We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fabulous week away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I booked this week at the Eratap for our 30th anniversary and everything we were looking for was here. We could have spent our time relaxing around the villa or the pool or the beach, or we could have explored our immediate environment and village, plus do all the water activities provided. We decided to do a little bit of everything and enjoyed every minute. The staff are friendly and helpful, and we met other guests who we spent many enjoyable hours eating, drinking and relaxing with. We would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a real escape from the stress of every day.

Room Tip: we had a one bedroom which was great. Friends there had the honeymoon villa which was fabulous. All...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Eratap Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 613 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Eratap is the perfect place to relax, where the grind of daily decision making comes down to which lovely spot to plonk yourself next. It could be by the beautiful pool, looking out over gardens and sea or out on the small island, where the lee side looks Maldivian ( crystal clear water, fine white sand beach) and the windward side is lined with coral, which you can drift over, emerging at a perfect sand spit. Stay out there as long as you like. The surrounds of your own villa, with its own private beach shelter and sun deck, is no shabby option either, particularly at sunset.

Or you could visit the cracking, belching, scary and absolutely incredible volcano on Tanna. Or take a stroll along the dusty streets of Port Vila and poke around the beautiful food market. Wander along the road from Eratap in the late afternoon and reflect on what men walking towards you carrying machetes and axes would mean in your home context. Here they're just out collecting the makings for dinner.

By now, given the number of excellent reviews here, I think you can be confident that this place is very, very good. It does everything near perfectly ( and I only say near, because surely they must do something a little wrong - but we didn't see it). The physical assets of the place are superb , but the staff are what really sets it apart. Nothing is a problem; smiles and thoughtful suggestions abound.

The combination of the perfect place to stay with no need to leave the resort (if that's what you're after), with a fascinating culture, amazing landscape and only 3.5 hours from Sydney is unbeatable. It is expensive , but a similar standard of accommodation and facilities in Australia would be three times the price. It's worth every cent.

Like all islands, weather is not perfect all the time so don't expect to be able to be water-based every day. Not a lot of options for good exercise when the weather's bad - you can run the road (flat)...... Or eat less, which is unfortunate given the good food available.

Menu is varied, food quality good. You can eat by the pool, at your villa, in the lovely restaurant area - your choice. A Margarita in a coconut, drunk in a lounge by the pool, with softly swaying palms overhead and quiet music playing in the background is a good option.

It's hard to think of any significant improvements that could be made here. Eratap will certainly be our 'go to' destination for a totally relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We had Villa 10 which was gorgeous. The plunge pool was too cold to comfortably use, but was beautif...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sasanqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived, I knew we would love it. It's a long, bumpy, dusty drive to Port Vila, but once you arrive, there's no need to leave, and why would you? The rooms actually surpassed my expectations from the website, spacious, airy and light, and beautifully clean. The pool was huge, and lovely, and never crowded (I don't see how it could be with so few rooms in the resort). There was enough choices on the menu that even the fussiest eater (myself) was well fed all week, and the food was lovely. Also, every night there are specials according to what's available that day.

Daily activities were a bonus, we took a trip to the Big Island with Mack and later visited Daniel's house to see the way they make coconut oil for sale. There were plenty of options like kayaking and snorkelling, and if you wished to be taken anywhere offshore in a boat, all you had to do was request the service. These activities and the restaurant were also great places to get to know the other guests in the resort, who were almost uniformly great people and good for a chat or a casual drink.

I could go on about the resort, but the thing that makes it was the staff. They seem genuinely happy to be there and look after you, not merely polite. They always greet you as you walk through the resort, and ask how your day was at the evening meal. When we left, there were hugs all round and I was genuinely sad to leave my new island family behind - as that is how they had made me feel. Hats off to Tony, Pascalle, Wendy and all the staff. We'll be saving our pennies to return!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in this resort.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirlSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I chose Eratap Resort for our honeymoon after reading all of the excellent feedback, and we weren't dissapointed. From the moment that Robert picked us up and drove us down the potholed dirt road, which I think makes it part of the experience, to arrive at an oasis called Eratap... We were welcomed with drinks and a smile. We stayed in Villa 9 which has its own plunge pool and the most fantastic views. The Villa was beautiful and we took advantage of the huge bath (2 people can fit) to drink our champagne and watch the ocean (we would have done this in the plunge pool but the water was way too cold). Many afternoons were spent having a drink in our private Nakamal at the end of our yard and watching the surf and the sunset. The grounds are beautiful and so well kept, as is the pool. But like everyone else, I have to agree that the staff is what makes Eratap what it is. Nothing is a bother, and you always have service with a smile that is genuine. Make sure to take the boat out to your own private island with a packed lunch made by the restaurant, and the snorkelling gear (fins & reef booties as well) that is also supplied. The restaurant food is great, and you would have to be really fussy if you couldnt find something to eat from their menu. Breakfast is fantastic and is included in the price and you must try the homemade pancakes and crumpets, and the fresh fruit platter was a winner. The price of the food and drinks is really reasonable and we ate at the restaurant every night and there is a specials board as well every lunch & dinner to tempt your taste buds. The cocktails made by Rose are amazing. You have to try the E Tuf Turmas...Yummo! We had a couples massage that was part of our package and it was dreamy with the beautiful surrounds and the lapping of the waves. If you get the chance, go to the village with Mack and meet the children at the local school and see the way of the locals way of life. (All free of charge). We will reccomend Eratap to anyone wanting to have a relaxing time to chillax, (or as busy as you want, as there is so much to see and do that the staff can organise for you), in the most idyllyic surround. Tony the owner and Pascalle the Manager are doing it RIGHT! Thanks again so much and we hope to be back sooner than later.

Room Tip: We atayed in Villa 9, but honestly any of the Villas are good. The plunge pool was a bonus, but it w...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouLouLucy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the resort for a week. Previous reviews are spot on, the staff are first class as well as the resort. We felt relaxed within hours of our arrival and could not fault the accommodation and service we received. We will return next year as no other resort will be able to match the service, location, facilities or value for money. We had all our meals at the resort and they were excellent. Both meals and drinks were good value and no stage felt that we were being ripped off. To Tony and staff, again thank you for a great holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 2 which is on the beach and would stay in this villa again.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kel2153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Working in the travel industry I had never seen a below excellent review on Eratap, combined with the reviews here it was not hard to make the decision on where I wanted to spend my 30th birthday. And I will be spending as many more there as possible, everything about the stay was perfect.
Yes the road from the airport and town is terrible at best and the last 15 mins is down an unsealed track, but in a way it adds to the romance of Eratap. It provides that sense of isolation and wonderment at what is to come. As you pull up at the front you know you are off to a good start. The personal welcomes and overview of the resort followed by being personally taken to your villa and shown around proves that personal service is one aspect of this resort that is definitely not lacking.
The villas are a great size with everything that you need, including being only footsteps to the crystal clear waters. The beds were extremely comfortable with the outdoor shower I felt being the best shower around. The rest of the resorts facilities are 2nd to none, the pool was superb day and night and the use of kayaks and paddle boards was great fun. The food, I dont know where to start. Fresh, delicious, great portion sizes and not in anyway over priced. There was a true balance between using the fresh and delicious flavours of the produce without adding too much to over power it. The greatest steak I have ever had came out of the kitchen.
One day we chose to take a boat ride out to one of their private islands with a picnic and bbq packed by them. With beautiful weather, crystal clear waters, snorkeling gear and someone to help light the fire for the bbq or anything else you may need. It was one of the many highlights of our stay.
While everything was truly exceptional as I have mentioned, what really stood out as the real gem is the service from all that work there. You really do feel part of the family and nothing is ever too hard. From the start with Pascalle, who was absolutely delightful to deal with from the very start through to the day we sadly left. Unfortunately I cant remember all the staff members names as I would love to be able to thank them all personally. I do have to give a special mention to Andre and Yvonne, making our time there so special, especially the way they provided the special dinner on my birthday which included them singing happy birthday as they came down the beach with a cake.
Thank you to Pascalle, Tony and all the staff at Eratap for making our holiday the holiday of our lives. We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was the second time that my husband and I have stayed at Eratap...and it felt as though we were returning 'home'. We were welcomed as if we were family, and felt as though we were a familiar part of the furniture right throughout our stay. It was lovely to see familiar faces - the gentle Andre & Walter (best cocktail makers ever!), 'mother' Rose, gorgeous Yvonne, Jenny, Georgina, Sharon, beautiful Milani, Pauline, Inith (great Masseuse!), Wendy & Nicole. It was good to catch up with Tony & Pascalle again - the resort is run with such a sense of well being.
As our holiday was dive focused, we mainly spent most of our time relaxing at the resort in the afternoons. Due to early pick ups most days, beautiful continental breakfasts were delivered to the room each night. Transport was arranged by reception, and the drivers (mostly Cyril!) came from Eratap Village. And it was easy enough to arrange with either to be picked up at a designated time from town...taking the guess work out of catching taxis...which is not hard at all, but it was just nice to have someone familiar to take us 'home', and chat to on the way.
The restaurant meals were absolutely fantastic...mouth watering flavours with each. Generous servings and we never walked away wanting more, quite the opposite! The 'Mum's Chocolate Mousse' certainly made a few appearances on our bill!
We have stayed in both Villa's 10 & 11. Villa 11 is the one bedroom honeymoon Villa with plunge pool and easy access to the beach. Villa 10 is two-bedroomed and has a bit of a rocky access to the beach, but is easy enough to traverse. Both are as private as the other. Villa 10 would be my preference - due to said space and what seemed like a more expansive grassed frontage...it just felt luxurious!
In short, Eratap and her staff provide such a welcome relief from day to day stresses. You cannot help but come away refreshed from a place and people as beautiful as this.

Room Tip: Villa 10 for space and privacy
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virgil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
17.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
560 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
561 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $430 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing