We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Tonga!”
Review of Seaview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seaview Lodge
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Was there for business. Had no idea what to expect but Gudrun and Franz made me feel at home - ould talk to them for hours! Since i didnt pay the bills myself, i cant really comment on that but another colleauge stayed at the Scenic out at the airport and didnt have many good things to say about it. Glad I ended up here!
I had dinner at the restaurant several times and each time was excellent! I hope to visit again soon :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrOizoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 188 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

it's such a great experience to be with Gudrun and Franz from the St. Eiermark especially Franz's cooking ability is very impressive. You can get a wide range of really good food. The rooms are very clean and the stuff friendly

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The best thing was the accommodation living of Gudruns hospitality and style and the restaurant attached to the lodge (see the separate review there) where you get a wide range breakfast and dinner in a really good quality. The rooms were very clean, a bit small (for three of us) compared to the other places we stayed - but you dont stay at your room on a south sea island anyhow. It is of course no beach/swimming location but it is a perfect place to explore Nukualofa by foot and also the whole island then by car which both are surprisingly interesting. Also for business people it would be a very good place. For that reason it is a 5/5. Compared to the South Sea paradise places of e.g. Fafa and Reef Resort it would be a 4/5 but those you are visiting for other reasons/other target group.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernd_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

When we arrived at the Seaview Lodge we were told by the owner that they do not have a room for us (despite us having a confirmed booking and reconfirmed our arrival via email the day before). Apparently the toilet was broken.

He said he has booked us into another hotel nearby (pretty much the worst one in Nuku'alofa according to tripadvisor). At that hotel they were not aware of any booking. Since we arrived around 11pm we settled for the last room available there.

We cannot rate the actual Seaview Lodge. It seems to be sought after, but in our case was not a pleasant experience, especially if you arrive late at night after many hours of travelling.

This could have been an isolated and unfortunate incidence. In any case, the way the owner handled our arrival was poor and borderline rude.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank sventor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My stay in the Seaview Lodge was the best stay I've ever had in Tonga.The Seaview Lodge is paradise right in the heart of Nuku'alofa. Franz and Gudrun go out of their way to make sure your needs are catered to and I felt right at home with them! They are such lovely friendly and authentic people I really appreciated all their efforts and their staff, to make me feel happy and welcome. The room I stayed in for two weeks,was perfect, with cool floor tiling, a/c, a ceiling fan, ensuite, king bed, bar fridge and all the comforts of home that we take for granted here in Australia. The days were so hot, so coming back to a spotless and cool room was heaven.I didnt want to leave! I must say that whenever I'm in Tonga, I will always stay at Seaview without a second thought! Thankyou Franz and Gudrun and all the best!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

During my second visit to Nuku'lofa ,Tonga , i choose to stay in Seaview Lodge as recommended by my friends during my first visit. Sea view has located in picturesque water front bit away from other lodges near to the kinds palace. The city center is 10 mins walk from the lodge .It does take bit of walkign to get to the seaview if you dont have a car. But otherwise its a great place to stay and relax.The rooms are spacious, neat & clean and have all the requirements like AC,Comfortabel beds, TV, Coffee makers, hot water etc. The breakfast and food menus are definitely plus and service levels are great. Aslo the very few places serving food on sunday is the seaview lodge .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I recently stayed at the Seaview Lodge in October, 2012. It was recommended to me and I can also recommend a stay here. I like the fact that it is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the town center in Nuku'alofa, so it is peaceful, and right across the street from the ocean. Goodrun and Franz are very good hosts and were very helpful to me in seeing the sights around the island of Tongatapu. Their daughter even drove me around the island for a fun day of touring. The rooms are comfortable, and there is also an excellent restaurant on the grounds. If I returned to the island this is where I would stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.7 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
1.4 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Loumaile Lodge
Loumaile Lodge
#10 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
94 reviews
0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#8 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
48 reviews
8.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Lodge

Address: Vuna Rd. | Nukualofa, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Price Range: $72 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Lodge and Restaurant offers an idyllic waterfront location. The on-site restaurant serves International and local gourmet cuisine. All rooms are air-conditioned and feature a flat-screen TV with cable channels and a DVD player. They also offer a refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. The private bathroom offers free toiletries, a hairdryer and a shower. Towels and linen are provided. A Continental breakfast and WiFi / internet access is included. Located in Nuku'alofa, Seaview Lodge is just 500 metres from The Royal Palace and 800 metres from the City Centre, where guests can enjoy a variety of shops, markets, and cafes. Surrounded by tropical gardens, Seaview Lodge features a Restaurant and a Bar. An array of activities can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings, including cycling and canoeing. The property offers free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seaview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Nuku Alofa
Seaview Lodge Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing