We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Hakubai Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Honiara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Japanese Restaurant. You can eat sushi, sashimi, sukiyaki....
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place is a must. Remember, there is a lot more to Japanese food than just raw fish! Best meal of our stay in Honiara!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2006TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    43
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mmmm....”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

For a third world country, this restaurant serves up some very good Japanese food. The food generally was high quality but I didn't enjoy everything. The service can be slow when this restaurant was crowded on a Saturday night. Book ahead for the weekend. Much better and quicker service during the week.

A good tip is that the it is possible to order from the adjoining restaurant if someone doesn't like Japanese. Conversely it is possible to order Japanese at the other restaurant at the hotel.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kressley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great japanese”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Have eaten there for a couple of years, always clean and the food authentic. The staff are attentive and the restaurant is clean. Popular with expats

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 629SusanS629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Comedy of errors”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I cannot give this a good rating. To start with, there was no water in the bathroom and the electricity cut out a couple of times with absolutly no reaction from the staff. I can't comment about the food, as I never got any, my 3 friends did but were not excited by it. I had ordered Sushi, my friends received their meals, I watched them eat for 15 minutes when my Prawn Tempura arrived. I explained I had ordered Sushi to which I was told 1. no I hadn't, 2 it is not on the menu today, 3 it needs to be ordered a day in advance, none of this was mentioned either on the menu nor by the waitress. So they took the Tempura and that was the end!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank magdita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great Japanese restaurant in Honiara”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Halubai is a great Japanese restaurant and in the context of the operating environment in Honiara it is fantastic. The real gems are the sashimi and the assorted tempura. The sashimi is very fresh. The dishes are large and generous portions. The beef tepanyaki is also very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JEAN MARC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakubai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Honiara, Guadalcanal Island
Honiara, Guadalcanal Island
 
Honiara, Guadalcanal Island
Honiara, Guadalcanal Island
 
Honiara, Guadalcanal Island
Honiara, Guadalcanal Island
 

Been to Hakubai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing