We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Italy - Excellent”
Review of Little Italy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little Italy Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We highly recommend staying in this beautiful hotel .
The rooms are impeccable - clean, spacious, with the utmost attention to detail given in both design and comfort, and the same goes for the lobby and breakfast area There is parking and free internet access and also free use of bicycles - best way to get around the city! the staff are amazing , utterly professional, constantly attentive and always friendly.
Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnnyno6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 254 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is a little gem in the Pacific. Mele, Angelo & all the staff are unfailingly courteous, helpful and kind, but not intrusive. All areas of the hotel are scrupulously clean. Beds are really good quality and comfortable and the pillows are perfect. The Italian pasta and pizza dishes and salads at the Restaurant are very good indeed but some fish and meat dishes can be disappointing. I have stayed in both a Standard Room and an Ocean View Room. Standard Rooms are very small and somewhat cluttered, but for a one night stay, singles or for people who spend a lot of time outdoors, they are OK For business travellers, longer stays or for 2 people, Ocean View Rooms offer more space and comfort. Although I really love everything about Little Italy, room space is a priority for me and I would not stay there again if only a Standard Room were available. That said, I would be hard pressed to find anything in Nuku'alofa that comes even close to the charm, location and comfort provided by Little Italy. Nothing is too much trouble and the attention to detail is impeccable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woozy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I would like to make it clear we ate at the restaurant one night, but we did not stay here.

The quality of the food was not good. The flavours and consistency of the pizzas were hugely disappointing, in fact I would probably go so far as to say this was the second worst pizza I'd ever had, and my friends were no more impressed. Our waiter was new, we think, and had absolutely no clue about the role of a waiter. This wasnt for the want of trying, this young man certainly wanted to do it right, and you could see he had a pleasant disposition, he just hadnt been trained properly. At one point after the main course, because he hadnt cleared the plates away, we ended up pushing them all over to the other side of the large round table so we could try dessert. When he came over and we asked him to take them away for us, the italian boss (I think) came over and said to us in front of him "he hasnt got a clue what he is doing" which was unforgiveable. Oh, and dont order the tiramisu. Two of us did and said it was absolutely the worst they had ever tasted.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diveva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

It was my first time in Tonga and I had quite a long stay here (3 wks), and it was the lovely time in Little Italy. Warm heart services from everyone. Even though, I never stay in other place, but I don't think I will find other places lovely as here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Temboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Fantastic view of changing sea and reef. Great sea breezes. Friendly, flexible and attentive staff. Good food, with special requests often able to be accommodated.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceri5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Nice, comfortable hotel on the western end of Vuna Road. Good food and coffee, and rooms set up for business travellers ie desk and internet access.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We booked two rooms, one with an ocean view which was lovely looking out across our balcony to the sea. The room was very clean, not overly large but adequate with a very quiet and efficient air conditioning unit. The other room across the hall did not have a view but was of the same standard.The walk to the town was approximately 10-15 mins along the waterfront. We dined in the restaurant on a number of occasions, the menu catered for everyone with great pizzas! The service everywhere was superb would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DoraNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
1.1 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
0.4 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Loumaile Lodge
Loumaile Lodge
#10 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
94 reviews
0 mi away
The Black Pearl Suites
The Black Pearl Suites
#6 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
48 reviews
5.5 mi away
Keleti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Italy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Italy Hotel

Address: Vuna Road | Kolomotu'a, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Italy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Italy Hotel offers 22 rooms, all with a different theme blend of Italian style and Tongan cultures surrounded by the warmth of the South Pacific, providing everything you need under one roof. Ocean view rooms have a private balconies with sensational views overlooking the Pacific Ocean make these rooms extremely popular. The hotel features a well-known Italian restaurant offers authentic Italian cuisine, beef fillet steak, lobster, fish and poultry. A great range of rental cars at very competitive prices, Kayaking and Shuttle for Airport transfers & tours. The Royal Palace is just 1 km away, CBD and Talamahu Market is a 20-minute walk or less than 3 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little Italy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel And Restaurant
Little Italy Hotel Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing