We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms”
Review of Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at Waterfront when working in Nuku'Alofa.

Pros
- Good size rooms with good balcony areas
- Great location for catching ferry's (straight across the road)
- Great location if you want to be near the only pub with beer on tap (Billfish)

Cons
- Walls are a little thin
- Location is 20 mins walk from Nuku'Alofa
- I actually wasn't impressed with the restaurant food

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room, doesn't cost much more and has the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eats_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 163 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Traveling continuously in countries that are not 100% developed you always expect to find something going wrong. At the Waterfront ALL IS PERFECT: staff, location, ambiance, food (amazing !!!), location and service.
Special mention to the two generations of owners, to the professionalism of Mr. Lino, the waiter and the nice night security guard.
Food- worth to repeat it - is amazing. Lobster spaghetti are top rating !
It is 2 minutes walking from the small port where are the boats to the islands are going

Room Tip: Both sides are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eur0peangl0betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at the Waterfront Lodge in mid January. The place is 10-15 min walk from the mainstreet of Nuku'alofa but it might just be worth it. It is also a bit pricey but then again, you get a really nice and clean room with a properly functioning shower, a nice bed and air con, things you would expect in every hotel, but not on Tonga. So if you want a comfortable stay in Nuku'alofa, the Waterfront Lodge is a really good option.

The restaurant has some good italian food, the included breakfast is really good and you are a 50 meter walk from the boats out to Pangaimotu Island. The hotel also helps with airport transfer which is convenient.

Finally, the staff makes a really good job, they are kind and friendly and helped us with every request we had.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DanLah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Waterfront Lodge for 2 nights, one before a trip to Fafa island, and one night when we returned from Fafa. Firstly, the Waterfront lodge is excellently located if you plan to take a boat or ferry to Fafa island or other islands. It is directly across the road from the wharf! The rooms are all upstairs with waterfront views and garden view rooms looking at the back of the property. I have seen other reviewers comment on "room" noise. The lodge is a colonial styled timber building, so naturally there will be noise for floorboards and timber in the building.
While the water view rooms are recommended, if you are a very light sleeper then the garden rooms will be a quieter option for you. That said, the road noise encountered at night drops to nothing later in the night when it seems the whole of Tonga goes to bed! Early risers should take the trouble to venture across the road at 6:30am and watch the locals buying their fresh fish off the boats. Room wise, they are well equipped and comfortable. Clean, with hot showers and well looked after. A continental breakfast is included, which we found more than adequate. We had the lodge pick us up from the airport and that all went off without a hitch. Staff are very friendly and nothing we asked for was a problem. We loved the relaxed attitude of the Tongans, it makes you start relaxing from the get go. Only minor negative would be that free wireless Internet is not available, you have options to buy different "packages" As the accommodation price isn't "cheap" I feel that free wireless should be normal, not charged. The positives do outweigh that negatives, though. Would definitely recommend the Waterfront if you plan to stay in Nuku'alofa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caveman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Compared to a swanky hotel in a big city, you wouldn't rate this hotel "Excellent" but this is Tonga we are talking about. I have visited other South Pacific islands before (Fiji twice, and Samoa) and the level of cleanliness, security and comfort at Waterfront Lodge is, indeed, excellent. Not a single bug!
We had a seaview room, and it was very pleasant to sit on the balcony and look out over the water.
Unfortunately it rained when were there, so we didn't go out to one of the nearby island resorts, but doing so would have been easy, since the boats leave from across the street.
Nuku'alofa (and from what we saw of the rest of Tongatapu) can easily be given a miss when you are visiting the Kingdom of Tonga, but if you had to stay there for a couple of nights, Waterfront Lodge is a very good option.
Dinner and breakfast at the restaurant downstairs were also good. We organised airport transfers through the hotel and everything went without a hitch.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for one week at the Waterfront Lodge. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we had a car for the week and one evening we had to find our way to a private residence - there weren't any street signs where we needed to go, one of the staff actually drove with us to the residence in the afternoon - now that was extremely helpful. We had a number of meals at the Waterfront, all were lovely. We would recommend the Waterfront to any one visiting Nuku'alofa.

Room Tip: Better view of the Marina from rooms 1 & 3, the other 2 seaview rooms have a big palm in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed in the Waterfront Lodge for 3 months in later 2012 and I would be more that happy to go back there. The staff were all friendly and went out of their way to help.
I have stayed in both the seaview and the 'garden' rooms. I much preferred the seaview ones as I enjoyed sitting on my balcony watching the activity of the small boat harbour, yachts refuekking, the fishers selling their catches and the kids swimming.
I often ate on the balcony as well, ordering from the menu. The Waterfront is one of the best restaurants in Nuku'alofa. There are a few other restaurants within walking distance.
I didn't find the front room noisy at night as the traffic dies off early. It starts early, too, but then I am awake anyway.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.7 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
1.4 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
184 reviews
7.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
248 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Black Pearl Suites
The Black Pearl Suites
#6 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Loumaile Lodge
Loumaile Lodge
#11 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge

Address: Ma'ufanga, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1001, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Price Range: $115 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Cafe and Lodge, the best private Tonga hotel, is located opposite Queen Salote Wharf, with the Nuku’alofa waterfront unfolding right before you. Just a 20 minute stroll to downtown Nuku'alofa and you will soon find yourself immersed in the sights, shops and markets of the Kingdom of Tonga capital city. The colonial-style lodge is packed with character and boasts a beautiful sea view, excellent services, high quality accommodation and arguably the most popular restaurant in the capital. The charming property is under Italian management and believes in paying special attention to each and every guest. The Waterfront Cafe and Lodge’s atmosphere is welcoming and homely, our staff is warm and friendly and every guest is treated with special attention which makes their holiday in Tonga even more memorable and their vacation so comfortable to make them feel at home. The Waterfront Lodge is internationally renowned not only to be the perfect hotel for your stay in Tongatapu but also to be a place of art where artists from Polynesia and the South Pacific often meet to expose their masterpieces. From our reception we can also organize tours of Tongatapu and packages to some of the top island hotels and attractions to ensure your Tonga holiday will be remembered as one of the best of your lifetime. If you are looking for your personal getaway to the friendly islands of the Kingdom of Tonga, welcome to the Waterfront Cafe' and Lodge, the best private owned accommodation you can find on our shore.World Class Tourism gives us 4 stars We have the pleasure to announce that the World Class Tourism for Tonga has recently judged the Waterfront Lodge & Cafe' as a 4 Stars hotel. This is indeed a great news for us and for all our new and returning guests. The unique accommodation, the casual atmosphere, the popularity of our restaurant and the smiles of our staff make the Waterfront Lodge & Cafe' the perfect stop over if you are visiting the capital or if your holiday takes you to one of the marvellous islands of the Kingdom of Tonga. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Nuku Alofa
Waterfront Lodge Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing