We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful lodge I've stayed in”
Review of Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Certificate of Excellence
Port Vila
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most wonderful lodge I've stayed in”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I travel a lot for work throughout the region - and the waterfront lodge is hands down the most wonderful place I've stayed in. Actually, it is one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed in.
The rooms are impeccably clean (and I am picky), spacious and very cozy - a significant plus if you're on the road a lot. The bed is extremely comfortable, the shower is great and the desk space optimal to allow for work.
I prefer the garden view as it is quieter - but recommend the sea side room if you want a view.
You are just opposite the fish market, right by the ferry terminal and the walk into town is easy and allows you take in the view on your way there.

The most remarkable about the hotel is the staff - they are all absolute gems. Incredibly friendly, helpful, kind, smiling and ready to assist.

I honestly cannot rate this lodge highly enough.

Room Tip: I prefer the garden view as it is quieter - but recommend the sea side room if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    77
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
76
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

we got put up at the waterfront lodge for 1 night after we were unable to make it to fafa island due to bad weather.
the staff were very friendly and welcoming and we could not fault them. The rooms were clean and tidy and in good condition. we stayed in room 2 and it had a nice covered balcony outside with chairs and a table and would have been nice to sit there and have a meal, if we had stayed longer.
Bath room is really nice.
Also had dinner in the restaurant on the bottom floor, it was a lovely meal, quite basic, although they did not have a lot to offer in the way of vegetarian dishes for a friend but that was ok.
quick visit but I would not hesitate staying here.
Thanks for your hospitality :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aishal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We over nighted twice at the waterfront Hotel and found it of a high standard.
Right on the waterfront and about 20 mins walk from town. They arranged transfers to the airports as well. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The ones along the waterfront side have a balcony as well. The restaurant has great food-the servings are enormous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff and owners at the Waterfront Lodge have created a welcoming and peaceful atmosphere. The staff that we met were extremely friendly and helpful, even staying up during the night for our late flight to arrive. The food at the restaurant below the rooms was also excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABCDandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

One of Nuku'alofa's best hotels, and very good by Tongan standards. A small guest with eight rooms and attached restaurant. Rooms are large, well furnished and there is plenty of hot water. Ask for a room facing the beach to make the best use of the balcony. Two downsides -
1. no irons and ironing boards in the rooms, and the staff don't start until quite late in the morning if you are chasing one prior to a business meeting, and
2. the ubiquitous and almost inedible "non dairy creamer" powder in the tea/coffee supplies

I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauty Point
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having spent a couple of weeks working hard in NZ we had booked 6 nights in Tonga for a rest. What a brilliant idea that was. If you're looking for a place to relax, take in the beautiful scenery and just kick back, this is the place. If you want resorts, watersports and activities for kids, they can be found, but mostly it's the wonderful, friendly local people, and the laidback lifestyle that wins out for us. Waterfront Lodge is the best pick we could have found. It fulfilled all our needs. Not right in the town, it is on the main road into town, but opposite the wharf area where the markets set up and the stalls open each morning. Taxis wait there each day and the fishing boats come in daily with their fresh catch. Ferries leave from there too. The hotels in Tonga are locally owned and you won't see one of the top star-rated common sights in capital cities the world over. A great approach in our book! Tonga being a Kingdom still, runs it's own business as far as possible and does a great job. Waterfront Lodge was everything we needed. Immaculate rooms, cleaned each day by a team of friendly careful local people. The food was good, and all the staff were well trained and professional at all times. Lino (our waiter) was a delight and whatever we needed was supplied. Something you don't get in top hotels elsewhere. The rooms look out onto the water and you can watch the world go slowly by on the balcony. Great trip and the best accommodation - even the taxi drivers were great! This is not a luxury resort holiday, it's "rustic", beautiful and full of peace. Even if you don't go to church, hang around outside on a Sunday or go in just to listen to the amazing singing - it's out of this world!

Room Tip: Best rooms overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our group was chartering a sailboat in Vava'u, Tonga, and the charter company suggested we stay at Waterfront. We are SO very glad they did. It is a cozy, very well appointed, friendly, clean and charming place. The staff was aboslutely wonderful, easily accommodating our late/early flights, and very helpful. The food at the restaurant was exceptional, including the very nice complimentary continental breakfast. In short: great folks, great place, right on the waterfront.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.7 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
1.4 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Black Pearl Suites
The Black Pearl Suites
#6 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
45 reviews
7.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
168 reviews
11.1 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge

Property: Waterfront Lodge
Address: Ma'ufanga, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1001, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Cafe and Lodge, the best private Tonga hotel, is located opposite Queen Salote Wharf, with the Nuku’alofa waterfront unfolding right before you. Just a 20 minute stroll to downtown Nuku'alofa and you will soon find yourself immersed in the sights, shops and markets of the Kingdom of Tonga capital city. The colonial-style lodge is packed with character and boasts a beautiful sea view, excellent services, high quality accommodation and arguably the most popular restaurant in the capital. The charming property is under Italian management and believes in paying special attention to each and every guest. The Waterfront Cafe and Lodge’s atmosphere is welcoming and homely, our staff is warm and friendly and every guest is treated with special attention which makes their holiday in Tonga even more memorable and their vacation so comfortable to make them feel at home. The Waterfront Lodge is internationally renowned not only to be the perfect hotel for your stay in Tongatapu but also to be a place of art where artists from Polynesia and the South Pacific often meet to expose their masterpieces. From our reception we can also organize tours of Tongatapu and packages to some of the top island hotels and attractions to ensure your Tonga holiday will be remembered as one of the best of your lifetime. If you are looking for your personal getaway to the friendly islands of the Kingdom of Tonga, welcome to the Waterfront Cafe' and Lodge, the best private owned accommodation you can find on our shore.World Class Tourism gives us 4 stars We have the pleasure to announce that the World Class Tourism for Tonga has recently judged the Waterfront Lodge & Cafe' as a 4 Stars hotel. This is indeed a great news for us and for all our new and returning guests. The unique accommodation, the casual atmosphere, the popularity of our restaurant and the smiles of our staff make the Waterfront Lodge & Cafe' the perfect stop over if you are visiting the capital or if your holiday takes you to one of the marvellous islands of the Kingdom of Tonga. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Nuku Alofa
Waterfront Lodge Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing