We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yikes! But Great French Restaurant and Decent Chinese Restaurant.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Honiara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Honiara Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Honiara
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yikes! But Great French Restaurant and Decent Chinese Restaurant.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Checked into Hotel. Was given the room with a view on top of the hill. But the "thing-which-is-the-lift" was not working so I gave up and asked for a room on the first floor... Plus it was a bit creepy up there.

Room was much smaller. But at least I don't have to climb a small hill just to get to my room.
Toilet is just a sink, potty and the shower. You have to turn on the shower on for about 10-15 minutes before you get spurts of hot water. :)

Best thing about this hotel is that although the rooms are very very old, the restaurants are good. The French restaurant serves up great food! There is this french guy cooking in an open kitchen and you can see him slicing stuff and pan frying your dinner and all that. Very yummy.

I would not stay here again. But I would come for the food.

Room Tip: If the "thing-which-is-the-lift" is working and you have a group, go the the rooms with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeowkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
2
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

There must have been one day when this hotel was the hype place to be, maybe, but certainly not anymore. Everything is tacky, behind kitsch, the staff is nice but not quite good, the rooms? If you like fighting with cockroaches coming out of the bath tube when you shower, then the hotel is for you. Everything is falling appart, exempt the numerous portraits of the queen of England!

Room Tip: Don't even try the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benoist C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honiara hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's as though a Pacific Island version of the Overlook hotel (ref: The Shining) was vomited on by a late 70s Surfers Paradise Motel developer. It has all the modern conveniences like wicker furniture, fake palm trees, fiberglass sculptures of mermaids and dolphins, and 1920's chandeliers, and it is charming for all those things alone. In its day was no doubt a premier place, but those days are slipping away. And I think it needs a lot of maintenance to revive.

Unfortunately cheap renovations (using cheap building materials) and even cheaper room amenities like nylon towels and showers that needle you worse than a high school bully, preclude it from becoming somewhere I want to return to any time soon. It's also a rambling and huge place that is quite far from town, and has been added onto and onto and then joined together with concrete paths and ponds and stairs and landscape gardening.

But daggy style and shoddy towels is not a good enough reason to totally reject a place, so here are my real (and some may say petty) reasons for not wanting to return:
I was in a 'newer' room which seemed finished, but was not 'finished' if you know what I mean. The sheets were dated even by aunt Muriel standards, the bathroom was a bit ick, and had a shower curtain. Yuck, I hate them. The hot water lasted about two minutes after you waited 6 to receive it. The wi-fi router was so far away that the internet flaked out most of the time (not good if you're a junkie like me). And worst of all, the toilet paper was the weird kind that is sort of like grey crepe paper. But before you claim I'm a spoiled brat, I should say that I'm more than happy to tolerate any of those things at a backpackers or average motel, but the room was actually close to AU$200 per night. So in terms of value, I don't really think it rated.

There were some good things, though. I had one of the best steaks of my life in the French restaurant (definitely go there, even if you don't stay there), and have the steak with Crayfish tail. But don't bother with the Chinese restaurant where the waitress just couldn't be bothered interpreting the specials from Pinyin to English - even though it was a case of asking her boss a few metres across the room. The food was okay - but I wouldn't go back.

The service staff were lovely, the beer was cold (love Sol Brew), and they have made-to-order breakfast (recommend the Spanish omelette). The pool is also really good (great for lap swimming). And hey, the quirky, mixed style of the place is highly endearing if nothing else.

So if you are in Honiara, do it for a couple of nights to experience the kitsch discomfort value, or just come for the food, but really, stay somewhere else if you can.

Room Tip: Request a newer room, but not too far away from the main building if you want internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dorianscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

As with the other reviewer's comments, make sure you get a room in the newer wings of the HH or you'll be spending your nights in a dank and musty room with the resident cockroaches and a mould collection only a mycologist (person who studies fungi) would love. Although I talk about a newer wing, these rooms are still old and tired and not at all inviting unless you can't find alternative accommodation in Honiara.

Although the staff are friendly and the food is reasonably priced for Honiara standards, this is a place that had its heyday in the 70's and 80's and no money has been put into its upkeep since. You will also get extremely fit or break your neck climbing the snail infested steps each day from the reception to the room.

I am being kind by calling the Honiara Hotel average.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the ocean I believe are the newer ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I always LOVE my stay at Honiara hotel before I fly to the village. Being half caste I get to see the other sides of solo that tourists don't. I'm grateful for their showers, clean beds & actual mattresses, actual toilets. Lol. Air conditioning, delicious cheap restaurants - it's not even far from town - maybe a 10 minute walk...close to the hospital & the bus stop. It really does feel like heaven to me after staying in my local village. I have no complaints whatsoever :) love Honiara hotel almost feels like a second home whenever I go back to solo :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KeruT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Had a self-contained room in the new wing. Room looks great (resort like) during the day, with oven, flat screen tv and other appliances, save for a washer. However when night falls, the dimness in the room makes u imagine all sorts of creepy crawlies and scary stuff.

Wifi was also weak in the room. Be sure to choose a room in the new wing closer to the main building.

However, the lady at the reception provided really good service, putting up with all sorts of requests from my group to change room. Very friendly and accommodating.

Great apple pie at the Cafe Haviana!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Veeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The rooms are very average, but at least they have air-conditioning! No wifi access in half the hotel (make sure you get new-wing if it matters) and the curtains let the light into your room all night from the outside hallway. Very nice pool and bar, and check-in staff are good

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trueman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiara
0.0 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 7 in Honiara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
0.0 mi away
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanalae Apartments
Sanalae Apartments
#3 of 7 in Honiara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imagination Island
Imagination Island
#2 of 3 in Gizo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gizo Hotel
Gizo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gizo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honiara Hotel

Property: Honiara Hotel
Address: PO Box 4, Honiara, Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands
Location: Solomon Islands > Guadalcanal Island > Honiara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Honiara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Honiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing