We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would choose it again”
Review of Palau Royal Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palau Royal Resort
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Room: large, tiled floor, comfortable beds with reading lamps, two chairs and a small round table, large TV, minibar, coffee/tea maker, safe, ample drawers and closets to store clothes and other things, complimentary bottled water every day. Balcony with two chairs and a small table.
Bathroom: good size, toilet in a separate room with excellent ventilation.
WLAN access: extremely slow (via satellite), free in the restaurant while you eat there, 1US$/15min or 10US$/5hrs in the library.
Restaurant: breakfast with a good selection of foods (Western, Chinese Japanese); dinner was 30.80US$ incl taxes, also with a very good selection of foods (Western, Chinese Japanese).
General: very nice, clean, very quiet, nice garden with a swimming pool and a small beach. Two small stores within walking distance. We would go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 460 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

The room is clean and air-conditioned. It's comfortable to sit on the balcony after backed from the day trip. Staff are friendly and helpful for queries. Guest can borrow any number of towels for local tour without charges / deposit.

There are also fishes swim at the private beach, but of course not comparable to the amazing snorkeling point around Rock Islands. Also there is a fish feeding at lobby around 4:45pm everyday. Guests were also invited to feed the fishes.

The resort is about 35 minutes walk from downtown, or you can take BBI shuttle bus service (7 USD per week). Kramer's cafe and Drop-off Bar and Grill are both nice restaurants near the resort (~10 min. walk). A mini-store (close at 9:00pm) is just at the opposite of the entrance. There is also a free pick up service to Belau National Museum. Please check with reception for booking.

The free WiFi is poor at the restaurant. Even connected and seems keep loading forever. But in Palau everyone should stay with the nature rather than the mobiles/ PCs!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BwaiChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here on a dive trip (surprise) to Palau. The grounds are beautiful and everyone I came in contact with from the front desk to the waitresses to was helpful, very friendly and professional.

One of the best things about the hotel is the location. Had views of one of the Rock Islands, the bay and a beautiful beach. Two of the best restos on the island (Drop Off and Krammer's) sit on the right and left side of the hotel.

Not sure why some complained below about Asian influence of the morning breakfast buffet (pic below shows 2/3rds of it). The buffet includes everything you would expect for a full breakfast...plus all these Asian dishes that seemed more like lunch or dinner food - but were fun to try. Plus lots of fruits and vegetable available.

My only recommendation is that they open the fitness center before 7 am. Visitors coming from the states are likely on an early schedule - at least the first few days given the 8 hr+ time change and it would nice to get a workout in in the morning. Not possible to do if your dive boat leaves at 8 am and you need to eat breakfast too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife and I just returned from an amazing dive vacation in Palau. While there, we stayed at the Palau Royal Resort with is part of the Nikko Hotels group. This hotel was recommend to us as one of a list of hotels in cooperation with the dive operator we used. We chose this one based on its proximity to the dive operation and because of reasonably favourable reviews. We stayed for 6 nights. Ultimately, I was not excited about my experience at this hotel. I will summarise pros and cons in a list:

Pros:
Proximity to major dive operators is good.
They have a nice beach and lagoon set up.
View to the open water is very good
Rooms are spacious and cleanliness is reasonably good.
All staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.

Cons
Cost! This is a very expensive hotel for what you get.
The cost problem also extends the spa on site. This makes no sense to me as there is a very good spa right next door to the hotel at half the cost or less. They either don't know this, or don't care...likely the latter.
The food in the only restaurant is of surprisingly poor quality and lacking any imagination given the ridiculous prices they charge...alcoholic drinks are also overly expensive.
The hotel is isolated from any services you might want. Not a bid deal for us as we were there for diving, but if you want access to shops, it will require some sort of transportation. You could walk, but it is a hike.

Knowing what I know now, I would not choose this hotel again. I think there are far better options. This hotel is obviously going after a certain clientele for whom money is no object...that does not describe me. I will happily spend my money on excellence; At these prices, I just didn't find that here.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms would be the best option, but are likely very over priced. My room was not sea view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DresdenDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great location for diving( next to best dive shop in town) however the resort is in serious need of an upgrade and rehabilitation, the rooms are generally tired and not particularly well maintained. The menu and food delivery in the main restaurant needs a do over and adaption to western requirements. Very slow and relatively expensive internet.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for room with view against the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKnive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Nothing wrong with the resort. It was big and at the far end of town--probably a 15 minute walk, but a quick drive. WiFi is slow and must be paid for, except in bar/restaurant, where it is slow to nonexistent.And when I say slow, I mean you wonder whether you're connected. On the upside, it wasn't that expensive $10 for 2 hours.
Cheapest reservations were through the Nikko website

Water is not potable, and they give you one or two bottles free, but the rest must be paid for.
The staff was nice and helpful, but the shuttle pick up from the airport wasn't there (despite my having a copy of the confirmation) and someone had to call for me. Rooms were clean, even if a bit worn.
There is a cute lagoon/beach and there is a turtle feeding once a day, which is great fr the kids.

So would I stay again? I think I might see what else was out there, but I wouldn't tell anyone not to stay here either

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank santjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I don't really get the negative reviews. I found the service here to be very professional. Yes, the breakfast is a bit Asian-focused, but you can still get your french toast and bacon. You must pay for Internet, but it wasn't that bad of a deal and worked fine--Internet services all over Palau are pricey and charged by hour. There are scratches and nicks around the room, but considering that Palau is a small, isolated country, I wasn't expecting everything to be perfectly kept up. I really doubt they have a warehouse of lampshades at their disposal in order to immediately replace ones that might be getting dingy. The room was big and comfortable enough. There are not a lot of fellow guests around during the day because most people have gone diving. If you don't like the sound of helicopters buzzing by your room every so often, try to get a room facing the bay. I didn't dive, but other guests I talked to spoke well of their onsite diving company, Blue Marlin. All in all a very good experience with this hotel. They don't nickel and dime you nearly as bad as hotels in Hawaii.

Room Tip: If you don't like choppers buzzing by your room, get a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tulipjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#10 of 30 in Koror
245 reviews
4.6 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#4 of 30 in Koror
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
0.0 mi away
Palau Vacation Hotel
Palau Vacation Hotel
#26 of 30 in Koror
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliffside Hotel Palau
Cliffside Hotel Palau
#24 of 30 in Koror
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palau Royal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Royal Resort

Address: P O Box 10108, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0877, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Price Range: $239 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palau Royal Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palau Royal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Royal Hotel Koror
Nikko Hotel Koror
Nikko Koror
Koror Nikko
Palau Royal Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing