We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Budget Beach-Stay”
Review of Toni's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuku'alofa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toni's Guest House
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Secluded Budget Beach-Stay”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed one night at Toni's Beach House which is what feels like a private home on a small secluded beach a looooong bumpy car trip away from everywhere else. It's very comfortable, exceptionally clean and quiet and we were the only guests there. It seemed as though there was three double rooms and perhaps an apartment upstairs, but it was hard to tell.

The beach itself was secluded and had good swimming at high tide and interesting rock pools at low tide. As in everywhere in Tonga, there is a fair amount of litter, but it is actually better than a lot of beaches and 'forested' areas for that. The gardens are beautiful and well-maintained, the dog is friendly and the deck was really pleasant to sit on. Breakfast was small but had an interesting selection of fresh fruit.

The hosts living there were unobtrusive and when the internet wasn't working on our devices we were able to use the host's laptop without any fuss. We also used the phone for local calls for free, which was useful.

Transfers in and out are expensive so I would try to get everything you need on the first trip and enjoy your solitude!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessHock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    46
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
13
51
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Didn't stay at the guest house but did take an all-day tour of the island with Toni. He was terrific. Was in Tonga on a cruise and found this tour far superior and much less expensive than what was offered by the ship. Toni is a very friendly and interesting guide and gave us an excellent tour of the whole island and capped it off with lunch at his beach house. He was extremely reliable. Was waiting for us at the dock when we arrived and returned us to the ship in plenty of time. Only six of us in the mini-van which made it very enjoyable. I highly recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank David_S8816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Tonis for three nights during a six night stay and it was by far the best accommodation we had. We stayed in the blue house which was lovely and tidy with a nice big bathroom, then in the yellow house which was equally tidy, spacious with a nice bathroom. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend Tonis guesthouses and I will definitely stay there again if I was to visit Tonga again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriselino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at toni's guesthouse for a total of 6 nights, accommodation is very nice and clean, small kitchen with everything you need, but it's probably cheaper and more convenient to eat out. Tonis is about 3-4k from nuku alofa so about a hour walk, or Toni gives lifts into town for 1.15 pa-anga. He also does a day tour around the mainland, showing all the sights for 60 paanga. Ive heard alot of bad reviews about Toni being rude or whatever, but he was just a typical northern English with a dry sense of humor, he was hilarious!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liambancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always come to Tonis Guesthouse when i visit to Tonga. The rooms are nice and clean , you have all the necessities that you need at your finger tips, and the staff are always ready to help. The transfer service is always really usefull and they are always open for any special requests that you may have !

Room Tip: Blue House and Yellow House are great !! and the beachouse is very nice !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Could you please pass on my thanks to the house keeping lady at the blue house. She was friendly and kept the place so clean which made the stay much more enjoyable. It definitely is a value for money. Pita the driver is lovely too, please pass on my thanks for his patience and time.
My only downfall was Toni, he talks way too much. And most of the time it was negative talk of Tonga and the people of Tonga. But otherwise, definitely would recommend and would come back to stay. Thanks to the hard workers who keep the place so emaculate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Toni's Guest House is split into three houses: green, blue and yellow. Green is backpacker style, yellow a sharehouse and blue is a proper house. We stayed in the yellow house and loved it, but we visited guests in the other houses and saw them too. There was a communal lounge in each house and though our room was basic and the bathroom shared, it suited us fine. We had our own little kitchen with a stove and oven and various pots and implements were available to us for cooking, which was great as it isn't exactly comfortable walking distance to town. Toni will run you in for $1 per person though, and even ran us to and from the domestic airport without complaint.
We found Toni to have a good sense of humour, if perhaps a little abrupt sometimes. No one we talked with during our stay took offence to anything he said, even if he does make the occasional Aussie joke (we're used to it). The staff members were wonderfully accomodating, and we even had a nose flute demonstration when settling our bill!
The tour of the island that Toni offers was great, especially on a Sunday when NOTHING is open. He has a comprehensive knowledge of the island and can take you to all the major sights in a day without feeling rushed.

Room Tip: Green house is definitely backpacker, blue house for flashpacker and yellow house is middle of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuku'alofa hotels
0.0 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Noa Guest House
Noa Guest House
#3 of 20 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olini Lodge
Olini Lodge
#1 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dayspring B&B Lodge
Dayspring B&B Lodge
#2 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toni's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toni's Guest House

Property: Toni's Guest House
Address: Tofoakoloua | Tongatapu, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 3084, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are based on sharing. They are clean, comfortable and affordable. The cost per person is T$ 15.00. We have good cooking facilities, and a nice lounge room. We have rooms with 2, 3 and double beds. Additional bed on request. Airport transfer T$ 10.00 p.p. Lifts to and from town anytime T$ 1.00. We are the only guesthouse with Kava nights. We offer a tour around Tongatapu for T$ 30. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toni`s Guest House Hotel Nuku`Alofa
Toni's Guest House Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing