We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Noa Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Noa Guest House
Ranked #3 of 21 Nuku'alofa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have stayed at a few places in Tonga, this was my second trip. Noa's guest house staff were very welcoming and friendly, they made you feel comfortable and at home. The rooms and bathrooms are large with standard amenities including a small fridge, T.V and bed/bedroom furniture, but with the additional benefits of the much needed air conditioning and room fan.
The staff were always available and more than happy to help/assist with directions, with washing and extra towels were available to take swimming. Noa's provides scooters for day hire, there was no time limit on these which was great if you wanted to stop back at your room and head off again for a night ride or for dinner. The scooters were the best way to travel around Tonga, especially in the warm weather, you can get a local map from any café and stop along the way and ask for directions. The daily scooter higher is very cheap and very cheap to fuel, all day driving around the island cost approx 5-8 Tongan dollars to refuel.

Noa's guest house is in a great location. I have previously stayed in an isolated resort which was hard to find transport to take you around and see Tonga, and you ended up having all your meals in the one place. Noa's guest house is walking distance to the heart of the city Nuku'alofa and with the scooters you can venture out and do the outta town sight seeing.
I would recommend Noa's guest house and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwallbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    44
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
31
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Awesome stay at Noas friendly people always smiling and saying hello would come and talk to us, made us feel welcome and felt as if we were at home cheap affordable rooms nice and clean was super close to walk into town, very helpful, kind and sharing was nice to sit back and relax with a coconut drink and fresh fruit, we had a $75 room which didnt have aircon but once one of the staff talked to Mote about us changing to a bigger room with aircon was accepted and organised fast which was cool all round great atmosphere highly recommend will deffinately be staying again when we come back to tonga :) big ups to you guys at Noas all the way from Aotearoa (NZ)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caaasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our stay at noas place was welcoming. With fresh fruits stacked in the fridges n friendly workers who would treat u like a close friend. Myslf n my two other girl mates enjoyed our stay at noas guest house. Yes the standards of cleaning does require attention however you can't expect to get five star treatment at an average accommodation. Its Tonga n we must learn to experience such lifestyles :) overall I enjoyed. Would love to go back soon :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I am a pretty easy going guy, and don't expect much when I am travelling, but my experience at Noa's was so bad I felt like I had to share it.

So, after booking Noa's, based on the excellent trip advisor comments and based on the pictures on the website, I went ahead with the booking. I was excited to check in and to experience this 'amazing hospitality' as some of the reviews had mentioned. But, I arrived and was shown to my room. The cleaner grunted, pointed into the room and left. No welcome, no explanation of the amenities, where things are, breakfast times etc... The room (Private room) was incredibly expensive (120 TOP/70 AUD) for what was offered. The room was absolutely massive, but had a double bed, and a mis match of furniture. To be fair, the room had air conditioning and a ceiling fan. But, I went to check out the bathroom and was greeted by a very unfriendly smell. On further inspection, the bathroom was incredibly dirty. The room was right beside a rain water tank, and every time a guest turned their tap on, the rainwater tank hissed and screamed - a noise that was incredibly annoying in the few minutes that I was there...I was outraged that the photos on the website, clearly didn't match the photos of the property, especially of the 'lounge room' with the plush creme leather sofa. I felt so strongly about this, that I instantly checked out... Why this property is #1 for B&B's in Nuku'alofa is beyond me.

Do yourself a favour and stay away from Noa's Guesthouse....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trotteroftheworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much, we'll definitely stay again. The staff are very friendly, helpful and a true asset to the Noa's Guest House. The rooms come with style, comfort and amenities applicable... The location was excellent, close to Town and bus stops. Mote(Owner) was so understanding and very helpful especially his partner Nana. You made us feel at home and we appreciate everything you did for us whilst our stay here. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to Chillax and have a damn good time in the Kingdom......God bless always!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1983Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had a great time at Noa with the crew. Friendliest people in all Tonga. The Godfather (mote) will look after you and you are guaranteed to have a good time. The rooms are big and comfortable, breakfast is always a tasty treat. Nana goes out of her way to help and Leti is always a friendly face to have a chat to. Leo is my main man and he always go out of his way to make sure u have everything you need. Great people, Great place! If you go to Tonga and dont stay here than you are missing out on an amazing experience, I Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Its all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamati B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at Noas for a few nights in August and we loved it! The staff is very helpful, pleasant and polite - and they always offer you a coconut to drink (something I couldn't get enough of :-) Everytime we needed something or asked about some local things to do, Mote was always researching more information for us. The breakfasts were amazing, every day different type but mostly with fresh local fruit on the table. The place was nice and clean, room was big and whole atmosphere very comfortable. We really hope to be back! Thank you Mote & the whole Noa's staff, you made us feel like home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CopperbeechB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#7 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
0.0 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dayspring B&B Lodge
Dayspring B&B Lodge
#2 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keleti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noa Guest House

Property: Noa Guest House
Address: Wellington Road | Kolomotu'a, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 676, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOA Guest House is your Tongan home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Noa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noa Guest House Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing