We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing food”

Waterfront Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Nuku'alofa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“amazing food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lobster spaghetti are amazing, wine list is ok, service is very good: better to book in advance because it is a very popular place and be ready to book a taxy if you do not have your car

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eur0peangl0betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    39
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go for the lobster!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

After reading reviews of many restaurants on tripadvisor, we decided to eat at our accommodation - the Waterfront Restaurant. I wanted a "lobster" experience, and that what I got! We both ordered lobsters, I had the lemon lobster, my wife the Asian flavoured lobster. Wow, huge and delicious! The menu seemed quite reasonably priced with decent with different food choices to order. Seafood, pastas, pizzas - plenty of choice. The big surprise was the dessert. The size of them was outrageous! I had profiteroles, they were almost the size of tennis balls and there was 5 of them on the plate. Despite my best efforts, I couldn't finish them. Tonga is not the culinary capital of the south pacific, but what you get here is good, honest, fresh food and pretty good value as well. Staff are attentive and friendly, nothing is a problem for them. Definitely worth putting on your list to eat at!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caveman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The meals at the Waterfront are huge and very good, The staff are very friendly and helpful and enjoy their jobs.

A very enjoyable night out, the wine was nice, the service was pleasant and the restaurant was clean

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service - great meal”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very good service, meals we had at the Waterfront were terrific and good value. Meal sizes were large and plentiful. Staff were very friendly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Watrefront”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I love Italian wine so it is great to get excellent Italian wine to match the very good food. Good coffee as well. Compliments a great place to stay

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethanne019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 

Been to Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing