We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutly outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Italy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little Italy Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutly outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I spent ten days of fantastic time there.Everybody we came in contact with was so friendly and helpful, nothing was an issue.
The food was "out of this world". We have been married fortythree years and HE has never eaten Pizza, we had it four times,,, what more can I say.I don,t hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and others.
Thank you everybody......

Room Tip: Ocean view has to be the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chevy1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    83
    39
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
82
29
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were treated as though we were the most special people. We've been around the Pacific and can tell you emphatically that this is one of the best places we've stayed.

*staff are very helpful nothing is too much trouble.

*free full breakfast is good and enough to choose from including fresh fruit juice, ham and bacon.

*Updated clean rooms and nicely decorated. We had looked in other rooms which all have different themed. Angelo and Meleseini are friendly and accomodating owners so ask them for a rooms tour, my wife loved best the honeymoon and the floral rooms.

*free Internet - good speed and unlimited, we paid FJ$26 per 24hrs internet in a Nadi Resort.

*Best Italian Restaurant Onsite, good selection of Italian beers and wines. You don't need to break piggy to eat here, very reasonable prices menu.

*Location is fantastic, located in a residential area "Kolomotu'a" the most popular town in Tonga. Our tour guide was telling us some very interesting stories about this town. Great view of the Pacific Ocean from balcony and restaurant.

We thought the price we paid was very reasonable for what the hotel offered. We have great memories of Little Italy and good friends. We are very happy overall and wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MULGOGI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four days while on a business trip to Tonga. Previous reviews had warned of 'basic rooms' and average service but I found the rooms to be good with homely touches. The staff were helpful but not overly focused on the clients. The rooms facing the ocean are the best but if you have one facing the other direction the nice seating out the front will enable you to enjoy Tonga during the lovely evenings there after work.

In terms of the Pacific, this place is well above average and would compare favourably to places in Fiji. It's great asset is the level of cleanliness which is essential when you are travelling and want to be able to rest in you bed or just relax in the room.

Breakfast is basic but adequate for a start to the day. The restaurant is really good and you would be able to eat there regularly in the evenings without getting dull on the food.

There is walking track out the front to allow you to walk towards the town centre or the other way and enjoy this lovely city and its people.

Room Tip: If you can get one facing the water then you will enjoy the visit even more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karta_Mita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I returned for the second time to Tonga and Little Italy I was greeted by name after not being there for 8 months. The staff is the best time and time again. I was jet lag very bad and almost missed dinner on Sunday night and they call up to my room to check on me and they stay late to take care of me.
Rooms are clean and the view is great .

Stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarynB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed February 2013. In terms of managing expectations - the rooms are quite basic and wouldn't want to spend much time in them - but hotel is clean and competitive for the local market. View is over water, when I stayed it was marred by complimentary rusted cargo vessel which ran aground at some point. Hotel can't do much about that. Food is very good and plentiful. Staff excellent, very warm and very responsive to requests. Can take a coffee press from reception and make your own coffee. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at Little Italy Hotel in Nuku'alofa with my partner in August 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel was well-located with a lovely waterfront view and was a three minute drive to the centre of town or a 10 to 15 minute walk. We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking residential properties. The room had everything we needed with a good bathroom, comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities. The TV and aircon worked well.

All the staff were lovely and very helpful with any questions we had. Lovely welcome and lovely smiles from all the staff whenever we saw them. Especially the lovely Tongan lady who seemed to run the restaurant - amazing service. Even when we were just about to leave for the airport and were waiting for the shuttle, she rushed down to make sure we hadn't forgotten some items we had left in the room which we had left to be disposed. Excellent attention to detail.

We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant each day (except Sunday) and this included continental and cooked options, all which were very good. The buns were quite different but interesting to try! As many things are closed on Sundays, including the restaurant for breakfast, on the Saturday night a very cute lunchbox was delivered for each of us with a selection of continental breakfast items including juice.

We ate at the restaurant for dinner a number of times - the food was excellent - both the pizza and other options. The Mexican-style pizza was great! We also took the hotel shuttle to and from the airport which was very good in a modern van.

If I was visiting Nuku'alofa again I would definitely stay at Little Italy again however would pay the extra to get an oceanview room with balcony - they looked great. The lovely staff were the main appeal with this hotel and I would definitely recommend it to others.

TIP: When taking taxis in Tonga - set the price before you get into the car. The trip into town from the hotel was usually $5.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BMWLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have just returned to stay here after a few months and was greeted by name and with a huge smile and genuine warmth. This was followed by welcomes in the restaurant and really attentive service along with good food. A pleasure to be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Learnfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.4 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#8 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
9.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
9.2 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Italy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Italy Hotel

Property: Little Italy Hotel
Address: Vuna Road | Kolomotu'a, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Phone Number:
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Italy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Italy Hotel offers 22 rooms, all with a different theme blend of Italian style and Tongan cultures surrounded by the warmth of the South Pacific, providing everything you need under one roof. Ocean view rooms have a private balconies with sensational views overlooking the Pacific Ocean make these rooms extremely popular. The hotel features a well-known Italian restaurant offers authentic Italian cuisine, beef fillet steak, lobster, fish and poultry. A great range of rental cars at very competitive prices, Kayaking and Shuttle for Airport transfers & tours. The Royal Palace is just 1 km away, CBD and Talamahu Market is a 20-minute walk or less than 3 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Little Italy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel And Restaurant
Little Italy Hotel Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing