We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaview Lodge

Seaview Lodge
Ranked #12 of 34 Restaurants in Nuku'alofa
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Hi there, I would love to review this restaurant, however its only listed on your site as a hotel and not restaurant, and as we didn't stay there didn't feel right in reviewing it as such. Hope you can help, cheers.
Chatham Island (Rekohu), New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Quite expensive comparatively, and can be very hit and miss whether you get good service and food. I have had both very good and not so good experiences here

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mav055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    19
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wien
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best meat on the islands”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Austrian owner and chef Franz is providing European cuisine on a very good level at the end of the world where it is quite an effort to get together all those ingredients in proper quality - he manages to do so and this has got its price which is fair enough. We were so kindly invited to join the owner family for there Christmas dinner (although the restaurant was closed) and enjoyed together with them an Austrian Christmas dinner on Tonga. As we stayed at the Seaview Lodge as well we came three evenings for dinner (the biggest surprise was a typical very special Austrian regional pumpkin seed oil marinated salad; the meat he prepared was far above the meat we could get around the islands; also Austrian Kaiserschmarren he prepared as well as Wiener Schnitzel; we enjoyed Christmas like at home). The whole restaurant was so nicely decorated by Gudrun (Franz´ wife and the Soul of this place) for Christmas and even a present for our little one was lying under the Christmas tree. Thanks to you for this wonderful Christmas experience on Tongatapu and all the best for your business in future!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernd_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere man
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Overpriced, forget the lobster”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a white table cloth restaurant with excellent service and pretensions to fine dining. The eclectic dining room is crammed with Dutch antique lamps, old Tonga photos, shells and carvings, but sea views are limited to glimpses. It is by far the most expensive restaurant in town with mains around TOP60 – the cost of our meal for four could easily have fed a Tongan family for a month. Alas, the food didn’t live up to the prices. I went for the lobster in a Hungarian sauce, and my wife went for the same naturale. Neither of us could taste lobster. If I didn’t know better, I’d say it was chicken. I have since learnt not to order lobster in Nuku’alofa. You used to get great local lobster but it’s frozen, tasteless and/or imported. My sauce was good but the accompanying rice and salad were uninspiring. The food was hardly anything special, and way overpriced. I had better meals for a lot less elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thanksalotyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“pricey and watch the extras”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

i didn't stay there but my colleague did. she said that she paid top dollar for the room then had to pay for breakfast on top of that which took the total over the government allowed rate - which is in us dallars so shows how expewnsive it was.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GregMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Lovely room, lovley guests and lovely food. What more could you want! The seaview lodge was our first stop on our Tongan adventure and certainly set a high standard for the rest of the holiday. The room was clean and comfortable with a good view, the staff were very welcoming and the food was fantastic! The breakfast spread was really impressive; lots of fresh fruit and local produce. Dinner did not disappoint; beautiful fresh fish and lobster with very tasty accompaniments.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank louisejanewilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaview Lodge also viewed

Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 

Been to Seaview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing