We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eratap Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

After reading many of the reviews of this resort we thought it would be hard to live up to the standard indicated by former reviewers. Guess what, not only did it live up to the reviews but exceeded our expectations. From the setting, the food, the staff, the accommodation all were superb. Surfing with Tony and fellow guests,the Village tour, snorkelling and other water activities were great. All of the staff on the resort were wonderful with a ready smile and happy hellos.We could do no more than highly recommend this wonderful experience. Our stay was also highlighted by meeting and enjoying the company of four great people who we will remain in contact with. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 11 The Honeymoon villa, deserved that after 42 years married, what a treat. All V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    40
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
126
367
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It's a great Hotel, perfect for couples in love!
Great details! I've stayed in Pool Villa number 9, which has a nice situation, with amazing sunsets and the Villa itself is very big, clean and everything you need is there for you!
The only thing it's not so good it's the beach, full of reefs. (good for snorkelling...!!!) But if you like to go to the beach, the Hotel has a private little boat (included in the Hotel price) that can take you to one (or both) of the two private islands that are situated just in front of the Hotel, 5 minutes away from the Hotel!. So cool!!! Breakfast is fabulous and dinner is very good quality and perfect service. Only thing is that they don't make any table reservations so don't go too late for dinner or you'll miss the best tables in the sand! The second day I was there, i asked to book one of the best tables and the lady that was in the restaurant told it was ok, but when we arrived to have dinner, the table was occupied and another member of the staff told me that her colegue had made an error because she was not supposed to book the table. Not very nice, but....ok! They could have told me before, because if I knew that i could have arrived a bit earlier.
In conclusion, the Hotel is a very good one! Thanks for the wonderful stay! And there were no kids! Fantastic!!!!! They also provide a mini bus (every morning at 10..00am to take you to town. Go and make some shopping in the tourist market, and visit the fruit market!. The town itself it's nothing special!

Room Tip: My Pool Villa was number 9! Just...perfect! Absolute privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's all been said before, but that's because it's all true. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with a welcome fruit cocktail and a personal orientation, we felt relaxed and welcomed. By contrast to many other places where we have stayed, the strength of this place - apart from its obvious beauty - lies with the staff. Everyone is friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They even forwarded our luggage to our next resort while we journeyed to Tanna. The food and wait staff quickly learn your details and preferences. The restaurant menu is varied, with daily specials in case you get bored (unlikely). Breakfasts are fresh and plentiful, with thick, homemade bread, fresh fruit and a divine homemade toasted muesli, topped with yogurt and fruit. After your breakfast, there is plenty to do. There is a shuttle bus to Port Vila each day, along with a different daily activity. Or maybe you want to hang around the resort, where there is everything from relaxing by the pool to kayaking to investigating the billiard table. There is a day spa too, which usually has a daily special so you can indulge for a little less...

The accommodation consists of your private 2-wing villa with its own sun deck and beach hut. The extra outside shower is great and it's a novel experience to shower with the sun on your back. You can have a bath with candlelight, whilst looking through the cutouts to the beach beyond. We stayed in Villa 5, which is a two bedroom, two bathroom (3 with the outdoor shower!) configuration. The bed is much more comfortable than my own one and I slept soundly. There were just a few tiny additions I would make. There are only 2 cups and 2 glasses, so a glass in the bathroom or by the bed is a bit more difficult, and please could we have an extra saucer so there is somewhere to put used teabags? And a teatowel to dry the cups when we reuse them. There is a great selection of teas, but a biscuit or two would be welcome with our cuppa. Having said that, I know we would only have to ask.

Best of all is the splendid isolation. Because it is way off the beaten track, there is little noise, no traffic and no security problems. This is also a disincentive to spend time anywhere else, since taxis are expensive and will not always travel that far, especially at night. The absence of children was a plus for us, and this was a contrast to the resort where we spent our final night (closer to the airport due to early flight).

Pros - Splendid isolation, wonderful views, friendly staff
Cons - also the isolation.

Room Tip: No room is bad. Even the one closest to the reception does not suffer excessive noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I booked this week at the Eratap for our 30th anniversary and everything we were looking for was here. We could have spent our time relaxing around the villa or the pool or the beach, or we could have explored our immediate environment and village, plus do all the water activities provided. We decided to do a little bit of everything and enjoyed every minute. The staff are friendly and helpful, and we met other guests who we spent many enjoyable hours eating, drinking and relaxing with. We would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a real escape from the stress of every day.

Room Tip: we had a one bedroom which was great. Friends there had the honeymoon villa which was fabulous. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Eratap is the perfect place to relax, where the grind of daily decision making comes down to which lovely spot to plonk yourself next. It could be by the beautiful pool, looking out over gardens and sea or out on the small island, where the lee side looks Maldivian ( crystal clear water, fine white sand beach) and the windward side is lined with coral, which you can drift over, emerging at a perfect sand spit. Stay out there as long as you like. The surrounds of your own villa, with its own private beach shelter and sun deck, is no shabby option either, particularly at sunset.

Or you could visit the cracking, belching, scary and absolutely incredible volcano on Tanna. Or take a stroll along the dusty streets of Port Vila and poke around the beautiful food market. Wander along the road from Eratap in the late afternoon and reflect on what men walking towards you carrying machetes and axes would mean in your home context. Here they're just out collecting the makings for dinner.

By now, given the number of excellent reviews here, I think you can be confident that this place is very, very good. It does everything near perfectly ( and I only say near, because surely they must do something a little wrong - but we didn't see it). The physical assets of the place are superb , but the staff are what really sets it apart. Nothing is a problem; smiles and thoughtful suggestions abound.

The combination of the perfect place to stay with no need to leave the resort (if that's what you're after), with a fascinating culture, amazing landscape and only 3.5 hours from Sydney is unbeatable. It is expensive , but a similar standard of accommodation and facilities in Australia would be three times the price. It's worth every cent.

Like all islands, weather is not perfect all the time so don't expect to be able to be water-based every day. Not a lot of options for good exercise when the weather's bad - you can run the road (flat)...... Or eat less, which is unfortunate given the good food available.

Menu is varied, food quality good. You can eat by the pool, at your villa, in the lovely restaurant area - your choice. A Margarita in a coconut, drunk in a lounge by the pool, with softly swaying palms overhead and quiet music playing in the background is a good option.

It's hard to think of any significant improvements that could be made here. Eratap will certainly be our 'go to' destination for a totally relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We had Villa 10 which was gorgeous. The plunge pool was too cold to comfortably use, but was beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sasanqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived, I knew we would love it. It's a long, bumpy, dusty drive to Port Vila, but once you arrive, there's no need to leave, and why would you? The rooms actually surpassed my expectations from the website, spacious, airy and light, and beautifully clean. The pool was huge, and lovely, and never crowded (I don't see how it could be with so few rooms in the resort). There was enough choices on the menu that even the fussiest eater (myself) was well fed all week, and the food was lovely. Also, every night there are specials according to what's available that day.

Daily activities were a bonus, we took a trip to the Big Island with Mack and later visited Daniel's house to see the way they make coconut oil for sale. There were plenty of options like kayaking and snorkelling, and if you wished to be taken anywhere offshore in a boat, all you had to do was request the service. These activities and the restaurant were also great places to get to know the other guests in the resort, who were almost uniformly great people and good for a chat or a casual drink.

I could go on about the resort, but the thing that makes it was the staff. They seem genuinely happy to be there and look after you, not merely polite. They always greet you as you walk through the resort, and ask how your day was at the evening meal. When we left, there were hugs all round and I was genuinely sad to leave my new island family behind - as that is how they had made me feel. Hats off to Tony, Pascalle, Wendy and all the staff. We'll be saving our pennies to return!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I chose Eratap Resort for our honeymoon after reading all of the excellent feedback, and we weren't dissapointed. From the moment that Robert picked us up and drove us down the potholed dirt road, which I think makes it part of the experience, to arrive at an oasis called Eratap... We were welcomed with drinks and a smile. We stayed in Villa 9 which has its own plunge pool and the most fantastic views. The Villa was beautiful and we took advantage of the huge bath (2 people can fit) to drink our champagne and watch the ocean (we would have done this in the plunge pool but the water was way too cold). Many afternoons were spent having a drink in our private Nakamal at the end of our yard and watching the surf and the sunset. The grounds are beautiful and so well kept, as is the pool. But like everyone else, I have to agree that the staff is what makes Eratap what it is. Nothing is a bother, and you always have service with a smile that is genuine. Make sure to take the boat out to your own private island with a packed lunch made by the restaurant, and the snorkelling gear (fins & reef booties as well) that is also supplied. The restaurant food is great, and you would have to be really fussy if you couldnt find something to eat from their menu. Breakfast is fantastic and is included in the price and you must try the homemade pancakes and crumpets, and the fresh fruit platter was a winner. The price of the food and drinks is really reasonable and we ate at the restaurant every night and there is a specials board as well every lunch & dinner to tempt your taste buds. The cocktails made by Rose are amazing. You have to try the E Tuf Turmas...Yummo! We had a couples massage that was part of our package and it was dreamy with the beautiful surrounds and the lapping of the waves. If you get the chance, go to the village with Mack and meet the children at the local school and see the way of the locals way of life. (All free of charge). We will reccomend Eratap to anyone wanting to have a relaxing time to chillax, (or as busy as you want, as there is so much to see and do that the staff can organise for you), in the most idyllyic surround. Tony the owner and Pascalle the Manager are doing it RIGHT! Thanks again so much and we hope to be back sooner than later.

Room Tip: We atayed in Villa 9, but honestly any of the Villas are good. The plunge pool was a bonus, but it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louloumw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#2 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
4.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
4.8 mi away
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Sunset Bungalows Resort
#4 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Property: Eratap Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing