We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nie Hotel with stunning View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Hotel Palau
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Reviewed November 21, 2008

We spend 12 Nights at a Double Room in the Hotel and we liked them really much. The View over the Lagoon is really nice, the Room what we had are modern with Balcony and two King Size Beds. A good part was the Pooldeck with Jacuzzi, Shower and cool Cocktails.. We had a look also on the other Rooms, Cabana looks good with Jacuzzis in the Room and the smaller Rooms without a Balcony its a Room for a night but not for longer Stays.. Compare to the Hotels what I know in Koror is Cliffside one of the Best what you can get for the Price.. but not for People how needs Animation or private Buttlers..

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Greekgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Cliffside Hotel Palau
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 82 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2008

Great food, the view is to die for, and the rooms are great!!!

  • Stayed: January 2003, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank didil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

This hotel looks great online but has plenty of problems. We intended to stay 4 nights, but rushed to leave after the first night. Problems with roaches, filthy floors, hard beds, indifferent staff. Very basic and spartan rooms which aren't clean. Very mouldy odors. This place is rather pricey which might be worth it as the view is terrific, but the room is really not even comparable to the budget rooms in other hotels in Koror. They don't even provide basic amenities one might expect when paying $140 per night, such as some instant coffee, hairdryer, etc which other less pricey hotels in Palau provide routinely. Just not worth it. Also note that they have a 36 hr. cancellation policy and charge a full night's fee for any cancellation once you book. So watch out! Also, there is no elevator in case that matters to you although staff did help us with the luggage.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank divergirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

I stayed at the Cliffside for one night of a 4 night business stay. Staff were friendly but the room for $120 was decidely subpar. It smelled terribly of mould and when i dimmed the light to sleep two huge roaches immediatley appeared. I killed one but the other got away. To avoid the escapee crawling over me while I slept I kept the light on all night. The room had no window that would open to clear the mould smell. I would expect this kind of room for $40 per night but not for $120. rating TERRIBLE!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank SimonEC3556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We had a disappointing stay at this hotel. Unfortunately we were pretty much locked in to a 20 day stay - about 18-20 days too many I'm afraid. So, we had a chance to study the hotel in some detail.

We were taken in by the online photos... They do look much nicer than the reality. Though its prices are not exorbitant for this part of the world, we found the Cliffside to be overpriced for what it is. Our room was small and more like a prison-cell than a hotel room (better perhaps for a very short business stay than a longer vacation).

Some staff were very helpful. Others were not at all.

It is a very, very long walk to Koror for provisions. The hotel's shuttle bus runs only in evenings and it takes a very circuitous route.

Smoking is allowed in bar/restaurant. This is very offputting and kept us out. Difficult to choke down breakfast when you're choking on stale cigarette smoke...

Poolside meals are delivered from in-hotel restaurant. Takes a very long time for the meals to arrive and they were always cold (though we learned and made pilgrimages on the shuttle to Koror).

Some facilities (including pool) off-limits to guests if the hotel had booked in a function.

(We do recommend the Rock Island Cafe in Koror for day-to-day meals. Great food; good prices; interesting ambiance.)

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Geographer0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We stayed at the Cliffside on the recommendation of a friend who works and lives in Palau. After looking at countless websites (or lack thereof) for hotels in Palau we decided to take their recommendation which we should have done all along! The Cliffside has a beautiful view, pool and overall setting. Rooms are a good size with nice, fairly recently updated bathrooms (this is Palau after all) All rooms have balconies with a view. The staff was attentive and friendly and the GM, Wolfgang is funny, friendly and devoted to his guests. In the beginning we had some air conditioning issues (turning on and off) and after several attempts to fix it they moved us to a new room as soon as possible (given that the entire hotel was booked). A note for anyone booking hotels in Palau, there aren't any real beaches accessible on the main island of Koror aside from the Palau Pacific Hotel (PPR) which is quite expensive. If you stay at Cliffside, there is free access of the PPR beach, pick-ups at their dock for dive boats and a shuttle that runs from Cliffside to PPR, downtown and the other dive outlets. If you're going to Palau Cliffside is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 14, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
0.3 mi away
West Plaza Malakal
West Plaza Malakal
#21 of 30 in Koror
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Passion hotel
Sea Passion hotel
#15 of 30 in Koror
209 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#5 of 30 in Koror
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
West Plaza by the Sea
West Plaza by the Sea
#16 of 30 in Koror
93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
0.0 mi away
Palau Vacation Hotel
Palau Vacation Hotel
#18 of 30 in Koror
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Hotel Palau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Hotel Palau

Address: Koror, Koror Island 96940-0129, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffside Hotel Palau 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cliffside Hotel Palau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Koror
Cliffside Hotel Palau South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing