We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was treated like family”
Review of Seaview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seaview Lodge
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I was treated like family”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

The Seaview Lodge is a lovely little hotel facing the ocean. About a 15 min stroll into town. The rooms are lovely, wifi not so good unless you go outside or into the restaurant, but I was there for 2 weeks, and I became like part of the family, thanks Goodrun & Franz. I would definately come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    48
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
68
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is like staying in a friend's home. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you'd need: a comfortable bed, nice powerful shower, TV with international stations, wifi. I had a room upstairs facing the ocean and the views were wonderful. The hosts were very welcoming, helpful and efficient. And the restaurant downstairs has great food served quickly and with good portion sizes.

The decor may not be to everyone's taste (eclectic pastiche of different styles would be my best way of describing it) but at least it's not sterile and definitely has the owners' personal touch. It didn't distract me in any way.

The location is convenient. It's a short 10 minute walk to the centre of this small town.

All in all an enjoyable brief stay. I'd choose this again if I had the choice.

Room Tip: I'd get a room upstairs facing the ocean. The views are nice as is having the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I can't say enough in praise of the Seaview Lodge. We had an 8 night stay with Franz and Gudrun whilst working in Nuku'alofa. Their hospitality was absolutely fantastic, they made us feel right at home and were always ready to help, chat and share their knowledge of the island.

I had a garden view room, which came with a great balcony, and the view of the small garden was fine, there was plenty of other stuff to see as outside of the garden amongst the trees of the town and suburbs. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean every day; all fly-screens intact (so you can have the sliding door open at night) with a ceiling fan and air-conditioning for cooling.

The restaurant provided a lovely buffet breakfast which was always more than adequate for my 'not insignificant' appetite; fresh fruit and bread every day, and a range of Euro style breakfast options including a fry-up! The coffee is also fantastic, locally grown and processed, truly delicious. Meals in the evening were exquisite, with such a range of fresh fish and lobster options all beutifully prepared and presented, you could easily overlook the steaks - DON'T! The steak is beautifully prepared and probably one of the best I have had anywhere, ever.

Outside the rooms, there were some great areas for team meetings, either covered or in the sunshine, and the wireless internet connection works well enough to be able to work effectively. An easy 5 minute stroll to the centre of town and the cafes and Government buildings meant it was ideally placed for all our work needs.

The fantastic service and friendship of Franz, Gudrun and their brilliant staff at Seaview Lodge was a rare treat to recieve.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I had an amazing experience here! the proprietors were very friendly and warm. I felt like I was visiting family in Tonga-- although we did not stay long enough to have dinner- someone booked our dinner at another hotel in town( bad idea) -- I wish we could have stayed for dinner-- the smells form the kitchen were exquisite! Breakfast was fantastic!! and when I come to Tonga again..and I will, we will make sure to book 2 nights and or sty for dinner before we head off to the smaller islands to go swimming with the whales. And if you want to know you are staying in a piece of history look through the guest book!! you will see pictures and logins from the British Royal family, Gudrun was very friendly with the king of Tonga, who has recently pasted. The rooms where fresh and clean!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I've stayed here twice over the last year and in that time the Seaview Lodge has had good reviews, and poor reviews - all of which are probably true. The hosts Franz and Gudrun are in turn both charming and puzzling, the decor always overwhelmingly eclectic Germanic/Pacific (especially at Christmas) and the food bizarrely inappropriate (at times). You've just got to realize sometimes that travel brings the opportunity for the different, and this is one place that is different - not just in how Tonga is different, but in how it is so different from the rest of Tonga. And as I mentioned, once wasn't quite enough to believe I hadn't imagined it.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house rather than the annex which has better rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank mulan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Clean, central location and welcoming hosts. Nicely rennovated garden and wooden ornaments.
At times the place felt a little highly strung in its atmosphere but as a hotel you couldn't fault it on the basics.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed at this place 2 nights, both when I arrived in Tonga and when I was leaving. I thought the rooms were quite average--I tried both seaview and 'garden' view (if a wall is a garden...) The decor is sort of kitschy. Both times, I felt like the attitude of the owners was that I was lucky to be there and I should perhaps stop bothering them with my questions (basic questions)...The first morning I was awoken by the very loud chatter of the owner early in the morning, as she seemed oblivious to the fact that there were guests sleeping directly above her. Then the husband started in with some power tool. When I returned the second time, I told the staff I couldn't get the AC to work, and the response was, oh, it's broken. Turned out, as I suspected, it was only the batteries in the remote that needed replacing. I tried asking about using the internet; this seemed to make the wife uncomfortable, as she spoke a sort of interesting patois of mostly German with some english words thrown in, and was always referring things to her husband. Dinner took forever, and questions like, what kind of fish is it? Were met with terror by the waitstaff, and we got the impression that disturbing the maestro in the kitchen was very intimidating for her. The food, when it arrived after more than an hour, was decent. But the most appalling part of the stay was when the wife violently whacked at the cat who was interested in her parrot (safely within a new and giant cage in the garden), during dinner service. With an umbrella. Violently. Whacking away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greenzebra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.7 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
0.4 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#7 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.7 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Lodge

Property: Seaview Lodge
Address: Vuna Rd., Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Lodge and Restaurant offers an idyllic waterfront location. The on-site restaurant serves international and local gourmet cuisine. All rooms are air-conditioned and feature a flat-screen TV with cable channels and a DVD player. They offer a refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. The private bathroom offers free toiletries, a hairdryer and a shower. Towels and linen are provided. A Continental breakfast WiFi / internet access is included. Located in Nukualofa, Seaview Lodge is just 500 metres from The Royal Palace, and 800 metres from the City Centre, where guests can enjoy a variety of shops, markets, and cafes. Surrounded by tropical gardens, Seaview Lodge features a Restaurant and a Bar. An array of activities can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings, including cycling and canoeing. The property offers free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Seaview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Nuku Alofa
Seaview Lodge Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing