We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
'Utu'one Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 20 Nuku'alofa B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a great B&B with excellent amenities, wireless internet, buffet breakfast and excellent and very friendly staff that are very willing to help. Bathrooms are across the hall but that's OK. Reasonably close to town to walk or TOP$5 in a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GerryChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
10
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The price of any basic hotel or B&B in Tonga is always going to be more than in Fiji or some other island countries. So value is relative, since what you pay here would get get you a much nicer place in another island country. Having said that, Utu'one is very clean, friendly and has many large open areas that make it feel comfortable. You share a bath and toilet though and when I stayed, although fairly clean, the showers needed repair (knobs actually fell off) and were very low pressure. Internet was free but was only good for basic emails. Staff were fairly helpful and friendly. I have stayed in worse places in Nuku'alofa - and paid more! - but as long as you know what to expect, this place is fine. It's convenient to a few good restaurants, but is otherwise a long hike into the main part of town (or a taxi ride).

Room Tip: Rooms near the harbour can be noisy at night if cargo ships are offloading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vatuvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, USA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Utu'one (the "one" is not pronounced as the number 1 but "oooneee") is the nicest B&B I have stayed in while visiting the Pacific islands. I stayed in a bottom floor middle range room (about US$65) and had my own bath (but across the hall). Includes a ceiling fan, a floor fan, a satellite TV, a refrigerator and nice table and wardrobe as well as a king sized bed. There is a pleasant veranda. Though called an "ocean view" room, really the ocean is hard to see through the bushes and past the highway but the breezes are surely there. The service is outstanding and the Air Pacific office at the front of the building to help with travel if needed. The breakfast was excellent and all in all I liked the place a lot. The clincher was free WiFi (though as with most Internet in Tonga, it was variable in quality and accessibility). I will be coming back to Tonga three more times this year and for sure this is where I will stay. If you stay more than a week, ask for a discount.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean, get a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We had 9 days in Tongatapu , My boyfriend and I decided to stay our entire trip in this beautiful B& B.
Our time in Tonga was complemented with the comfort of this beautiful place.
Celina & the girls that staff the lodge are incredibly helpful, friendly and go the extra mile to ensure your comfort. It is extremely clean, spacious and cant comment enough on the comfort, and very good rates. Our room and shared bathroom was cleaned daily, beds made, fresh towels, daily breakfast , inclusive of fruits and eggs, coffee tea etc. In the evenings you are able to use the kitchen to prepare your own meals , which was a plus.
Additionally the location of the lodge was really handy as it is only a 20 min walk into the 'town' area, flea market on saturday right opposite the lodge, a 5 minute walk from the port where boats leave to the near islands .
We sincerely strongly recommend this accommodation to anyone who would like to stay in the main island and receive value for your money.
We will definitely come back to the lodge once the pool has been built!! :-)

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 718DanielaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

After two terrible nights in another accommodation we found this lovely B&B in the same road, nearer to town, cheaper and with breakfast included.

The hosts were so welcoming when we first enquired and we booked in immediately.
They gave us helpful advice on things to do and see, in particular we flew to Eua Island which was was one of their recommendations. It was just what we needed.

I cannot rave on enough about the cleanliness and friendliness of the whole establishment. If you are in Tonga well worth booking in at Utu'one B&B

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Nina and her crew do a great job of making you feel at home in their tidy well thought out B & B.
It was a great setup for a group with a nice communial lounge upstairs and good breakfast facilities.

Utu One was in an excellent location for anyone serious about fishing. Being right across the road from the port made it an easy transfer to and from the boat on a regular basis.

It was a short distance to town or easy walking to good restraunts including the Billfish and the Emrald.

The service was good with clean sheets and freah towels daily and a nice breakfast including freash fruit and eggs.

I woudl recommend this to anyone who is fishing or wants to be close but not right in town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1811027Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Villa Ishadora
Villa Ishadora
#10 of 20 in Nuku'alofa
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Noa Guest House
Noa Guest House
#4 of 20 in Nuku'alofa
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dayspring B&B Lodge
Dayspring B&B Lodge
#2 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 'Utu'one Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 'Utu'one Bed and Breakfast

Property: 'Utu'one Bed and Breakfast
Address: Vuna Road | Ma’ufanga, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 'Utu'one Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a well-priced bed and breakfast with excellent value right in the thick of the action.Our central location makes it a short walk to a variety of cafes, bars, restaurants, local markets, banks, ATM machines and the wharf as well as our main town. Experience the “Faka Tonga” or “Tongan Way” with our Friendly staff and laid back charm. Just steps away from the Deep Blue Pacific, enjoy an afternoon or evening stroll on the fore shore while the breeze from the ocean gently blows your cares away.The UBB offers a variety of 9 spacious rooms with an ocean or garden view. Daily complimentary breakfast, Free WiFi and staff that are readily available to tend to your every need, makes your experience at UBB unlike any other. Each day you will begin to feel more like a welcomed guest in a friend’s home . . . . and that’s exactly what you become at ‘Utu’one Bed and Breakfast.So come and enjoy the tropical settings of lush foliage and palm trees at our waterfront accommodation, where time begins and stress is no more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 'Utu'one Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
'Utu'One Bed And Breakfast Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing