We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and accommodations.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Pearl Suites
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location (close to town). Comfortable accommodations! Food is superb! Try the steaks! Awesome breakfast! love the french roast!! Service very attentive. Free Wifi is available. You won't find better accommodations on the island or anywhere in Tonga!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brucereich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you're stuck for where to stay in Nuku'alofa consider the Black Pearl. There's a lot going for it. Usually I stay at the Little Italy hotel along the road, but after my first stay at the Black Pearl I'll be going back. The Hotel is an older style mansion and has a lot of charm. The rooms are large (even the smaller rooms) and very very quiet at night (no roosters, church bells or people/cars to wake you!). It's very clean and although not 'newish' it is well maintained and very homely. The service is outstanding and the food is the best I've tasted in 'The Kingdom'. The beds are extremely comfortable with a range of hard/soft (and goldilocks - just right) pillows. The view is scenic and there is nothing that can compare with an early drink/meal on the open deck restaurant. This place really does have its own charm - and I could even watch the all blacks in my room on the tv. I can totally recommend the Black Pearl for either a short overnight or a longer two-week stay (as I did). I'll be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from Nuku'alofa get the afternoon/evening sun. Lovely for most of the year but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwiTraveller233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We didn't stay here but visited the restaurant. The steak menu was wide, and they were cooked to perfection with a perfect pepper sauce. I had the scotch fillet medium - about 2 inches thick and very lean and juicy.
As good as I've had anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank bluecramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Good accommodation, stayed in Executive Suite for two nights. Staff are friendly, hotel is clean and tidy, comfortable large bed, air con was a relief as we stayed during a very humid Summer. Aside from money going missing, our stay was fairly relaxed although we arrived on a Saturday night and everything was closed on Sunday. For the price you pay per night, it isn't exactly justified (bath didn't have a working plug so water kept running) but overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melenaite85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Although we did not actually stay at this establishment, we were recommended to this Hotel as a place for good food and good service. The setting was delightful, a table on an enclosed verandah overlooking the sea. The staff were excellent - being attentive and happy to explain the menu and food that was available. It was our first visit to Tonga, and was organised as a surprise to my partner. We were delighted with the experience, and hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichaelMas0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My partner was in Tonga on business and we turned the trip into a short holiday. We stayed here for a week and were sad to see that, although the hotel is relatively new (apparently only about four years old) it is looking very tired. In our room six of the lights and the fridge did not work, The shower had lost its "sprinkler" function and was just a spout of water. Towels were very basic. For the kind of money charged the breakfast was very minimal (toast and jam, very basic cereals, some slices of fruit and instant coffee)

We ate in the restaurant on one evening and frankly the meal was also very poor. This is a real shame because the building is potentially great. It is not entirely true (as claimed by the hotel) that it is "on the beach" because there is a road between the hotel and the sand. We were not aware of anyone using the beach - it did not look particularly inviting. The staff were nice enough but it is definitely charging way above the value of the accommodation and service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel was clean and met our needs and staff were friendly. The view from the balcony was nice accompanied by a refreshing breeze. There is shuttle service available for a fee and well worth the price. Danny was our guide for the day and he helped get us to and from the airport. We were made to feel welcomed and we appreciated the friendly way we were treated. I highly recommend this hotel while you are in Nuku'alofa.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
0 mi away
Loumaile Lodge
Loumaile Lodge
#10 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
94 reviews
0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
186 reviews
0 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
165 reviews
0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#8 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Pearl Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Pearl Suites

Address: Vuna Road | Sopu, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Price Range: $90 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Pearl Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Black Pearl Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Pearl Hotel Nuku`Alofa
The Black Pearl Suites Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing