We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Plaza by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Plaza by the Sea
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spacious and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We waited too late to obtain lodging at any of the resorts and were a little worried about what we would find when we got to the WP by the Sea. Fortunately we were pleasantly suprised. While definitely not in the same class as a newer hotel nor a resort, it fit our needs perfectly.

The staff was super friendly and always willing to help us with directions, taxis, and suggestions for food and shopping. We stayed in the Penthouse and there are only two rooms on that floor (the 4th). Our room was HUGE with a really big semi-covered patio. The patio had outside lights, but unfortunately no furniture. The bed is only a full size and there is a futon bed in the living area. We had a fridge, stove top and kitchen sink which made breakfast easy. The bathroom was really big with a jacuzzi tub. The room also had a lot of storage space that is nice for people staying awhile.

There is wireless internet available in the lobby; you must buy an access card (they are sold in increments of $5/2hr or $10/4hr). The internet on Palau is REALLY slow, so don't plan on doing gaming or graphics. We were there to dive, so this did not bother us at all.

The location was perfect for us. It was only a short walk to the middle of downtown and all the shops without being right in the middle of the town. And if you want to snorkel, the end of the road was pretty nice. If you are missing your "coffee shop" fix.. up the road on the main street is a nice coffee shop, only about 3 blocks or so.

Okay.. now drawbacks:

There is not an elevator, so if you do not like stairs.. pick a ground floor or 2nd floor room. There IS a luggage elevator though, so you do not have to haul gear or luggage upstairs.. just yourself.

When we made our reservations, we were not told that the restaurant was closed for renovations. If our room had not been equipped with the fridge and stovetop, this would have caused a major problem for us. They did offer a free shuttle to one of their other locations that had a restaurant, but that would make for a REALLY early morning. If you don't want to cook, make sure that the dive shop you are going through offers breakfast.

The only negative about the room was that the floors could have been cleaner.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator, don't stay here or stay on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xanaduyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    52
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
8
26
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

First, we had requested rooms on the ground floor for accessibility reasons. It is a good thing we did, as the hotel has no passenger elevator. Both rooms were very nice. A safe is available for a $50 deposit, but all the other regular amenities were included. One room had better lighting than the other. The ground floor rooms also had a two-level design that necessitated care when transiting the levels. There was no railing.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly in every way. They will call cabs, restaurants, and other local businesses to make reservations or get information.

The sink water is not for drinking. You can buy small bottles for $1 at the front desk. There's also a gas station with convenience mart just down the street that sells 6 liter bottles for less than $4.

There is a restaurant on premises, but it was closed and has been apparently so for some time. We did have a good meal at Kim's, which just a block away. It is cash-only and caters largely to large groups of Korean travelers, but we caught them when they were not busy and were rewarded with an excellent Korean meal at a reasonable price. Most other restaurants require a cab ride--especially at night when navigating the dark and narrow streets on foot can be hazardous.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so travelers with accessibility needs will need to request the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Admittedly we are budget travellers, but this hotel was fantastic for your money!

In our room we had a double bed, single bed, kitchen and bathroom. The level of cleanliness was extraordinary and the staff were always so friendly and welcoming and willing to help. They loved chatting to us and were so friendly.

You also got all the freebies that you get with posh hotels (which was a bonus) and have sea views all round from all around for a very very reasonable price. Also walking distance to town. Laundry was a bit expensive but the laundrette across the road is cheap and cheerful.

We did stay in a posh hotel one night too (to treat ourselves) but wish we'd stayed here for that night instead because this was so much nicer.

All round a great hotel! Next time I go to Palau, I'm staying here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ltravel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

Dear traveler,

do not stay at this Hotel It is much too expensive for what it is.

Before staying here I stayed in the green bay Hotel which cost almost half and was twice as good. The West Plaza by the Sea is very old and located at the end of a run down street with nothing to do around it. The Tv had only BBC and there was no internet. The bed sheets had old stains on them and the room was just old.
The Red Rooster bar next to it is Japanese food.... didn't try it though since I left after one day to get into a better Hotel.

They tried very hard to be nice but the Hotel is just too old and should be around half of what it is.

Try other Hotels and you'll be happier and get a lot more for your money!!!

Have fun in Palau!!! It is a diver paradise :-) If you are not a diver..reconsider this destination since it is really all about the diving here.

Best REgards,

TravelRaoul

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelRaoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koror hotels

Barcelona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

West Plaza by the Sea is a nice hotel with large and clean rooms, a little kitchenette, nice views and good bar for having breakfast or dinner. We stood almost a week and enjoyed the kindness of its staff.

Our purpose was a good and quiet place to rest and sleep during our diving breaks, and this hotel has the best location in Koror: just five minutes walking from the main street, but far enough from car's noise and people chatting.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulises33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2008

Stayed here on a diving trip to Palau. This is a cheap and cheerful hotel, the facilities are basic. I'd say this was the Palauan equivalent of a Travelodge but it has a restaurant and bar in the building. The rooms are of a reasonable size, and are clean.

The food is excellent at the red rooster restaurant in the hotel. It was great not having to go and hunt for somewhere to eat.

There is no lift, other than a baggage-only lift, but this isnt a problem as there are only 3 floors.

There is a good view out to sea from most rooms. It is a very short walk (5-10 mins) to Koror town centre, where there are shopping facilities and a wide selection of restaurants.

Great place to stay, if you dont want to fork out for the upmarket resort type hotels elsewhere in Palau.

  • Liked — Cheap and cheerful, good food
  • Disliked — No Internet - but if youre in Palau you dont want the Internet...
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank AMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

This hotel was perfect. Perfectly basic. It was exactly the kind of place my friend and I wanted. Clean, basic, affordable, safe. The deluxe rooms were good size and the beds were comfy enough. There was a fridge, but the "kitchenette" wasn't really a working kitchenette. The was no microwave, no pot large enough to make a small amount of pasta, no colander, very limited cutlery and about 2 plates and 2 bowls. We used the extra space for all of our gear which worked just fine. The free breakfast was nice because it was right at the hotel. The people who served us each day were all really nice and didn't mind us bringing some of our own food (we got tired of the same food everyday). Only saw one dead roach..expected more in such a hot and humid climate. The shower water was usually really hot and the water pressure great. Not much noise from neighbors. They gave us clean beach towels each day at the desk..very nice. We really liked the location. It was 10 -15 minutes to the main drag so we were able to walk around and didn't have to take taxis or rent a car. It was very humid there and our room had a dehumidifier (and AC). Not all rooms had a dehumidifier and it helped so you may want to ask for one. Grace at the front desk was great. Contact me if you want more details. This was an incredible trip!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BringHomeTroops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.8 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 30 in Koror
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#8 of 30 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palau Paradise Hotel
Palau Paradise Hotel
#5 of 30 in Koror
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.0 mi away
West Plaza Malakal
West Plaza Malakal
#15 of 30 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Plaza Desekel
West Plaza Desekel
#20 of 30 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza by the Sea

Property: West Plaza by the Sea
Address: PO Box 280, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0280, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Plaza by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features 36 rooms overlooking the ocean lagoon and nearby islands. Rooms range from standard class to deluxe rooms with kitchenettes, and a penthouse suite on the roof deck with a large private veranda, whirlpool bath, kitchenette, and plenty of spacious living area. West Plaza By the Sea also features the Red Rooster Cafe. The cafe offers a wide selection of Japanese Cuisine, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The nightly happy hour features Palau's only locally brewed beer on tap, Red Rooster Draft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your West Plaza by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza By The Sea Hotel Koror
West Plaza By The Sea Palau, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing