We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Wagait Beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very pleasant stay. Our aim was to have a relaxing holiday where we did very little. Eratap was perfect for this. You could be as active as you want or do as little as you want. Other reviewers have said it but the staff are fantastic. Very friendly and helpful. We had a lot of fun learning and talking pidgin with the restaurant staff. The food was superb, every single meal! Pascalle and Tony (didn't meet Louise) look after their guests well. Pascalle organised the helicopter transfer for us (successfully keeping it secret from my wife) and a trip to Tanna. Both went well and no hassles for us. Choose Eratap, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karcultaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    50
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
143
405
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Thank you for a very enjoyable week. From the moment we booked to the moment we left the staff were so good and nothing was too much trouble. This is the place to be if you don't like crowds, no feeding time at the zoo type breakfast crowds here and no need to put a towel on the lounge at the pool! Very very relaxing and none of us wanted to leave. I certainly don't hate kids as I took two of my three grown children with me and my son and girlfriend visited for a few hours but the fact that there was no kids running around screaming was ideal. My mother had a great time and it was a great place to spend a holiday together. No hesitation in recommending this resort to anyone looking for a relaxed holiday where there is still plenty to do.

Room Tip: They all looked great. We stayed in the 3bed room villa which was really nice and spent one night in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a fantastic resort. We have stayed at The Havannah but decided to give Eratap a go. Pascalle is extremely helpful, warm and a great hostess. She is assisted by a great team who go out of their way to make you feel very special. Great service, friendly and always smiling resort staff and beautiful location. This team could teach the Australian resorts a thing or two about service! The weather just didn't play the game for us but we had a beautiful villa to chill out in and we did manage some snorkelling before we had to leave. If I had to choose between Eratap and Havannah I would choose Eratap - but only because it is slightly cheaper than Havannah! This is definitely the place to stay for a romantic getaway, to be treated as royalty, to have your every whim catered to and to enjoy the beauty of this amazing country.

Room Tip: We had Villa 1 - right next to restaurant which got a little noisy but overall was still very pleasa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyDinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and me stayed for the second time at Eratap end of October to beginning of November 2013. The weather played its part and as the first time we were not disappointed. The staff was so friendly and accommodating and the villas are just perfect. The extension of the dinning veranda with a very tasteful coral wall has added to the whole flair of the resort. We got a complimentary full body massage which made a very relaxing experience in the spa area by the water's edge with all the bird song above. You can ask the staff at any time to take you out on the water for a snorkelling trip. The fire dance perfomance and the local musicians were just great. We will certainly be back another time and are already looking much forward to it.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, some are more for families and some are for honeymooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluemoonAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a great place to get away from it all. well built, well furnished and well designed Villas right on your own scenic beachfront.
The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We had our meals promptly delivered to us no matter where we were in the resort .. at the pool, to our villa, to our own huts on the beach out the back of our villa or anywhere else you happen to be. Most times, however, we had our meals at the main dining area which overlooks the Pacific ocean.
We must give a big thank you to all the friendly and very helpful staff with particular mention to Rose who provided me with "ice cold" Coronas (haha thanks Rose) and Andre who provided the humour.
The Resort provides many free daily activities, too many to go through here.
We were also impressed with the little things they do for you that counted ... such as the way they present their fruit, fresh petals/flowers on your outdoor furniture every day and the table presentation if you decide to have a romantic dinner on your own beachfront with lanterns and fire sticks .
Overall, one of the best holidays we've had :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 6 and it was fantastic. I would say that all Villas were just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Staying In Port Vila and decided to try Eratap for Lunch.. Wow. Not that far our of town and well worth the trip. Location and views are stunning. The 4 of us had 3 courses and a few bottles of vino and were surprised with the bill. Good value for money in Vanuatu, considering the quality of the food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip19652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Eratap is little peninsula located only a hop, skip and jump away from the main city of Port Vila, Vanuatu and was the second stop of our Vanuatu holiday. We were picked up by our friendly driver (think his name was Joe) and we are on our way, a 30 min or so casual drive through some lush scenary. Joe is a great as he converses with us and points out various highlights and landmarks to us.

We turn down a dirt road and continue through the lush jungle a short distance before pulling up at Eratap Beach Resort. The resort is modern luxury and open in design. We are welcomed by young Pascalle. Dont let her age fool you as she proved to be one of the best resort managers we have come across.

After the formalities we are shown to our villa, the villas are amazing, clean, modern open floor plans and tastefully decorated. They are spacious with large open living areas with all the modern comforts including Flatscreen TV, dvd player, air conditioning, stocked bar fridge as well as in room menus. A spacious king sized bed with fan and airconditioning and soft pillows and sheets. The windows are flyscreened so you can open the windows while keeping out the annoying flies and mosquitoes.

Our villa faced the ocean and the front yard was lawned right upto the beach and palms and trees lined the beach edge. From our villa we can see and hear the waves crashing ontop of the reeftop absolutely stunning.

We settle in for the day and order some lunch in the villa which are so very luxurious, it was very easy to lose track of time in...

When we decide to venture out we are welcomed with lush manicured gardens. Each of the villas are well spaced apart along the point facing the water, on one side is the ocean side and the opposite side is a sheltered lagoon, either way the views are amazing. The pool area is surrounded with deck chairs and a bar and great for perfect for soaking up the sun.

The resort also has a beautiful day spa and water sports can be located by the jetty on the lagoon side.

Its getting late and we are getting hungry so we make our way to the restaurant for dinner. The restaurant is set on the porch of the main building only a few feet away from the waters egde the view is simply spectacular. The restaurant boast ample seating both inside and outside so you never have to make a booking either for dinner or just for a cocktail and the friendly staff get to know you quickly by name. Most evenings there is entertainment provided by the resort. One night certainly not to be missed is the local band playing a range of instruments including the bottles and bamboo pipes.

Most days the resort also provides various excursions, one is a day trip and picnic to castaway island which is a great day trip to a little island paradise. You are dropped off on the island with a picnic lunch and drink and left to your own devices. You can snorkel, sunbake, explore the island for aslong as you like all while there is grounds keeper on the island who can ring through to have the captain pick you up when ever you are ready.

Another great trip was the village tour. Joe the driver was our guide as this was his village is located next to the resort. This trip is a real eye opener as to how some of the locals still live. Joe was very warm and welcomed us into his village and even his own home. Eratap Beach resort also help to put a lot back into the local community including a sponsorship program for some of the school children which was wonderful to see.

Eratap Beach resort is a perfect example of how a luxury boutique resort should look, feel and be run. The staff are fantastic, Pascalle will bend over backwards to help with your every need as well as Tony who is also a keen surfer and fisherman and both are also Aussies, it feels like you are away visiting old friends.

We look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
17.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
545 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
661 reviews
4.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Property: Eratap Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing