We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Honiara
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location; friendly staff”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had the good fortune to once again visit the Heritage Park hotel in August. The hotel location is fabulous; right on the water. We had a room on the third floor overlooking the ocean and it was sooooo relaxing. The noise from the neighbouring Kokonut Cafe seems to have been dealt with and there were no noise problems. You can easily walk into town from the hotel. The staff are one of the best assets of Heritage Park. They are always welcoming and smiling those lovely Solomon Island smiles. The hotel rooms are clean and well appointed and the hotel has good airconditioning, a must for this climate. The hotel has good variety of food across three restaurants, but my favourite is Splash Bar, beside the pool and overlooking the ocean. The seafood is always delicious. The new Club HP is a good addition to the venues at the hotel; great night spot especially on weekends and with a good local band. It's important to remember that the Solomon Islands is a developing nation and in quite a remote location, with all the challenges this can bring. Use your stay at Heritage Park as an opportunity to soak up the local pace and culture and chill out. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheilaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    107
    34
    11
    11
See reviews for
16
51
29
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I recently stayed here as this was known as the best hotel in Honiara. The grounds are immaculate, pool area looks great at night and the restaurant offers a great variety of meals.

My tool was basic but was kept clean and was fresh. My room was facing the ocean which was great but due to not having a insect screen on the door, I couldn't get fresh air without having mozzies flying in.

There is some construction work going on but didn't really interrupt me. There were numerous security guards walking the grounds that is good to see. Not saying crime is a problem but felt very safe.

I thought the price was a little high but at least you could escape into the hotel and leave the outside world outside the hotel gates.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucky1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

When booking we thought we were being extravagant BUT as it turned out we were glad of the superior accommodation provided in what could be an awkward town for visitors.
Our first story water front room immediately overlooked Iron Bottom Bay & made the most of our visit to Honiara.
The hotel is in easy walking distance of the major attractions including the busy local markets.
An enticing trio played beside the pool in a pleasant tropical garden setting in early evening.
The front desk staff handled our every request smoothly & with out fuss.
Their advice re local guides was accurate & helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255073Happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Heritage Park is the 'ritziest' place to stay in Honiara, but needs to do a lot more to live up to its price tag. The food is poor, probably because they go through chefs like you would change your underwear, and probably because the primary revenue raiser is the room rates. Service is abismal, and if you get unlucky enough to stay in the rooms on the western side of the property then be prepared for a bit of noise from the Kava Bar next door.

The good bits about the place is the rooms are the newest in town, so they haven't had time to fall into that typical state that many of the hotels in Honiara are in. The pool is nice, and having water frontage is nice.

Overall, if you're not fussed at the prices and can accept bad service then this place is good to for a room. If you are after a level of delivery commensurate with the price tag, you may well find better value elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms on the eastern side of the property are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked this hotel as a bit of luxury to finish off a 10 day trip to the Solomon Islands, up until the last day we had been staying at small resorts in the Western Provinces.
Our flight was brought forward so I decided to contact the hotel via email to confirm that our pre-arranged airport pickup was going to be adjusted for the new arrival time. I was assured that they followed the airports schedule and would be there at 11.25am to pick us up.
Well, we were still waiting at 12pm so I had a member of the airport staff call the hotel and was assuredthey would send someone out straight away.
At 12:15 a van from the Hertiage arrived and went to the International Terminal, we were at the Domestic Terminal so assumed they had goneto the wrong place and would be back to pick us up, but no they drove straight past us and luckily stopped for a smoke and a snack at the nearby market stall. I walked over and discovered that they knew nothing about us and were only there to pick up a parcel. Thankfully after their snack they drove over and took us to the Hotel, by this time we had been standing outside the airport for just under an hour. It's not that long I know, but as we only had 24 hours in Honiara we were not happy.
The check in staff member was not apologetic and offered no compensation.

Room Tip: Stay next door at the Mendana
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSWanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We organized a very successful conference at Heritage Park Hotel in October 2013.
Starting from the initail contact with the General Manager Sanjay , everything worked like a clockwork.
We were able to negotiate very good group rate for our delegates and conference package.
Accommodation was the best available in Honiara, as we did compare with other hotels.Conference room and all other related facilities were of first class and we found the staff members were always polite and helpful.
Three restaurants, members club, well equipped gym , swimming pool and the ocean view make this hotel stand out as the best meeting place.

Due to good hygiene and cleanliness throughout the hotel , we found fewer mosquitoes in the hotel with comparision with other places in Honiara

Room Tip: Ask for first floor ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNE AU
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having stayed at sister hotels in PNG the Lamana and the Airways I expected more of the same and I was disappointed. I took my family for breakfast and it was a disaster only one in the restaurant 45 minutes to get a coffee the "mugachino" was milky coffee served in a beer handle just rubbish then after an hour the food arrived we were ONLY people in at that time my 3 eggwhite omelette with cheese, tomato and onion as advertised on the menu with a side of bacon was 3 egg whites pan fried with no fillings and cold bacon, the smoked salmon and poached eggs was salmon off cuts and hard poached eggs again all cold the place is poorly run the food is the worst I have ever had and the place is an embarrassment, the PNG based owners along with NPF need to have a good hard look at the service, cleanliness and quality of the food and beverage, the rooms may well be great but the thread bare uniforms of the reception staff and the shithouse food and bev service are a joke would never recommend any one eat here until they get this sorted its pathetic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natedizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiara
0.2 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 7 in Honiara
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#4 of 7 in Honiara
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sanalae Apartments
Sanalae Apartments
#3 of 7 in Honiara
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gizo Hotel
Gizo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gizo
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Sea Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Park Hotel Honiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Park Hotel Honiara

Property: Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
Address: Mendana Avenue, Honiara, Guadalcanal Island 1598, Solomon Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Solomon Islands > Guadalcanal Island > Honiara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Honiara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Park Hotel Honiara 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upmarket business class hotel in Solomon Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Park Hotel Honiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing