We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Mena Creek, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couples retreat”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon in August 2012. We really couldn't fault the place. The managers and staff were so friendly and the location was stunning. We stayed in one of the 2 honeymoon villas which was extra special with our own plunge pool and beach access. The food was the best we had in our whole 2 weeks in Vanuatu. We'll have to come back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    50
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
145
408
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Everything that has ever been written about this resort is spot on. Yes, it's pricey and it's not a 5 star resort but it's all worth it. We stayed in Villa 11 and loved the fact that to the right of us, we had the lagoon and to the left, we had the ocean. We took advantage of all their gear - kayaks, snorkelling, paddle boards, etc. All is included in the price you pay and seeing as Villa 11 is so secluded with it's own beach front, we felt like we were on our own isolated island. I loved everything about it and the memories will live on forever. The staff are fantastic, the food amazing and the weather treated us so well. Not one single bad day sometimes cloudy but only for a few hours. Try the picnic on the island, make sure you go to the waterfall, try all the dishes, they are all very good and the chocolate mousse is to die for! Believe me, this is heaven on earth, you will not be disappointed! We stayed in Villas 9 and 11 and couldn't have been happier. For our first island experience, we couldn't have asked for more. Thanks to all the staff, you are brilliant and you made it all worthwhile. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Villa 11..........the best!! Secluded beach, makes you feel like you are on your own island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul38-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We just came back yesterday from a week in this beautiful resort. Everything there is perfect. the ground is gorgeous with coconut trees, flowers everywhere. The villas are very well kept and are very spacious. Nice bathrooms. The snorkelling in front of the villas and restaurant is fantastic. The best we have done in a long time. Lots of nice corals and fish. You can ask for one of the staffs to take you to one of the surrending islands and have a picnic on a deserted beach. Great experience. The restaurant is nice and food great. Cocktails are great too... Try the Frozen Coconut Margarita! But what we loved the most about our stay was the staffs. They were so friendly, and happy. Nothing was too much trouble. Always a smile on their faces and a nice word to say to us. Thank you so much Roberto, Rose, Georgina, Yvonne, Tony, Andre and everyone else at Eratap for such a wonderful stay. We will definately recommend you to everyone we know heading to Vanuatu and we will be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cpaineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Me and hubby visited this fantastic place in January 2013 for 7 glorious nights. The hotel resort is all it says and more. I have read the recent reviews and everyone is spot on. The 7km dirt track is a very bumpy experience but to be honest you only really need to go on it twice - once in and once out! We visited Port Vila to go get some bottles of wine for our afternoon drink watching the sun set in our private beach bure -(every villa has them). Port Vila in my opinion is not really worth another trip, 15 mins all done! Back to the resort, from the moment you arrive you are one of the family. Pascalle is an excellent manager and all the staff are just great and friendly. Rose makes a mean margarita and little Yvonne is just great. The food is excellent and a big variety of choice, they also have specials on lunchtime and dinner, so just when you have figured out the menu along comes something else to change your mind again! The prices are Aus prices, you are looking at no more than $20 for lunch and $25-$35 for dinner plus desert etc. The villas are excellent and spacious, outdoor shower as well as indoor. Seating area inside and out, loungers and your own private bure on the beach. All TV channels are same as Australia incl UKTV and Lifestyle - i know i know so much to do and watching TV but good for when back in the villa at night when a full belly! The spa is the best! $50 AUD for 1 hour massage. They have activities on during the day and night like the village walk, island walk, etc. The village was great and an experience not to be forgotten. Twice a week the resort has entertainment, fire dancers - fantastic, and a cultural show. All free and happens during dinner. Our flight was delayed and Pascalle kept us informed the whole time and did not send us to the airport until the 2 hours before the new scheduled departure time. We were able to stay at the resort and enjoy everything as though we had paid for the day. You must do the snorkelling - their little boats are free and take you whereever you want in then nearby vicinity - either to castaway beach - or we went to a 30m drop off to snorkel. It was like swimming in an aquarium. They have equipment for you to use for the whole stay and free of charge. I cannot praise this little resort highly enough. We were villa 7 and had privacy just like every other villa. I have posted a few photos too. couple of negatives: The towels were very thin and old. Surely with 12 villas and the price of the accommodation you would get better quality towels. The dining area was spectatular, but there was no where inside to eat, and if you jump at everything like I do, we had eat whilst still relatively light to avoid the bugs. Also any bottled water after the initial bottle had to be paid for - that said, there is a water cooler dispenser free of charge to fill up your existing bottle but sometimes this tasted smoky... However, after 7 days constant eating and drinking we were never ill at any time so it must be OK!!

Pros: Everything except the 3 cons below
Cons: Towels are like rags, you would think that these would be better quality.
No indoor dining to escape the bombardment of flying insects at night, you had to pay for bottled water.

Would we visit again or recommend ? You bet we would.

Room Tip: Room 7 is just at the end of the beach - great for viewing the sunset. However, all rooms are excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPVan, Owner at Eratap Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Diane B,
Thank you for your very kind review and we are all so glad you enjoyed your time at Eratap.
I just wanted to quickly respond regarding the towel situation at the Resort as It has come up a few times in recent reviews.
We replaced our entire stock of towels in July 2012 using the same supplier we had always used. For some reason the new towels we received seemed to wear much faster than previous orders, we are not completely sure why and nor is the supplier but it could be the new washing machines that we had installed in our new laundry. Anyway we then placed another order in October 2012 and received the container of new towels in early January 2013 (it was, not surprisingly, delayed!). Hence we have now replaced the entire stock of towels again and are hoping this order works out better, we have also changed our supplier of washing powder and fabric softener in a bid to provide a better quality result. Please also bear in mind that water in Vanuatu has an extremely high calcium content which makes producing consistently fluffy towels almost an impossibility despite all the fabric softeners and other water softening techniques we use. None the less we agree that "hard" towels is not a plus and we are doing our best to change that.
We look forward to seeing you again back at Eratap one day and thank you for taking the time to post this review
All the best
Tony Pittar
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The brief given to my travel agent: A very Special anniversary requiring a very special holiday to commemorate, and we needed a private place to chill out and be together after a tough year. Must be max 6 hours flying from Sydney and max 1 hour from destination airport and we didn’t want to go to yet another “McHotel” or “McResort”.
A number of recommendations were made, Vanuatu was chosen as we had not been before – and Eratap Beach resort recommended as the best venue in Vanuatu. (3 and a bit hours flying time + genuine 30 minutes from airport).

We stayed 25-30 January 2013 – we have nothing but praise over this holiday. We cannot recommend this resort enough and we will return (though in future using it as a base to explore Vanuatu) .

It is small (12 villas) which are fairly private, well maintained and presented, the grounds are immaculate, the food excellent (superb), the staff are very friendly and take a genuine pride in their work. You can be free to do as little as you wish, or you can do some excellent Kayaking or Snorkelling. We also went on Sunday to the local village and Church on Wednesday did a tour of the local village with the son of the chief – both excellent cultural and spiritual experiences.

In closing I will make 4 comments to assist any perspective traveller to the resort:
1 – On arrival you may be picked up in a 4WD ute and you will travel the last 7 kms on a dirt road. Don’t let this first impression put you off!
2-Do the village and church tour. We also went to Port Villa. Frankly, Port Villa is nothing to write about – but hey you can say you have been there.
3-Food is expensive in Vanuatu (think Sydney prices and then at time plus some) – but the food (and drink) at Eratap is well worth it. Focus on the beef (local beef is brilliant) and the pullet steamed fish (local) and for desert the Coconut and banana. We ate exclusively at the resort and did not tire of their food.
4-The snorkelling is fantastic – the coral is literally at the shoreline and a Kayak (either in the lagoon or open ocean) is great. Their Kayaks are good, I bought my own snorkelling gear-but they do have their own which is fair. If you intend swimming in the ocean (which is great) bring good quality sea shoes. They do have some fair quality shoes – but you really need a good quality pair as the coral grit will bite your feet. There again, you could just veg in the pool which is more than fine!
In short, yes this will cost, but it is excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 10 which is next to its own "private" beach. Apparently this is to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SPayne155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I think this sums up the trip: I was actually in tears when I left. So was Jenny and Robert.
I have been sitting on this review for a year and had no words to describe our trip. It was a sick-leave recovery trip, you know a trip primed to help me get over long term sickness. It did all that and more. It is a bit far from other resorts and pain to get to, but that is part of the charm. The charm starts when Robert picks you up at the airport with his big gleaming smile and WELKAM!
What I liked/loved about this place:

1. Only a dozen villas which meant you get the utmost privacy
2. All the staff know who you are and there is genuine interest and care in your wellbeing. On one of the roadtrips to town, I told Robert I was going to hunt for mangoes. When he picked us up at 200pm, he gave me a bag!
3. Having the option of AC, fresh sea breeze and fan (yes yes i am bourgeois)
4. Food on offer is varied. As such, no point going anywhere
5. The staff are on the ball, smart and genuinely caring. Gawd I miss them.
6. Beautifully decorated villas, and more than enough spots to swim and snorkel (though it is really hard to get on the floating jetty, if you are clumsy like me)
7. Safe!
8. So much to do!

What I dont like: at $500, it makes it hard for me to return every year.

Tips for future visitors:
1. Bring reef shoes
2. There is a local school in Eratap which runs out of supplies. If you have space in your luggage, bring pencils, exercise books, childrens books, soft toys, balls of all shapes and sizes
3. There is a tip jar in Eratap: there isnt a tipping culture as such but this goes into the staff fund. Failing that, they do a wonderful job, so bring them some chocolates, OZ tshirts

When can i go back? When my financial situation permits.

Room Tip: Choose a vila away from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yappas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard Shores, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent Christmas holiday here and cannot speak any words without a smile and dreamy look about us! The staff- amazing- made you feel like family,so welcoming and willing to do anything- always with a beautiful smile. The most relaxing vacation- even with 2 teenage boys who were never bored!! We took advantage of all they offered- kayaking, snorkeling,surfing,private island lunches,the spa,pool- just heaven!! My husband and I could relax at our nacamal off our villa and watch the boys surf in the afternoon. Thank you again for making our Christmas sooo special!! We will return!!

Room Tip: They are all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakeandbensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
17.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
552 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
665 reviews
4.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Property: Eratap Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing