We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 bedroom deluxe apartment”
Review of Lagoon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lagoon Lodge
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2 bedroom deluxe apartment”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Lagoon Lodge. I have to be honest, we didnt get off to a good start as when we arrived at 1pm our apartment was not ready to check in to.
We waited around the resort for the best part of an hour or more and after at least 2 phone calls to the guests (who were still up in the apartment) they finally started to pack their stuff & get ready to leave. When I questioned why they had not checked out yet, I was advised they were there for the royal wedding (big deal, and I would care why??) I basically went up to the apartment to give the (late checkoutees) the hurry up as the staff at the lodge didn't seem to have control of this situation and we also wanted to drop our bags & get changed out of our winter clothing into something more appropriate for the warmer Tonga climate.
The apartment was in a state & still required cleaning, changing beds etc. We left & when we returned 3 hours & some later, it was all in order, except their was no gas and we couldn't seem to get the tv working, but that aside the rest was in order & really this was just a place to rest our heads.
I spoke to some of the other guests around the Lodge who also had problems with late check in, no gas etc.
Although I am not one to generally complain about these little teething issues, I guess I was most disappointed with the lack of apology and not even an offer of a complimentary bottle of water for our inconvenience. Given that we paid a decent amount for this accommodation, I would have thought at the very least they may have done this.

Other than that, this is a good quiet location, not too far from the city centre. The apartment has a kitchen which is an added bonus if you want to prepare your own food, as food in Tonga can be quite costly. One of the bedrooms in the deluxe 2 bedroom apartment didn't have curtains & it would be good if it did. Unfortunately Lunna Rossa Restaurant was closed both Saturday & Sunday night when we were there, although the location of this on site would be handy for guests who are around when the restaurant is open.,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My family spent 8 nights at the Lagoon Lodge. I think this is the most convenient accomodation to suit every need - there are cooking facilities, laundry, iron, lounge and a separate bedroom, sky TV and DVD player for the entertainment. We were pleased to be able to cook breakfast for ourselves and save some money as we found it very expensive to dine out, plus the quality of food in Tonga is not always satisfactory. Staff is very helfull and very friendly eager to give hand whenever its needed! Thanks very much!
It could get a little bit noisy during the night with dogs barking and a rooster crowing in the morning but apart from that it is a good value for money accomodation.

Room Tip: All delux apartments are on the top floor with a beatiful views on the Lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is the best accommodation in Tonga!
The first night we got there the security guard greeted us with a smile and helped us settle into our room, we were well informed of our room arrangements (breakfast and time reception opens next morning). Very professional. The Location was ideal, It's in the city but away from the busy noisy city life, hidden away on an estate where grounds are immaculate greenery wide space of grass and palm trees overlooking the beautiful lagoon and outer islands, truly romantic in the mornings and evenings. They have Yoga lessons ($10 paanga) on Monday mornings on the wide open grass space, and it’s marvellous in the morning, total serene, the stillness of the lagoon and the open fresh air against your face - priceless.
An added bonus was having Lunna Rossa Restaurant there on site, some evenings when we couldn’t be bothered cooking, or the kids were fast asleep, we would step out just across from our room to the restaurant and enjoy some drinks and great company from the owners, Ana and Marco and their staff. The food is better than the other Italian restaurants we've been to in the island (waterfront n lil italy). Lunna Rossa service and portions are more generous. The entree soup to to die for, so yummmmy, and my husband’s favourite "the best steak" on the Island with mushroom sauce, and my favourite is the Sashimi. Pricing is average for Tongan restaurants standard, this is worth it as it is generous in servings and you'll be so full by the end of the night. Great food, company and atmosphere!!
Cleanliness and service of this establishment was excellent, you can always count on coming back in the arvos to a clean room and clean towels. The honesty and beautiful smiles from Nipa and all staff made our stay feel like we were home. Thank you for accommodating our family and making our stay a pleasant, happy and memorable one, keep up the great work!
ofa atu,
Malieta n family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charsaita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My partner and I recently visited Tonga for a romantic holiday. Though tonga is beautiful, we found the first half of our stay, up on the north west side of the island a bit inconvenient. Staying at the Lagoon Lodge, however, was absolutely perfect. If you want personal service and a place that's welcoming and comfortable and clean with fresh towels and sheets daily, then I would definitely recommend a stay there. It's situated close to the ferry terminal and was perfect for taking day trips out to the islands for snorkling, which is something also well worth doing! The staff are fantastic with organising activities and anything else you may need. Of the 3places we stayed, we'd both feel good about recommending the Lagoon Lodge as the best! Service was awesome! Thanks Lesieli and the rest of the team. Sam.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamFineberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonLodgeTonga, Manager at Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Malo e Lelei Sam,

Friendly greetings from Tongatapu Island!

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. We are very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that we were of help in making your visit to Tonga comfortable.

The team are excited to hear your feedback and look forward everyday to welcoming our guests to their home in Tonga.

We all wish you a pleasant weekend!

Best wishes,

Lesieli Vete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our whanau were greeted with a warm smile from the lovely receptionist 'Nipa' who was able to accomodate an extra 2 of us without too much fuss. This to us was a 'blessing' as this was our first trip to Tonga. We had our son (4yrs) with us, and he totally felt relaxed at this Lagoon Lodge. Our whanau stayed for 6 relaxing nights. Despite a visit from a large spider, we managed to remain relaxed. We dined at the 'Lunarosa'Restaurant, where we had the wonderful professional service from 'Cia. We had a great time, and even had a brief visit from our whanau wedding party who also enjoyed the tranquility of the Lodge. Nipa was very helpful, and we appreciate the effort and hospitality given to us by her and all the staff. They became like whanau to us.
Here's a big 'Kia Ora, and Thank you to all the team there! from us(NZ)" Watch this space... "

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LitaM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonLodgeTonga, Manager at Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Malo e Lelei Lita,

Kia Ora from your Tongan whanau! Thank you kindly for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Tonga. Nipa and the team are very pleased to read that your family felt relaxed, especially your little one. They would like to send you their regards and also from Cia at Lunarossa.

We hope you enjoyed Tonga!

Malo and best wishes,

Lesieli Vete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I spent 3 wonderful days at the Lagoon Lodge last summer. When I got into this place, I was given a warm welcome by the staffs at the reception and shown in my room. The room provided a nice view of the lagoon. The room was clean and had all the necessary facilities in it. There was free internet too. Since I always carry my laptop with me, it was of use to me. The staffs were genuinely interested in my comfortable stay at this lodge. I could see in the efforts they took. I felt as if I am with my close relatives whenever I was with them. Their care and warmth impressed me a lot. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelovelygirl0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonLodgeTonga, Manager at Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Malo e Lelei The Lovely Girl,

Breezy greetings from the Lagoon Lodge!

We are happy to hear that you felt at home and a part of the family during your stay in Tonga. We look forward to welcoming you back to your Tongan home when you next visit the Friendly Islands.

Thank you kindly.

Malo and regards,

Lesieli Vete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

When we arrived we were greeted by an extremely friendly receptionist and assistant (Lesieli and Nipa). Straightaway we felt welcome. We asked if we could be upgraded, we got a room with a huge balcony and great view of the lagoon. They told us that we had free Internet, and TV a bonus! The suites are basic, but were adequately set up with what we needed. First night our bed was too hard so we told Lesieli next morning and her team changed it to another one. Everyday we were asked if they could help us with daily activities in which we were told of places to visit etc. Information was so helpful and even down to taxi fares. We were not bothered by insects in our room as we had screen doors closed all the time. We did hear the roosters, the dogs barking and the church bells but that was okay for us. In NZ you get party noise and dogs barking as well. The Lagoon is unswimmable but a day trip that we had to one of the remote island beaches was far better. We visited all the places of interest via taxi (Organised day trip). Whilst driving around the island we were affected of what we saw. Most of the people have nothing but they still can smile.
The friendly and helpful staff and the price are worth it if on a tight budget.
Also, One of us was sick for 3 days, and Lesieli and team made sure we were comfortable and if she could get anything for us. They made doctor appts and even phoned in to check how we were on their day off.
Tonga is not all Paradise but Lagoon Lodge beats alot of what we saw around the island

Room Tip: Top floor, balcony with views, air cond
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 255108Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonLodgeTonga, Manager at Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Malo e Lelei Carolyn,

Warm and friendly greetings from Tonga!

We are happy to note that you will be back to share your time in Tonga with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in friendly islands.

The team are smiling as they read your review and are pleased that you found us to be helpful. We hope that you have fully recovered and are back in good health.

Thank you for visiting our little island home and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Malo and kind regards,

Lesieli Vete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuku'alofa hotels
0.0 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
0.0 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#7 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Pearl Suites
The Black Pearl Suites
#6 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loumaile Lodge
Loumaile Lodge
#8 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Lodge

Property: Lagoon Lodge
Address: 'Umusi | Ma'ufanga, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Fangakakau Lagoon, only five minutes drive from Nuku’alofa Town is a peaceful and scenic home for you in Tonga. Whether you are traveling alone or with family and friends, the Lagoon Lodge provides accommodation for short term and long term visitors on business or leisure.Check into a standard apartment or a suite apartment and enjoy the gorgeous views of the lagoon in the afternoons with a hot cup or a cold beverage on the lawn. If you’re fond of fishing and watching the sunset, lines are available for a local mullet catch which you can toss on an open fire by the water. Prepare your favourite dishes in your apartment or taste Marco’s tantalizing Italian infused cuisine at Lunarossa Restaurant – his sashmi dish is a must try! For twelve years, Marco has tickled taste buds locally and from abroad with his secret flavours.We look forward to welcoming you to Tonga and to sharing our hospitality with you during your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Hotel Nuku`Alofa
Lagoon Lodge Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing