We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long stay”
Review of Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long stay”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed in the Waterfront Lodge for 3 months in later 2012 and I would be more that happy to go back there. The staff were all friendly and went out of their way to help.
I have stayed in both the seaview and the 'garden' rooms. I much preferred the seaview ones as I enjoyed sitting on my balcony watching the activity of the small boat harbour, yachts refuekking, the fishers selling their catches and the kids swimming.
I often ate on the balcony as well, ordering from the menu. The Waterfront is one of the best restaurants in Nuku'alofa. There are a few other restaurants within walking distance.
I didn't find the front room noisy at night as the traffic dies off early. It starts early, too, but then I am awake anyway.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    77
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
76
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Waterfront Lodge in Nuku'alofa is in an excellent location just a 20 minute walk along the seafront from the town centre. We stayed in a sea view room for 4 nights before switching to a garden room for our last night as the sea view room was booked. Although previous reviews have commented on the noise we found it no problem and much preferred this option with a great window onto Tongan life right in front of you. In contrast the Garden room vista was disappointing. A view of 4 large cement water tanks and hard standing for 2 vehicles hardly constitute a " garden view" although the room itself is up to the same good standard as the sea view room. The breakfasts were ok although lacked variety but nice setting, served on the verandah, whilst the staff were friendly and helpful. The decor and furnishings in both rooms were good and there was plenty of space.
HOWEVER, the " disappearance" from our room of 2 small value items on day 4 did bring a sour note to the whole stay and spoil an otherwise great visit. In 35 years of travelling the world this is the first time we have suffered this issue.The lesson learnt is don't assume mundane articles left in your room are safe.

Room Tip: Pay the extra T$10.00 per night for the sea view room although MIGHT be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gptonga, Owner at Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
First of all thanks for the favourable comments about our property and management.
Regarding the 'disappearance' of 2 small value items from your room I like to specify that even for us, in 10 years, is the first time we received similar complaint.
In the day 3 of your staying you advise us you cannot find a 'very' expensive hand razor.
We check everywhere but we don't find. Finally the room cleaner said that she saw an 'hand plastic razor' in the rubbish bean and she put in the garbage. We check in the garbage bean and we find it and we give back to you. You said that is not your, but you keep it...
Just before the departure you claim the disappearance of a small necklace by the day before from the room. We check again but we don't find it again, and this time the garbage bean was already clean. All the rooms have a safety box to store items with value, we put in there to use it. Yes, garden view is not facing an Italian garden, only palm trees, the rain water tanks to supply water in the rooms and a small parking, that's the reason why they're cheaper than the seaview rooms, even having the same standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in December and it was fantastic. The roomis excellent, extremely clean and comfortable- simplistic with touches of island charm. Within walking distance to downtown Nuku'alofa. Continental breakfast exceeded our expectations and we left every single morning stuffed and ready for our day.

Staff were exceptionally helpful, particularly when asking to turn down the aircon and more than willing to organise a private island tour with two lovely enthusiastic local sisters (who had an awesome sense of humour). The owner was lovely, said hi everytime we walked past and seemed super passionate about running her lodge, which was really nice to see. Would stay here again next time in Tonga.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 415Yyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Waterfront lodge for one night (on a stopover to Fafa Island) and we would pick this place again on our next visit. The room was clean and nicely decorated and the staff were very friendly and helpful. As outlined in many other reviews, the walls are quite thin and the wooden floorboard noisy, but it didn't bother us much for the short stay. Overall very pleasant place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sventor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I'm very mixed about my stay in this hotel. When I arrived, it was very difficult to open the wicket, you must open it like "from inside", so you feel like a burglar when coming in. When I went to the reception, there was a lady, owner of the hotel, which were yelling the receptionist, local Tongan girl. She doesn't saw me and I was supposed to wait till old lady finish yelling receptionist. Nothing like "Hello", "Welcome" etc, just nothing. I felt like not a welcomed. Later I started check in. Check in by Tongan girl was ok.

Room in this hotel is very nice and clean, with a nice balcony.

When I was in the room I got 2 or 3 times phone regarding LATE CHECK OUT. I was surprised because I didn't asked about that. Check out time is 10 a.m. and I was planning to check out before 10, so I answered I don't need late check out. BUT... I got an answer that BOSS SAID IF YOU WANT TO HAVE LATE CHECK OUT, YOU MUST TO PAY FOR THE NEXT DAY. But I didn't wanted it! No need! I m gonna leave before 10. But the answer was again like YOU MUST TO PAY 1 DAY RATE IF YOU WILL CHECK OUT EVEN ONE MINUTE AFTER 10 A.M. I explained I will check out before 10, and no need to have late check out. Evening I spent in the town, but next day in the morning one lady went to my room (it was at 9 a.m.) and asked AT WHAT TIME YOU WILL CHECK OUT? I said: Before 10 a.m. She said: OK. And left.

Breakfast is very simple continental breakfast. Restaurant was closed for lunch and dinner during my stay (should be re-opened in Jan. 2013 - that's what they said).

Check out was ok.

It is not a pleasure when you see boss/owner which treat people this way. Tongan people are very friendly and works hard. They are not lazy, speaks good English so this owner better should go back to the Europe and retire because as I know Italy, you may exceed a courtesy but it was to much and I will not recommend to stay in this hotel because of the way how employees are treated by the owners. It is just below human standard.

In Waterfront Lodge rooms are nice, Tongan stuff is very good and helpful. But I don't wish anyone to meet owners.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gptonga, Owner at Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Matti G , again we have to say that in last December 2012 WE DO NOT HAVE any guest with your name or coming from Taipei, Taiwan as in your anonymous email address...but we want to answer to your comment as well.
The wicket at the entrance door of the room is a 'safety lock', very easy to open from outside with the electronic key and from inside pushing just a small button, we do not see any difficult in that as all the other guests do, sorry if you feel unconfortable about your own safe.
Our continental breakfast consist in: coffee or tea, yoghurt, milk, fresh fruit, bread toast, jam, fruit juice, muesli and corn flakes...sorry again if you consider that simple.
Is not our attitude, after 20 years living in Tonga, yelling with anybody, especially with our employee. 80% of them are working with us from the beginning of our job (1993), probably there's some reason for that, maybe we do not treat them so badly...
About the late check-in, first of all we DO NOT CHARGE any payment till 2:00 P.M. (if it's possible and if it's not coming soon other guests), so we're VERY surprise about the phone calls you received repetitively, maybe was a personal enterprise of the 'working hard, friendly and not lazy' receptionist and in this case we apologise for that.
Thanks for your suggestion to go back in Italy, we should think about instead to move to Taiwan...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have travelled to Tonga 4 times in the last year and believe the Waterfront Lodge to be the best option in Nuku'alofa for accommodation. The rooms are clean and the staff are always very pleasant and helpful. The meals at the restaurant are superb and excellent value for money. I have never been disappointed.

Yes the continental breakfast is average and the walls are thin however the overall package is excellent and you are made to feel very much at home.

I'll stay there again (if a room is available) when I next visit Tonga.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was recently in Tonga working for 10 days with a medical team and this hotel was where we were billeted by Aus Aid. Having also spent 10 days in Tonga last year where we stayed at another establishment on a similar trip, I can highly recommend Waterfront Lodge as a terrific place to stay.
All the staff bend over backwards to assist your every need and are friendly and "up for a chat" at any time. The rooms are spacious and airy and all 8 have a large balcony - 4 overlooking the waterfront and 4 overlooking the rear of the property. After working all day it is a great place to sit and relax and enjoy the local atmosphere.
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom amenities superior to many available on the island. The continental breakfast is top notch when compared to what is available in Nuku'alofa.
It is important to remember the country you are in when comparing accommodation and I think the team at the Waterfront are exceptional.
Yes there are some noise issues - but as mentioned in one of the review replies by the management it is the structure of the colonial building that makes it so. There are other compensatory benefits that this establishment provide that negate these minor issues.
The restaurant serves some very nice meals and their "blackened fish" is delicious - fresh local catch (snapper for us) served without sauce over the fillet, so that the true flavour of the fish shines through. I ate this on 3 separate occasions and it was delicious every time.
The Waterfront is about 1.6kms from "Friends", so it is a gentle 20min stroll along the waterfront to the centre of town and the local fruit and vegetable market, as well as supermarket shops where you can purchase top up drinks and nibbles for your stay.
It will certainly be high on our accommodation choice for any return visits.
Thanks to Daniella and her team.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms overlooking the garden, less breeze on the balcony Sea breeze, local colour and atmos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.7 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
1.4 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Black Pearl Suites
The Black Pearl Suites
#6 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
45 reviews
7.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
168 reviews
11.1 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge

Property: Waterfront Lodge
Address: Ma'ufanga, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1001, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Cafe and Lodge, the best private Tonga hotel, is located opposite Queen Salote Wharf, with the Nuku’alofa waterfront unfolding right before you. Just a 20 minute stroll to downtown Nuku'alofa and you will soon find yourself immersed in the sights, shops and markets of the Kingdom of Tonga capital city. The colonial-style lodge is packed with character and boasts a beautiful sea view, excellent services, high quality accommodation and arguably the most popular restaurant in the capital. The charming property is under Italian management and believes in paying special attention to each and every guest. The Waterfront Cafe and Lodge’s atmosphere is welcoming and homely, our staff is warm and friendly and every guest is treated with special attention which makes their holiday in Tonga even more memorable and their vacation so comfortable to make them feel at home. The Waterfront Lodge is internationally renowned not only to be the perfect hotel for your stay in Tongatapu but also to be a place of art where artists from Polynesia and the South Pacific often meet to expose their masterpieces. From our reception we can also organize tours of Tongatapu and packages to some of the top island hotels and attractions to ensure your Tonga holiday will be remembered as one of the best of your lifetime. If you are looking for your personal getaway to the friendly islands of the Kingdom of Tonga, welcome to the Waterfront Cafe' and Lodge, the best private owned accommodation you can find on our shore.World Class Tourism gives us 4 stars We have the pleasure to announce that the World Class Tourism for Tonga has recently judged the Waterfront Lodge & Cafe' as a 4 Stars hotel. This is indeed a great news for us and for all our new and returning guests. The unique accommodation, the casual atmosphere, the popularity of our restaurant and the smiles of our staff make the Waterfront Lodge & Cafe' the perfect stop over if you are visiting the capital or if your holiday takes you to one of the marvellous islands of the Kingdom of Tonga. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Nuku Alofa
Waterfront Lodge Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing