We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean and comfortable!”
Review of Toni's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuku'alofa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toni's Guest House
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed a couple of nights at the 'Blue House' in a shared room. It was really clean and comfortable, with lots of friendly travellers to chat with. I also joined a tour around Tongatapu with Toni - again well worth it to see all the sights in one day and get lots of interesting information. The kava night with Mone was also very interesting! With regular rides into town for just $1 and airport transfers, it is really convenient. Toni's provides great value for money and I would recommend it to singles, couples or families staying on Tongatapu. Remember, it is 'backpacker' style accommodation, so be prepared to have your own towel.

Room Tip: The Blue House is nice and peaceful with lots of space, and not much more expensive than the Green H...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Growitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Toni's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have just spent a few days at Toni's, in the yellow house, and can endorse all the positive comments made by other travellers. It is excellent value for money, but don't expect The Ritz.
Just be aware that although there is a full kitchen in each house there is no food. You may want to bring some sachets of salt, pepper and sugar with you and ask Toni to stop at the supermarket and roadside vegetable stalls where you can buy the basics.
It is possible to take meat into Tonga (local meat isn't very good) as long as it is in original packaging (cryovac is best) and you would want to freeze it before travelling. Just declare it at customs in Tonga and they will charge a small import duty which they calculate according to weight, so make sure the original labels are on each packet. We also had receipts but they didn't really look at those.
There is a money changing facility at the airport that gives a fair rate of exchange.
The buffet and show at Oholei on Wednesday & Friday nights is good value - Toni will arrange transport.

Room Tip: We just asked for a room with an ensuite and ended up with a whole house to ourselves! There are 3 b...
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 689JulieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in blue house. It was really clean and quite. We had the rain water thru the tap, it was clean and safe for us.
Staffs are friendly and won't sell you the trip that you doesn't want,

They are quite far from town, but no worry, town transfer are available.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tshya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Toni and Leeni have a variety of accommodation options and are easily the best deal on Tongatapu. After doing the tour with Toni, again easily the best deal and the best way to see everything in one day, we elected to stay at the new beach house for the last few days of our trip. The beach house is a large modern home with absolutely everything you need for a comfortable stay. The kitchen is well equipped and spotless, there is hot water a plenty and all the bathrooms are sparkling clean. After a busy two weeks on the other islands it was good to just sit back and relax in the beach house before heading home. The house has six bedrooms and its seems that every two rooms have a private lounge area, the main lounge has satellite TV and even a piano ! There is wireless internet too ! The beach is right out front and has a sheltered cove in which you will most likely be the only visitors. One of the main ways to get ripped off on this island is transport, but don't worry at Toni's because his prices for a run into town, the airport or anywhere else you would like to go are really cheap. I read the reviews about Toni and his faulty towers routine and I must say they seem a bit unfair. Toni does have a wicked sense of humor and is a typical northern English man, who by his own admission may qualify for Olympic whinging. I found Toni to be a hard working man who loves his adopted country and Tongan family very much and is unstoppable when it comes to talking about Tongan history and development. I had a look at the other properties and they all look to have the same high standards as the beach house. One thing I heard at the airport is that Toni's is too far out of town. "Town" has one day of shopping or site seeing in it and no beaches. Toni's small fleet of mini buses are always on hand to take you wherever you need to be at a fraction of the cost to the drivers attached to other guest houses. It takes about 5 minutes from the other houses into the center of town and all of 15 minutes from the beach house. Be aware that at the airport it is common for drivers to tell you that the other driver will not turn up or that that guest house is full, don't listen, if you booked with Toni he will be there. Toni's Tongan wife Leeni is helpful and genuine and it was great to spend time with this proud Tongan woman who was easily the most engaged business woman we met on our travels. Toni's guest house can also help you hook up with Fins and Flukes whale swimming in Ha apai, feast in the caves, karva nights or drop off to Marco's pizza for a night out in town. Just ask. That's the thing about Toni and Leeni, they will, and can accommodate your needs and wishes all you have to do is ask. They are also very good at answering the phone and e mails. In Tonga this is not always the case. Did I mention that there are no roosters at the beach house ? Or church bells at 4am ? Look forward to a good sleep on a clean and comfortable bed with no mossies and no noise but the surf on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our flight was canceled so we need a room for one night. We called Toni and he offered us a double room for 35 Dollar and he picked us up from the airport for 10$ (the taxi driver asked for 40 dollars for the transfer :-D)
Room was clean, shower and toilet also. Kitchen okay. and Toni took us back to the airport on the next morning.
Easy and simple ..we had no problems.
There are also some shops for groceries around the corner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

we stayed in the new beach house so beautiful on the amazing coast, very comfortable and lots of room plus a great deck overlooking the ocean perfect spot and good place to eat near by too
Toni & his wife are such nice helpful people. and a group of us did a tour with Tony too and he has a great sense of humor and fun info of all! Thank you again we will be back one day ;) there will also be photos on face book soon too Tonga Time 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at Toni’s on 3 separate occasions while we had been travelling around Tonga and found it to be a really nice, clean and cheap stop.
We stayed in the Blue house all 3 times in a double room, twice upstairs and once down and for the same price the upstairs one is so much better than the downstairs one. It’s got a lot more sunlight, space and smells clean unlike downstairs which has a bit of a damp smell to it. The whole house though is clean and spacious and very comfortable, especially the large living room which also has a huge TV that can get a few channels.
Inside the house there is only 1 bathroom but if you go round the back there is another bathroom and 2 portaloos which you’re never told about and take the strain off the 1 bathroom taking 10-20 people.
Overall the accommodation is well worth the money and you can see why pretty much every backpacker you meet in Tonga has stayed at Toni’s at some point.
The thing that is annoying about the place though is firstly the fact that Toni’s is the only place in Tonga that gives you prices without VAT included so it’s always more than you think (although you get used to this). There’s no need to do this as the price would still be cheap if the VAT is included. Another thing is the owner himself. I’d read a lot on here about him and then heard a lot more while traveling around Tonga and can totally see why so many people have negative opinions of him. We went on one of the island tours ($57.50) and the way he was speaking to some people was pretty bad considering they are paying customers and he’s the one offering them a service. He passes it off as British humour but although sometimes he can be funny, most of the time it just makes him seem cocky and ignorant. The upside it that you rarely have to put up with him unless you’re on a tour or being taken somewhere by the van.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.0 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
0.0 mi away
Noa Guest House
Noa Guest House
#5 of 22 in Nuku'alofa
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Olini Lodge
Olini Lodge
#1 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dayspring B&B Lodge
Dayspring B&B Lodge
#4 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toni's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toni's Guest House

Address: Tofoakoloua | Tongatapu, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 3084, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Nuku'alofa
Price Range: $19 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are based on sharing. They are clean, comfortable and affordable. The cost per person is T$ 15.00. We have good cooking facilities, and a nice lounge room. We have rooms with 2, 3 and double beds. Additional bed on request. Airport transfer T$ 10.00 p.p. Lifts to and from town anytime T$ 1.00. We are the only guesthouse with Kava nights. We offer a tour around Tongatapu for T$ 30. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toni`s Guest House Hotel Nuku`Alofa
Toni's Guest House Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing