We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Hotel Palau
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A bit dated”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Arrived on Christmas eve night and while they had a Christmas tree decorated and music playing, it was a bit depressing as it was just an ok hotel. Though, from what I can tell, there are not many luxury resorts on the island. The good news is that you can get a day pass for the Palau Pacific, so I spent Christmas day there.

Rooms were large yet basic. Not many bathroom amenities.

That said, the staff was very nice and helped with several requests. If you are okay with basic accommodations, it would be fine to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdchick1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
10
30
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I went with friends on a 7 day diving vacation to Palau. While not a "luxury hotel" the rooms were large, well equipped with two queen beds, a mini fridge, table & chairs and chairs on the lanai as well. The hotel offers free internet but its hard to get a signal at times. Breakfast was included with our room and it was perfect every morning. The lady at the front desk was the most friendly and helpful person I've ever met at a hotel! She took great care of us all week long. All of the staff members were pleasant and super helpful. They go above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel when staying in Palau.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TexShelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Stayed here after an Aggressor trip. Very accommodating staff, quaint ambiance, rather average rooms, and nice garden/grounds across the road. Main problem is that there is no warm water on the 4th floor - not even tepid. They use tiny tankless heaters that don't work at all. The staff is aware of the issue, and will go through the motions of dealing with it, but nothing gets fixed - stay here and you will have to get used to cold showers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diver94523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koror hotels

Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stayed the first 4 nights at another hotel that was very run down. Looked around the island and found this gem of a hotel. I would highly recomend this hotel to everyone going to the island. Great atmosphere and very friendly service from all of their staff. I will stay here every time I come to dive in palau !!! wifi is free and they also have a spare computer in the loby if you didnt bring your own.

Room Tip: airline employee discounts are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harleyman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We would happily recommend Cliffside Hotel to dive groups staying in Palau. Although not a "luxury resort" and a distance from dive shops, the fabulous staff and service at the hotel made it a great, fun place for our large group to spend a week. We had nothing but lovely experiences with warm, friendly staff who made us feel like visitors in their home. A van from Neco Marine picked us up every morning to take us to the dock and was waiting to take us back whenever we wanted to return (after diving and a little post-dive relaxing at the Drop Off Bar.) The views from the hotel are stunning.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divers0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

From all of the reviews that we read on Trip Advisor, we were expecting more than we received. For the price that we paid, we would have liked a better quality room. We had a room with a jacuzzi and a veranda. We found the room to be awkwardly arranged and with little appeal. The jacuzzi is situated in the middle of the room with no privacy, view or comfort. The room was very clean, but not particularly accommodating and with very limited decor. Also it was dark, and did not allow us to appreciate the view.
We did not like the veranda area. Luckily, there were very few people staying at the hotel, but if there had been more, we would have had very little privacy with the so called veranda. It's just a balcony connected to every other room on that floor. The name implies something more intimate.

We also weren't fond of the desk staff. One clerk didn't seem very bright, since when she received telephone calls, she didn't seem to even know who her guests were. I heard her saying that she didn't know who a guest was that we knew because we had talked to him in reception. Also, they tried to sell us a trip to Peleliu for $500 together when friends took the trip for $120 per person. When we declined to spend the money for their expensive trip, we were given the cold shoulder in reception. Kindness seems to be tied to for how much they can rip off the guest..

The breakfast that we had in the restaurant was adequate and the view was very good. The room service was something to be desired. In fact, I would say don't bother paying the price. I had to go to the restaurant to order what I wanted for the room. When I called, no one answered the call. The server was very slow bringing the meal to me. When I was finished, I left it on the veranda. It wasn't picked up for at least 24 hours. I would say that aspect of the hotel needs to be vastly improved.

The pool is located in a dismal place. One has to walk up a set of steep steps to get to it. When we went up there, it looked deserted. We decided not to use it, because we feared that it wasn't properly maintained. The jacuzzi was empty and breeding mosquito larvae. Don't bother yourself with this aspect of the hotel either. It's separated from the hotel, so doesn't cause health problems to the guests in the rooms.

For Palau, it is a decent place to stay, but if I were doing it over again, we would stay at Caroline's Resort or the Palau Pacific Resort. We wouldn't repeat the Cliffside.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan USA
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for over three weeks. The room was always clean and well kept. It wasn't a big resort hotel but it had a pool and wonderful views. The staff was amazing!! They were so helpful, friendly, and had an attitude to make sure we were pleased with our stay. It is not a 5 star hotel..............but the services from the staff was similar to 5 star service. The hotel is an older hotel......with free safe and free internet service. It is a no frills hotel but who needs one in Palau. We only slept at the hotel, there was so much to see in Palau...................Hats off to the staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwkt2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Passion hotel
Sea Passion hotel
#15 of 29 in Koror
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Plaza Malakal
West Plaza Malakal
#19 of 29 in Koror
68 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Plaza by the Sea
West Plaza by the Sea
#18 of 29 in Koror
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 29 in Koror
437 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Plaza Desekel
West Plaza Desekel
#21 of 29 in Koror
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palau Vacation Hotel
Palau Vacation Hotel
#17 of 29 in Koror
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Hotel Palau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Hotel Palau

Property: Cliffside Hotel Palau
Address: Koror, Koror Island 96940-0129, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffside Hotel Palau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cliffside Hotel Palau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Koror
Cliffside Hotel Palau South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing