We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably second best on the island but NUMBER 1 for me”
Review of Palau Royal Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palau Royal Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Certificate of Excellence
Minato, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Probably second best on the island but NUMBER 1 for me”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and found everything just great. The check in was awesome...got welcome drinks that you can use at any restaurant, rooms very clean with lots of amenities. Big rooms and huge bathtubs and every room facing the beach. The beach is small but very quiet and regardless of the tide, you will still be able to swim which was a +++ for us since after leaving PRR, we stayed two nights at the PPR which was suppose to be a better hotel, but found out the beach was closed due to strong wind :( Prices are quite reasonable compared to the PPR, and whenever you didn't want to eat inside the hotel, the restaurants and mini markets are minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doctor_and_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    206
    60
    19
    12
See reviews for
108
156
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Really enjoyed our holl at the paladim. great location. Rooms/towels cleaned daily. We were at the main road side but when doors closed cannot hear traffic. Air con god send, few tiles missing round pool. Fridge could do to be upgraded. When u have people not looking after things does it matter its not home I think people expect too much when they go away. We would go back again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobyscoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights May 23-29. This was a very nice hotel. While I wouldn't rate it 5 stars, it was very customer friendly, clean with a lovely beach and amazing spa. I understood that it is the best hotel on the island, but I really didn't compare. It was definitely one of the top hotels, however. The meals we had there were good -- especially the breakfasts. We have no complaints and would stay there again. We had a particularly good guide recommended by the hotel. The guide's name was Parker Mael. He drove us around the island and spent the entire day (9am-4pm) with us for $150. He was very knowledgable not just about the island but things in general. I would highly recommend Parker. He showed us the island for much less than an organized tour would be and we learned a lot from him.

The hotel caters to a lot of SCUBA divers and works with Fish 'n Fins -- an excellent diving company. It has a small but very nice beach. Lots of water sports familes can take advantage of. We were there in the "low season" so the hotel was reasonably priced. I think high season would have given me a different impression as there would have been many more tourists and higher prices. Whiled it rained every day, it did not impact our stay at all. The rain didn't last and the hotel was well prepared for the frequent rain storms.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room. Ocean front would have been nice but not worth the extra money as the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Never Too Old to Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

First of all you need to know they do not have drinkable water in the rooms - never could get an explanation as to what was wrong with it - suspect it was seawater with some of the salt removed. So you have to buy water to drink - go to the store across the street and get a gallon or so for $3. They cater to the Asian tourist so be aware of that - foods etc are mostly of that region.

The rooms are mid to low level in terms of US rooms and they have mostly twin beds which you have to push together to make a double/queen sized bed , if you are traveling with anyone. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. They are also light on towels etc but do provide a lot of the bathroom amenities ( soaps,shampoos etc also supply detergent for free washer and dryer. Set up is nice , good views from hotel, nice pool and beach. We went for the diving so didn't spend a lot of time at the resort. Go to eat somewhere else like drop -offs or Kramers both within 5 minutes walk from hotel.

So given this is a small island country the accomodations were fine , the staff was great and the location was paradise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bill2012BatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This beautiful resort on the Bay in Koror, is a real pleasure! Although we only spent one night there we had a really great time and think that it is perhaps the best that Koror has to offer. The dining room is very good, offering a good selection from a varied buffet and a a la carte menu (did not try it). Rooms very comfortable and a rquest to repair a fault in the room was quickly and efficiently repaired.
The airport suttle worked well and the check in was effecient and friendly

Room Tip: Try for rooms on the seaward(harbour) side for a great view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatsoJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I spent the afternoon at the hotel and spa since I only had about 4 hours we went to get pedicures. The hotel staff was amazing! Even though we weren't overnight guests we were treated like celebrities and were invited to explore the gorgeous grounds laid out with ponds waterfalls and one of the few sand beaches in the vicinity. There was a lovely poolside bar, interesting items in the gift shop and of course the Spa was first rate. The entire hotel gave us the impression of comfortable, clean and laid back amosphere. I will definitely stay here next time I am in Palau and have more time!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Hotel: large rooms with nice, private balcony. Good view if you get the water-facing rooms. Clientele is largely Japanese / Taiwanese, and the food is catered towards the asian appetite accordingly. Breakfast was fine - but dinner was disappointing. There are numerous wonderful restaurants in Koror, though, and Palau Royal Resort is very close to town. Front desk staff is very friendly and accommodating. We also visited PPR and had a drink at their poolside bar. PPR definitely had more spectacular grounds/beach, but it's a bit of a drive to town. If you're coming to Palau for romantic get-away, PPR is probably the way to go. If you're coming primarily for diving, Palau Royal is a great option and conveniently located.

Diving: we booked a 5-day package with Sam's tours, which was a 2-minute shuttle or 5 minute walk from the hotel. The 2-tank dives usually involve a 45-60 minute boat ride to the southern islands, but the scenery is so beautiful and the water so vivid; it's easy to lose track of time and before you know it you've arrived. The diving is out of this world. Nearly every dive we saw sharks, turtles, schools of snapper, you name it.

Travel to Palau: we flew United out of SFO via Honolulu and Guam. It was a bit of a disaster. The connection in Guam to Palau is only 40 minutes, and for some reason we were late arriving in Guam (even though we took off on time), which only left us 20 min to catch our connection to Palau. We made the flight, but our bags didn't. And there's only 1 or 2 flights a day into Palau, so we were stuck the first 20 hours w/o dive gear and luggage. The return flight home was a bigger mess; the flight out of Palau was delayed 16 hours! (due to mechanical issue). United loaded us on a bus and were shipped to local cheap hotels. Finally, we were in the air on our way to Guam - but we arrived in the evening and we had 7 hours in Guam, so they put us on another bus and sent us to another hotel (which was better than sitting in the airport for 7 hours). All in all, it took 40 hours to get home. Not a fun travel experience. But in the end, Palau was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MarkNelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#9 of 29 in Koror
239 reviews
4.6 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#6 of 29 in Koror
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Passion hotel
Sea Passion hotel
#17 of 29 in Koror
206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palau Hotel
Palau Hotel
#12 of 29 in Koror
6 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palau Pacific Resort
Palau Pacific Resort
#1 of 29 in Koror
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palau Royal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Royal Resort

Property: Palau Royal Resort
Address: P O Box 10108, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0877, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palau Royal Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palau Royal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Royal Hotel Koror
Nikko Hotel Koror
Nikko Koror
Koror Nikko
Palau Royal Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing