We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good hostel/guest house for Tongan standards, no complaints at all”
Review of Toni's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuku'alofa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toni's Guest House
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Good hostel/guest house for Tongan standards, no complaints at all”
Reviewed November 8, 2009

I stayed here during the last week of October 2009 with some friends and would like to recommend this accommodation to other fellow backpackers, travellers and visitors to Tonga. I had first read about this hostel/guest house over the internet as advertised on hostels.com and as a backpacker trying to find good accommodation for good money, I was a bit critical of the accommodation before arriving in Tonga, but upon arrival was met by Peter, who was a fantastic guide, driver and very informative person who advised us on tours, sights, as well as making us feel at home at the guest house and responding to all queries, even taking my group out to a Tongan bar one evening. The accommodation was clean, and of a good standard, rooms could have sometimes had more space, but beds, mosquito nets, drawers were of good quality, the kitchen was well equipped and the lounge was a good socialising medium. The only negative(s) I can possibly think of was the water pressure in the bathroom which was bad, even when the tap was turned up to maximum, the constant crowing of roosters at night, but no fault at all to the guesthouse itself and the distance to get to Nuku'alofa town.

I would recommend Toni's kava nights if your staying a few days to experience drinking kava, a local non-alcoholic drink for the south pacific but a great substitute, thoroughly helps you relax, and Toni does his best to make you feel welcome as a guest, even though some people criticise his sense of humour, which, as a fellow Englishmen, I had no problems understanding and felt very welcomed by him.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    46
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
13
51
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Malo e lelei, We both traveled from the United States and volunteered for the Tonga Red Cross Society for six weeks. Toni and Leni were a great help in getting everything set up an organized before our arrival. Once we got there, Toni himself picked us up from the airport. Most of the times Pita a very friendly driver who works for Toni's Guest House shuttleling the guests around. Toni himself is usually occupied in giving the famous Island Tour, which is a must see. We liked it and learned a lot from Toni's great knowledge about Tonga. Toni's Guest House also offers a shuttle service as mentioned above. This includes trips to town, to beaches, or where ever one wants to go. ... just talk to Toni or Leni and arrange something. The accommodations were great too, considering the area and standard that is normal for Tonga. There are basically three houses. The Green one, which is great for single travelers, who do not mind to have a basic bed and share a room with others. Then there is the blue house, which is a higher standard house and there are also dorm style bedrooms. Last but not least there is the yellow house, which is the to standard house that has individual bedrooms. Ideal for couples, who enjoy their privacy. We must say all houses are very clean and are maintained by a very friendly staff that cares for the guests. ... be ope and show interest about the Tongan culture and the staff gives you a great Tongan experience! The houses are safe well taken care off. As mentioned earlier, we stayed at Toni's for six weeks and enjoyed it every day. ... any questions, contact Toni or Leni and you will receive a reply in no time. Malo!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2008

My family and I had a great time staying at Toni's Guest house(Bluehouse) and found that the property was worth staying there also the service was very good. We enjoyed our stay there and recommend Toni's for those who are looking for a place to stay that's economicially cheap for value and a good time out place to enjoy the surroundings and the sun. The only let down was it would been nice to have a pool handy on the property to dip and keep cool in the tropical heat of Tonga. Met many foreign travellers and enjoyed their company as well which are friends for life now.

  • Liked — Clean place and good space to accomodate a lot of people
  • Disliked — Wish there was a pool
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank central187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2008

After reading the fantastic reviews found on this site about Toni's guest House my sister and I thought it would be a perfect location for our week long holiday to Tonga. I booked directly with Toni months in advance and emailed to confirm, both pick up and accomdation for the week, before we arrived.
Upon arriving (at 2:30am) we were picked up by one of Toni's workers who was very hospitable. However when arrivied at Toni's Guest House we were told (now 3am) that there were no beds avaliable. Being the middle of the night and in a foreign country we were not too impressed! We asked to see the manager (Toni) but he would not get out of bed, pity seeing as we would've liked to have been in beds too! After much deliberation with Toni's worker we were given a couch, grotty blankets and slept with the dog in the communal lounge area. After a restless night, with people walking backwards and forth through our 'bedroom' we we woke to find Toni. Unfortunatly he was no where to be seen. Finally his wife appeared and we were told, with no apology, that there had been a mistake. She said she would 'try' to organising us a bed for that night and the following 6 nights.
Upon hearing this we decided 1 night sharing the couch with their dog was enough and found some new accomadation.

We spent the rest of our time at Ali Baba's Guest House which we would completly reccomend. We had a fantastic stay there. Our host, Ben, was incredibly helpful.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — The fact that we had no beds when we'd booked months in advance and apolgy was given!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwimel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Enjoyed staying at Toni's his tour was brilliant even if some of his jokes were off colour. Airport pick up cheap and appreciated.
Rooms were clean and tidy, good facilities. 1$ ride to town.
Negatives - a little too far from town, and low water pressure, but I understand that this is a problem throughout Nuku'alofa. Found it a little hard to sleep the first couple of nights with noise from Dogs, Roosters, church bells, and women beating mulberry bark into Tapa, but got used to it, and hey I'm old (46) and cranky.
Met some great fellow travellers as well. Staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kiddtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Apologies for the delay of this review!

This place was recommended to me by a work colleague who had used Toni's Guesthouse around June and said that it would suit my purposes. I had no problems contacting Toni arranging my accommodation (prompt and efficient) via email.

I was in a party of 3 and after arriving from Sydney around 11:30pm we had about 5hrs to kill before catching our plane to Vava'u. We were picked up by the friendly driver who took us to the accommodation which is located in Tofoa.

We were pleasantly surprised by our room for 3- even with all the green colour scheme! :-). It was basic but clean had a wardrobe, 3 single beds and a fan. Separate shower/toilet facilities-functional & clean. It was such a relief to have a hot shower!!!

Even when the driver had to collect us at 4:00am to take us to the Domestic terminal he was cheerful and let me tell you arriving at the domestic (run down and dirty) and seeing other tourists sleeping there waiting for their connecting domestic flight I was so thankful I had initally decided to stay at Toni's to rest and refresh.

Would recommend this either as a base whilst exploring Tongatapu or if in transit.

  • Liked — Clean, working facilities
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Eni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2007

We stayed in a lot of places during our travels and Toni's was one of the best. It's ultra clean and so friendly. Toni is so funny and makes the place. It's so cheap you have no excuse not to go there. The tours are well worth while too.

  • Liked — Toni!!!
  • Disliked — A german couple staying there who thought they knew everything!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pippacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.0 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
0.0 mi away
Olini Lodge
Olini Lodge
#1 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dayspring B&B Lodge
Dayspring B&B Lodge
#2 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malau Lodge
Malau Lodge
#9 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toni's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toni's Guest House

Property: Toni's Guest House
Address: Tofoakoloua | Tongatapu, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 3084, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are based on sharing. They are clean, comfortable and affordable. The cost per person is T$ 15.00. We have good cooking facilities, and a nice lounge room. We have rooms with 2, 3 and double beds. Additional bed on request. Airport transfer T$ 10.00 p.p. Lifts to and from town anytime T$ 1.00. We are the only guesthouse with Kava nights. We offer a tour around Tongatapu for T$ 30. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toni`s Guest House Hotel Nuku`Alofa
Toni's Guest House Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing