We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Solomon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$212
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Honiara Hotel(Honiara)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Penthouse(Honiara)(Great Value!)
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
100
134
71
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
134
71
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable carking solomonpizzahome away from homehigh commissionin towncafe next doorgizo hotelbar and restaurantfun place to staybamboo barnoodlesair conditioningbaked beansbreakfast buffetlive musicrooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 330 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Looking at the reviews here on tripadvisor it seems like a good hotel. I bet some of them have been written by the hotel's manager :) The truth is that this hotel is well over its "best before" date. I had a standard room. The rooms are worn and a bit dirty, towels have stains on them, 20 years old AC makes alot of noise and the tap was running constantly in the bathroom. I have seen hotels much worse than this but I would not stay there again if I have a choice. Its address at Mud Alley should give you a fair warning of what to expect. After two nights I moved to the Kitano Mendana. It is not the best hotel in the world, but it is much cleaner, has a location straight on the beach and feels like an oasis in dusty Honiara. Staff have much better attitude too. Cost about 20 % more than King S. Hertiage Park is also nice but prices are much higher there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Priit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons123, Manager at King Solomon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Thank you for staying at The King Solomon Hotel, Hibiscus Avenue, Honiara and we appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

We apologise for the less than satisfactory experience you have indicated in your review.
In response to your comments, our standard rooms have recently undergone complete renovations. New towels, bedding, bathroom and electrical fittings have all been imported from Australia. These improvements can be observed in the new photos posted. Please be assured that all of our Trip Advisor reviews are from genuine guests. We do hope you will stay with us again to experience these upgrades.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,

King Solomon Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Have not stayed at the King Solomon since a visit here in 1999! Back then it was pretty much a hole and that was the reason I did not go back! I walked past the hotel last trip in April and it looked OK so I thought I would give it a go!
The rooms are fine, if all you want is somewhere to sleep! They are clean and the bed is comfortable, the bathroom is clean and quite large. The "solar" hot water in the bathroom, would seem to be OK, as long as you shower before 6.30 am! Any time after that the water is tepid at best and quite chilly around 7.30 when everyone is trying to bathe!
This hotel is built on the side of a hill and has what some would call a "quaint" cable car to travel up to the room levels. My room was halfway up the side of the hill, a total of around 100 steps when walking! Often the small cable car is in use by staff and it is much quicker to use the stairs. This hotel would NOT be suitable for anyone with walking difficulties, nor would they cater for people with disabilities! In my case I walk anyway so it was quite a boon to my calf workout!
The big, even HUGE, drawback of this hotel is the food, both in quality and, beleive it or not, availability! Breakfast, as such, is no charge, which sounds quite good! But, when the hotel is not making extra money from the breakfast, they do not take any care or imagination, with the food presented. There are "warm" dishes in the Bain Marie, but if you get to the restaurant after 7 or 7.15 am, there is not much left! I had toast and/or fresh fruit every morning. There was 2 choices for cold drinks, water or lime juice. Every morning it was exactly the same!
At lunchtime, the restaurant is closed and you have to go to the bar/restaurant next door. This is not sign posted, you actually have to ask where can we go to eat! On 2 days even that place was not open for lunch!
Dinner at the restaurant on one day was excellent, a full buffet, with cultural show (Thursday) at a large cost! Friday, there was some sort of "Happy Hour" or Happy Night" and there was so much noise from the bar that I did not venture to the restaurant but decided to have room "service". According to the hotels own facilities register, there is room service available, from the full menu at the restaurant! According to the restaurant all that was on the menu for Friday was pizza! That was it!
On Sunday I rang the front desk to ask if the restaurant was open for lunch! No sorry! Is the bar next door open for lunch? "No sorry! If you go to the pool bar, you can buy a hot dog" where can I get some food for lunch please? "If you want to eat lunch you should go to another hotel"
And that seems to be the attitude of this hotel. We are planning a group visit to Honiara next year for the Pacific Cultural Festival and you can bet we would not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay at this hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Staying at King Solomon hotel while we were recently at Honiara was comfortable. The hotel was quite gorgeous and provides amazing views. The room was quite modern, spacious, clean and comfortable. The air conditioning was good. The bathroom was clean with necessary facilities. Fresh flowers are often replaced in the vase by the maids. There is internet facility too. The hotel’s location is good. The staffs were efficient, attentive and helpful. The pool area is nice. I and my wife had a relaxing time at the pool. The breakfast was fine. We loved our stay here. We would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rchristopher735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The King Solomon hotel is one of the cheaper places to Stay in Honiara. We stayed in a Standard room for SBD800 per night.
Unique feature:
Beautiful foyer with traditional sugar palm leaf roof, gorgeous carvings and furniture in restaurant. One feels like one is in the Solomon Islands;
You take a cable car to get to your room
Positives:
Small but tropical style pool with bar
Room has flyscreens on windows which is great as we don't like to sleep with air-conditioning. No mosquitoes means no malaria.
Room was clean, mattress was comfortable
Negatives:
Air-conditioning in our room blew warm air so we turned it off and turned on the fans.
Old TV and hard to watch as the movie playing had 2 languages over the top of one another plus subtitles.
Bathroom grouting had some mould on it
Toilet smelled
Bathroom and towels not the cleanest.
Rooms need upgrading
Breakfast not very good. Suggest: For breakfast go next door to the bamboo hut (closed on weekends). We enjoyed Pizzas at the Raintree cafe (has ocean view)
Honiara: is very dirty and not taken care of. The outer islands on the other hand are beautiful. Suggest to stay at Fat Boys (near Gizo) and Zipolo Habu Resort (near Munda).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sweetnessoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons123, Manager at King Solomon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Thank you for the detailed feedback following your recent stay at the King Solomon Hotel, Honiara, we are delighted that you appreciated our carvings, foyer, the hotel bar and swimming pool.

At the King Solomon Hotel, we pride ourselves on the product & service we offer to our guests and it seems on this occasion you were not satisfied and for this we apologise.

Please do note that our standard rooms have recently undergone a complete upgrade. These improvements can be seen in the new photos posted.

Our rooms now have 32" flatscreen TVs, with clear digital Australian channels, new airconditioners, new bathroom fit-outs and new linen/towels imported from Australia. We believe you would be impressed with the recent upgrades and do hope you will stay again at the King Solomon Hotel to appreciate these improvements.

Also please note that due to popular demand the King Solomon's cafe, the Bamboo Bar, is now open on Saturdays.

Thank you one again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

King Solomon Hotel Managemnet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stay here quite regularly, rooms clean , bar friendly, cable car to room fun!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PommyErrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons123, Manager at King Solomon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. It is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again at the King Solomon Hotel.
Best Regards,
Kind Solomon Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews