We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast only”
Review of Seaview Lodge

Seaview Lodge
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Nuku'alofa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Hi there, I would love to review this restaurant, however its only listed on your site as a hotel and not restaurant, and as we didn't stay there didn't feel right in reviewing it as such. Hope you can help, cheers.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“breakfast only”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Was not able to experience the breakfast but what I saw on offer was average. Unfortunately i was not able to have lunch or dinner at the lodge.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joycelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice and easy”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you are staying in Nikulofa then this place is across the road from the port and ferry berths. The lodge is really nice. Good clean rooms with everything you need. A nice restaurant. Friendly staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carmen_gimpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Such fresh fish!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Probably the most expensive restaurant in Tonga, but well worth the price. Run by a German couple, this restaurant has some of the freshest fish I have had. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flair in the South Pacific”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed in the Seaview Lodge, so had the opportunity to use the restaurant on two evenings without the need to make a reservation (something I would recommend doing, if you are not a guest of the lodge).
It is open every evening except Saturday and can be classed as fine dining.
The menu makes the most of the region in the offerings of seafood and imports the highest quality steaks.
As everything is fresh, if it's a busy evening, be prepared that some items off the menu may run out! But in that case, make an earlier reservation next time!
I can highly recommend both the lobster soup and the scallops, which I had on different nights as my starter. Both were fresh and vibrant.
The steak ion my first night was cooked to perfection and the fish 'zingaru' (I think it was) last night (a fillet in a spicy tomato sauce) was superb.
An extensive selection of wine and a great location makes this a fantastic evening out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHC_Travel_Junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Not the cheapest restaurant, but their food is outstanding! We had the Gnocchi and blue cheese, with chicken both were world class. Would recommend this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaview Lodge also viewed

Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 

Been to Seaview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing