We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Friendly Islands & the friendly guesthouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Noa Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Noa Guest House
Ranked #4 of 22 Nuku'alofa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Friendly Islands & the friendly guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this guest house. The staff were all wonderful hosts, going above and beyond the call of duty. It was my first time to Tonga, and their hospitality helped make my stay a pleasant experience. Many thanks!

Room Tip: If you're on a budget, upstairs with a ranchslider door, gets a good breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    44
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
31
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

You pay for what you get.

- Good location.
- service is great, super friendly. They make you feel like family (this is what makes the stay worth it)
- If you're happy to stay in easy conditions than this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Since this was our first trip to the Kingdom, we did not know what to expect but the warmth,hospitality of Mr & Mrs Mote and the staff of Noa's Guesthouse captivated us. Their ever smiling faces and friendliness is a true testimony to the Kingdom of Tonga being called the "Friendly Isles". Since we were travelling on a budgeted trip,the accommodation was more than we expected. After day-out in town under the hot scorching sun we were always looking forward to coming back to relax in the sanctuary of our privacy with its large comfortable bed and the coolness of the room. The location was convenient with its close proximity to town and we were always looking forward to relax and unwind every evening at the famous Noa's Bar and Restaurant with its prices being the best in town..:D. We departed the Kingdom with alot of fond memories of this place and will surely recommend it to our friends here in Fiji who are planning to take a trip down to the Kingdom of Tonga,but for us this has been and will always be a home away from home.

Vinaka vakalevu and Malo a'pito.
Best regards,
EDWARD & CAVEN

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The room was large and comfortable, with airconditioning. The bathroom wasn't spectacularly clean but wasnt filthy either, could have used an extra couple minutes of cleaning thats all. Nice location close to town and the waterfront. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was massive. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I chose this guesthouse after reading so many positive reviews, but was sorely disappointed. The room was dirty, the bathroom smelled terrible, and we had to ask a number of times for someone to bring us towel and toilet paper. The kitchen was also very dirty. We stayed again on our last night in Tonga after travelling to other islands, thinking we'd give it another try with a different room. This time we had ants in our bed. I didn't find the staff very helpful or friendly, and I've travelled all over the world. I would not recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdhanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

"Noa guest house is your Tongan home" is a well fitted description. My stay in Tonga was extremely comfortable and very pleasant. Noa guest house is only a few minutes walk away from the centre of downtown Nuku'alofa where you have many restraunts, cafe's and bars to choose from, but far enough to escape into a world of quiet.
The Staff at Noa guest house were amazing and incredibly friendly which made my stay so much more pleasant. I felt like I was visiting long lost family due to the friendliness of the staff. The amneties were up to standard and the bed I slept in was very comfortable. I honestly could say that I haven't slept so well in a very long time. The bed sheets and pillow cases were crisp and white and the view from my windows were amazing. It was more than what I expected and I'm grateful I chose to stay there. I will definitely be staying there again if I visit Tonga again and I recommend Noa guest house to everyone. This is by far the best value for money. Thank you Nana and Mote for being amazing.
Eliza

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have stayed at a few places in Tonga, this was my second trip. Noa's guest house staff were very welcoming and friendly, they made you feel comfortable and at home. The rooms and bathrooms are large with standard amenities including a small fridge, T.V and bed/bedroom furniture, but with the additional benefits of the much needed air conditioning and room fan.
The staff were always available and more than happy to help/assist with directions, with washing and extra towels were available to take swimming. Noa's provides scooters for day hire, there was no time limit on these which was great if you wanted to stop back at your room and head off again for a night ride or for dinner. The scooters were the best way to travel around Tonga, especially in the warm weather, you can get a local map from any café and stop along the way and ask for directions. The daily scooter higher is very cheap and very cheap to fuel, all day driving around the island cost approx 5-8 Tongan dollars to refuel.

Noa's guest house is in a great location. I have previously stayed in an isolated resort which was hard to find transport to take you around and see Tonga, and you ended up having all your meals in the one place. Noa's guest house is walking distance to the heart of the city Nuku'alofa and with the scooters you can venture out and do the outta town sight seeing.
I would recommend Noa's guest house and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwallbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dayspring B&B Lodge
Dayspring B&B Lodge
#2 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
The Tropical Villa
The Tropical Villa
#6 of 22 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noa Guest House

Property: Noa Guest House
Address: Wellington Road | Kolomotu'a, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 676, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOA Guest House is your Tongan home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Noa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noa Guest House Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing