We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanalae Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$201
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Honiara Hotel(Honiara)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Raiders Hotel & Dive(Tulagi Island)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
The Penthouse(Honiara)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
14
8
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
8
0
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 23 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I travel every 2 weeks for business and I found accommodation in Honiara is very expensive, compared to what we would pay in Australia. Sanalae offer great value on a number of fronts. For a family of 5, we booked an upstairs unit and a downstairs unit for our week stay. The upstairs unit offers heaps of room for the family to all hang out together during meal times and sleeps 2, so our 3 high school/university aged kids slept in a garden unit. The garden units are about half the size of the upstairs units, but the 3 students fitted comfortably. We lived in the Solomons for 3 years and going back is always special, the Sanalae helps smooth some of the rough edges you don't miss. They have a generator to deal with the power outages that happen every couple of days, If things break, like running out of gas, they are are fixed quick smart. I still remember our previous trip to the Solomons, when we stayed at another major Hotel and our room had no hot water for a week, despite daily questioning. In summary, do yourself a favour, if you are coming to Honiara, stay at the best place in town. I will certainly be staying here in future.

Room Tip: Upstairs is for couples. Combine with a downstairs unit if you are a family of 4 or more.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Apartments and were very happy with all aspects of our stay. The room was neat and clean. The fully equipped kitchenette provided options in Honiara. The staff were helpful and friendly. It was a short walk (downhill) to catch local buses into town. Air conditioning was a bonus. Car hire also. We boiled water to drink and had no issues. Laundry service also great and at no cost when detergent purchased for $5sb at local store.

Room Tip: Garden apartments are easy access. Ocean view apartments are accessed via an external spiral staircase to the second floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TnT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotels and accommodation in Honiara are generally quite expensive. Sanalae offer a great alternative, particularly if you've like to have a small amount of kitchen equipment to cook some meals for yourself. We stayed 4 nights.

The rooms are spacious enough, and clean. Airconditiong and other facilities are in good working order. The staff are pleasant and helpful enough.

The downside is the location, east of town in Panatina Ridge. You will need to catch the local bus or a taxi into the downtown area, which can add to the overall cost of your stay. But really, there's not that much in town, apart from the Central Market I suppose. There are plenty of shops nearby, and Panatina Plaza is very close (1-2km).

The location could actually be a positive if you are planning an overnight stay in Honiara before heading elsewhere in the Solomons, as it's close to the airport - and therefore you'll avoid downtown's terrible traffic.

I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank global_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We (couple) stay long term (since October 2010) in one of the four upstairs studio apartments. This is spacious with full kitchen needs, comfortable queen bed, bath with overhead shower, hot water, plenty of storage (kitchen and personal effects) and airconditioned. The apartment is kept immaculate with full service and the tropical gardens are regularly maintained. Our manager Doreen is well organised and she and the friendly staff are helpful and attentive. The property is well secured with 24 hour security service. Location is out of town but close to the workplace, golf club, Panatina Plaza (groceries, pharmacy, hairdresser, bank, travel agent, cafes, stationers etc) and airport. Tap water anywhere in Honiara is not suitable for drinking. Having inspected other accommodation, we feel very fortunate to be staying at Sanalae in terms of cleanliness, comfort, service, security and value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DavidHoniara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We went to Honiara for a wedding, I booked 3 rooms for a total of 21 nights. A great place to cool off in the air conditioning from the high temp and Humidity outside. Rooms clean and compact. Kitchen small but adequate, limited storage for food. Hot water only in shower. Water in taps not suitable for drinking, used bottled or boiled water. A car was available for renting at $SI400 per day. This was very useful. Were able to use outside covered picnic table next door with great views of Harbour. Had up to 25 people here at one time.
Doreen the owner/manager was always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms near road have an outside table and umbrella.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ross c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews