eratap Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Beverley M,

I am sorry to hear that you have clearly received information via your agent that has been misconstrued. It is a real shame you never contacted the Resort directly to enquire about accommodation availability, you might have saved yourself some considerable angst. For the record we never told the agent you were "inconvenient", we are unfortunately never able to guarantee guests specific one bedroom villas and yes we do have a minimum stay policy of 3 nights which, in your instance, was not able to be altered due to heavy occupancy. It is regrettable that you have chosen to use this online forum to post a review about a Resort that you have never stayed at, never visited and never spoken to.

Kind regards
Tony
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Fantastic.. (and that's an understatement) - must go back (soon!! real soon!!)...from the moment we met up with the driver at The Terraces for initial transfer to Eratap to the final good bye we were in dream time land.. the clock stopped, days all rolled into one... life was sooo relaxing... time just went so slow (we called it Melanesian/South Pacific time... 2 speeds.. very slow and even slower!!) Fantastic staff (another understatement) - nothing too much trouble; all so friendly, all with a smile (well, 99.9% of the time.. we did have one "grumpy" waitress one morning - maybe it was due to us wanting just a fried egg white (no yolk) - we're funny like that!!) but all our requests each day were received so well... everything superb (long grass on long walk made us turn back tho'...), beach sunset fabulous (most nights), snorkelling superb, activities excellent, massage ultra-relaxing, pool (so warm!!) mostly to ourselves, big island and small island all to ourselves too, no kids; do as little or as much as one wanted - wot a memorable holiday!!!!!! Thanks so much to everyone (Pascalle, Tony and the rest of the wonderful staff....) P.S. have recommended this resort to all our friends.. they'd be silly not to go! (Even if getting through immigration and customs at the airport was somewhat time consuming??)

Room Tip: We occupied Vila 1 - next to restaurant.. no probs at all, at all... in fact very convenient for get...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very pleasant stay. Our aim was to have a relaxing holiday where we did very little. Eratap was perfect for this. You could be as active as you want or do as little as you want. Other reviewers have said it but the staff are fantastic. Very friendly and helpful. We had a lot of fun learning and talking pidgin with the restaurant staff. The food was superb, every single meal! Pascalle and Tony (didn't meet Louise) look after their guests well. Pascalle organised the helicopter transfer for us (successfully keeping it secret from my wife) and a trip to Tanna. Both went well and no hassles for us. Choose Eratap, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karcultaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Thank you for a very enjoyable week. From the moment we booked to the moment we left the staff were so good and nothing was too much trouble. This is the place to be if you don't like crowds, no feeding time at the zoo type breakfast crowds here and no need to put a towel on the lounge at the pool! Very very relaxing and none of us wanted to leave. I certainly don't hate kids as I took two of my three grown children with me and my son and girlfriend visited for a few hours but the fact that there was no kids running around screaming was ideal. My mother had a great time and it was a great place to spend a holiday together. No hesitation in recommending this resort to anyone looking for a relaxed holiday where there is still plenty to do.

Room Tip: They all looked great. We stayed in the 3bed room villa which was really nice and spent one night in...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
17.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
560 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
561 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $430 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing