We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and comfortable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuku'alofa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Popua Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 20 Nuku'alofa B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and comfortable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at Popua Bed and Breakfast while in Tonga for a family wedding. The place is newly refurbished to a high standard - it's really comfortable and spotlessly clean. There is a great verandah where you can sit outside and watch the sun set. It was perfact for a family as there is plenty of room and you can have your own space, and very good value for money compared with other accommodation options we looked at in Nuku'alofa. Extremely welcoming and friendly hosts - we would definitely stay at Popua B&B again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fintoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Popua, Owner at Popua Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
It was very nice for us to have you stay with us. We enjoyed the dinner conversations and are happy that the activities we suggested were found to be enjoyable and inexpensive. Tonga is a beautiful and friendly country and it was our pleasure to help you enjoy all that is on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently visited Tonga for a wedding. We have been to Tonga before (years ago) and knew what we wanted to do so we stayed in different locations including in town and at the beach. Popua Bed & Breakfast was definitely our favourite. The rooms were very spacious and especially comfortable. We had a lovely breeze in the evenings and slept really well. The common areas are welcoming and homey. The service was more than we expected with delicious food and really friendly hosts. We got wonderful advice on things to see and do and they helped arrange day trips such as a tour of town and the market and a day on the water fishing - what an adventure! We ate local food, met some wonderful local people and saw things that the average tourist misses. We left feeling like we were leaving behind old friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Popua, Owner at Popua Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We did enjoy your time with us also. The trips and outings were a pleasure to host. We do look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teterow, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Popua Bed & Breakfast is a wonderful place. The hosts are super friendly and you can feel like at home so warmly welcome are you. Its a perfect place to relax and explore Nuku'alofa and Tongatapu. The house is very comfortable, clean and newly furnished. The Breakfast is delicious!
The hospitality is extraordinary!
We really enjoyed staying there and warmly recommend Popua Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Popua, Owner at Popua Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you. It was our pleasure to host you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuku'alofa hotels
0.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Noa Guest House
Noa Guest House
#3 of 20 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Tropical Villa
The Tropical Villa
#6 of 20 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#12 of 20 in Nuku'alofa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dayspring B&B Lodge
Dayspring B&B Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popua Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popua Bed & Breakfast

Property: Popua Bed & Breakfast
Address: Fangaloto, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Litia & Trevor live on site to ensure your time in Tonga will be an enjoyable one. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is generous with fresh local produce and their knowledge of the Kingdom will ensure you maximise your travel experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Popua Bed & Breakfast Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing