We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of Toni's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuku'alofa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toni's Guest House
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of may/start of june and it was excellent value for money. We had an ensuite room in the Yellow Guest house. The room was very clean and comfortable. It is a fair way into town so the $1 a ride minibus service was brilliant.
Best part of the stay was the island tour with Toni as our guide - it was excellent! He was funny, informative and full of interesting stories about Tonga. Being 'northerners' we were on the same wavelength and completely agree that Captain Cook would have been referred to as 'our Jimmy'! Definitely take this tour, you will see all the highlights and sights right round the island. I must also mention the lovely Peter and Monni, both were lovely, helpful people who just want you to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    46
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
13
51
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I didn't stay at Toni's but enjoyed one of his tours with another couple visiting from New Zealand. Great value. Toni is very knowledgeable and able to offer insight from the point of view of someone who settled in Tonga from another country. Very dry humour which some might not get. But hugely entertaining. If you want a tour of the Island and a free laugh to go with it, I'd recommend Toni. He's a crack up!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank WairuaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at Toni's Guest House twice- two years ago in the yellow house- this time in the blue house- both were for extended visits. The accommodations are super clean, the staff are wonderful and you can't beat the price. Toni's "taxi" service is reliable and again you can't beat the price. Toni has a dry sense of humor and a heart of gold, so don't let his gruffness fool you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol123081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at Toni's Guesthouse twice when in Tonga. It is very basic but very clean and a very good price for Tonga; the cheapest we found.

But there were a couple of negatives. One is that it is quite far from town so you do have to rely on transport to get you to and from town, but Toni does provide reliable shuttles for very cheap so it is doable. Another downside is that there are no restaurants here or nearby so again you have to go into town to find some, so the best option is to cook for yourselves unless you want to travel into town a few times a day to eat.

Toni himself is quite a negative person. I don't really understand why he chose to live in Tonga as he never has anything good to say about the country, or the people especially his staff who he seems never happy with and as guests we don't really want to here about it all the time.

The rooms are quite nice, although basic and the double and single beds are simply huge! The staff are nice and friendly too especially Peter who is always smiling so ignore Toni if he moans about them to you.

But like I mentioned before it is very good value and I would definitely recommend paying just that little bit extra to upgrade to 'The Blue House' or 'The Yellow House' as both of these are far nicer than the Green and I would stay here again if we did come back to Tonga.

Room Tip: Choose the yellow and blue houses over the green, nice big beds and are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freespirits182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We didn't stay at Toni's guest house, but had the pleasure of going on one of his all day tours. Enjoyed the relaxed style and great sence of humour, would recommend without hesitation (just mind the pot holes)!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vava'u Islands, Tonga
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

spent one night at tonys in the blue house , it was exactly how you see it in the pictures , clean & comfortable .

Room Tip: dorm rooms have verandahs for more breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seganaleqafiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We intended to stay here for 3 nights then onto Vavau for the rest of our trip . Due to cyclones we had to stay at Toni's for 7 nights . Toni and Co were very good in making sure that we had accommodation even though they had big groups coming through that were already booked in . The town trips were great , cheap and worked very much in our favour ! And town was not far away at all ! . We stayed in the yellow guesthouse and it felt like home . A very comfortable lounge room with a kitchen supplied with everything you need to make a great meal ! Although Tonga is very hot all rooms and living areas are supplied with fans so that you are always comfortable ! Even as a guesthouse - staying as a couple was not a problem as our ensuite room was private and the Med students we shared with were great fun ! Toni has great family and staff in Tofoa with him - all very helpful and they really make your stay enjoyable .The room rates are cheap , and of great value ! I regret not having a Kava night with your troop however we will be back in August , Thanks very much for an enjoyable stay !!

Room Tip: Ensuite room has excellent privacy . Does not feel like you are sharing with 3-4 other people . Hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.0 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
0.0 mi away
Malau Lodge
Malau Lodge
#9 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dayspring B&B Lodge
Dayspring B&B Lodge
#2 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Olini Lodge
Olini Lodge
#1 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toni's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toni's Guest House

Property: Toni's Guest House
Address: Tofoakoloua | Tongatapu, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 3084, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are based on sharing. They are clean, comfortable and affordable. The cost per person is T$ 15.00. We have good cooking facilities, and a nice lounge room. We have rooms with 2, 3 and double beds. Additional bed on request. Airport transfer T$ 10.00 p.p. Lifts to and from town anytime T$ 1.00. We are the only guesthouse with Kava nights. We offer a tour around Tongatapu for T$ 30. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toni`s Guest House Hotel Nuku`Alofa
Toni's Guest House Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing