We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”
Review of Palau Royal Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palau Royal Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Certificate of Excellence
FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I love the palau Royal Resort. The staff are so friendly and nice and it is good location-- so close to town and tour operators. The setting is quite beautiful and the beach has good snorkeling. Also, the food is very good .

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a water view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    203
    58
    19
    12
See reviews for
107
154
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

While the travel to Palau was a little bit longer than I expected, the stay in Palau Royal Resort was our consolation. We got a good room, friendly staff, great food and great place to relax.

The hotel has a very big place for any guest to sea. There are nearby bars and resto that's worth seeing. :-)

Room Tip: Get the room facing the sea. :-) It's relaxing and energizing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank monsiserrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The breakfast was the highlight. Great variety and good quality food catered mostly to Asian tastes.

It was our honeymoon; and the hotel did absolutely nothing special for us; which was a shame. We spent two nights enroute to a dive boat and would recommend that travellers who have already paid a fortune to get their and then go diving; save their pennies and stay at a lesser priced accomodation; and end up ahead.

Next time, if we were to repeat the trip (diving their is amazing) we will arrive, stay at a budget hotel near downtown to get access to the restuarants and sushi bars and then spend the money on an extra day of diving.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingLandrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

For part two of our trip we stayed at the PRR, after starting at the PPR.

It was very nice to be closer to more restaurant selections and to be in walking distance from them. But the hotel itself was not as nice as the PPR. They did not allow you on the beach or in the pool after 7pm, which really sucked if you wanted to relax outside in the water at dusk.
This seemed excessive to me, as such we did not patron the restaurant or the bar in the hotel at all.

The beach is man made, so not too much to see down there except for some clams which were most likely planted.

The staff are amazing though. We forgot a watch in our rental car and asked the front desk if they could call the company for us since we discovered this only hours before our flight home. They followed through and the rental car company did have the watch. Which is a testament to the honesty of the people of Palau who did not mysteriously "misplace" it.

Definitely swim in jelly fish lake and rent a car to see the waterfall. It is breath taking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wheresheroams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My friend and I stayed at Palau Royal resort from 6/6~6/10. We always put our wallet in the safe because there was no need to bring money on the sea. However, we forgot to lock the safe on 6/9 morning and when we got back to hotel, we found that our money (USD 50 bill, and in total of USD100) was gone . We are pretty sure their staff stole our money, because we did'nt even touch the USD50 bill during those days, unless someone broke into the room. Then the hotel called police to investigate it the next day. Royal Hotel promised us to report investigation status to us every week. After one week, they told me that there is still no progress, and since then , I didnt receive any report update so far. I am very disappointed about the actions they took. Royal hotel sent us two meal coupons for compensation after one week we got back to Taipei. The coupons only worth half of what we lost. I wrote a complaint letter, but got no response. Although what we lost was not big amount, but it totally destroyed our trust in this hotel. We will never stay at this hotel ever.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MinFen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed 6 nights in this hotel.
The reception was efficient, courteous and knowledgeable. The room was clean, wide with a nice view of the village and part of the sea (although the hotel says "sea view" i would call this "partial sea view" as it was on the side of the hotel and not facing the beach and
sea). There were lots of amenities including beach sandals, umbrella, soap for the washing machine.
The hotel is very convenient: private beach (can rent canoe, snorkeling goods for a fee), nice swimming pool, tennis table, tennis court, 2 billiard tables, a small gym, free washing machines (3 washers and 3 dryers), a bar by the pool (only opens at 3 pm). The activities such as snorkeling tour, jellyfish lake tours, scuba diving, etc. Start from the hotel so it is very convenient.
Despite the fact that we stayed during the Japanese Golden Week which is one of the busiest periods for Palau, the pool and beach were emtpy all the time. The clients (90 pct Japanese and Taiwanese) are out on day tours and come back
To the hotel around 4pm.
The restaurant is very good and caters for asian tastes.
The hotel is a bit far from the city center. However, there is a shuttle bus between the hotel and most of the restaurants in the city center that runs every 20 minutew between 5pm and 9:45pm so there was no problem for going out at night. As for lunch, be aware that most of restaurants are closed since most people go out on tours during the day.
Compared with the Palau PAcific resort, the Royal resort is more conveniently located, the pool is better and restaurants are much cheaper. However, if you go mostly
for the Beach, the PPR is better.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would defnitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jgk_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed for one week in Palau for business and leisure. The diving here is bar none some of the best in the world. The hotel is one of the top hotels (and as close to a 5 star as you can get aside from the Palau Pacific Resort). This is definitely driven to be a modern and luxurious place. The rooms are spacious (beds are firm but nice) and the tub is nicely sized. This resort clearly caters to the Japanese clienete, which was fun, but distinctly not to westerners. The A/C, linens and service were what you would expect at a 4 star hotel. There is a laundry room on site which is free and not heavily used. I highly recommend this hotel as it has only two small drawbacks - 1) The location is not as pasaic or beautiful as the Palau Pacific, however it is more centrally located. 2) If you don't enjoy authentic Japanese hotel cuisine, you are better off eating elsewhere on the island and skipping the restaurant. The western food that does exist - has a decidedly strange mix of food, but eating out is half the fun of a vacation anyway, so why confine yourself to just the hotel. The beach is artificial and cordoned off as a lagoon, but very picturesque. We didn't figure out exactly why the pool closed at 7pm, but it was never an issue.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meerkat92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#9 of 29 in Koror
235 reviews
1.3 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
4.6 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Palau Paradise Hotel
Palau Paradise Hotel
#5 of 29 in Koror
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palau Vacation Hotel
Palau Vacation Hotel
#18 of 29 in Koror
7 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#7 of 29 in Koror
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palau Royal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Royal Resort

Property: Palau Royal Resort
Address: P O Box 10108, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0877, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palau Royal Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Palau Royal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Royal Hotel Koror
Nikko Hotel Koror
Nikko Koror
Koror Nikko
Palau Royal Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing