We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not diving? Stay away from Palau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palau Pacific Resort
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not diving? Stay away from Palau”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spend 7 nights in this totally overprized Resort. Rooms are ok, more on the small side, heated toilet is surely needed when outside temperatures are soaring, Restaurants are full of Russians and that means buffet looks like rats have visited. Breakfast buffet is 25 Us for not much to crunch on, all eaten up before you show up. So eitehr go at 7 or dont go at all.
Beach is wonderfull and house riff great for snorkeling beginners. Wonderfull to watch Picasso fish and giant clams. But all over the whole resort and the whole of Palau is just a great rip off, all is outragesly expensive, and having the same prize by far not the Maledive Standard. Snorkling is fantastic if you are guided to the right places ( we where once and once we where not), but all over it is only for the divers, go somewhere else if you are not diving and save a lot of money. And the best comes, when leaving, the airport charges you 50 US Dollars, but no one tells you in advance. I have visited 140 countries, this is the only one charging you for visiting. Shame, never again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    241
    56
    14
    11
See reviews for
191
337
35
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Palau is primarily a diving location, and PPR serves very well for this, and that is the basis for this review. I would agree that if you envision spending your vacation lounging on the beach with the beautiful people this might not be a true 5 star experience, but any dive trip does not leave much time for that. We stayed in a "junior suite", and the experience was much like the previous reviewer of this same room. The room is large and the beds comfortable. The air conditioning worked perfectly. Our daughter slept in a roll away bed that did fine. For all of its floor space, I thought the room slightly lacking in storage space given the extra suitcases that seem to be required of any dive trip. The bathroom had a separate stall shower and tub/shower, and the Toyo toilet mentioned elsewhere. The "mini-bar" was only stocked with very expensive soda and a beer or two. The room safe worked as advertised. The TV worked fine, no DVD player available.

Our experience with the service was wonderful. Each time we returned to the hotel we were warmly greeted by several staff members, and after a couple of days we were greeted by name. I was quite astonished by this, as this was during the Christmas break, and the hotel was full. Even so, I never had the feeling that things were crowded. We never had to wait for a table in the restaurant, and things like another cup of coffee were promptly attended to.

Our package included breakfast. There are a lot of Japanese tourists using this hotel, and so a large variety of Japanese foods were available for breakfast, as well as customary American fare. We like to explore different cuisines, and so really enjoyed these foods. Fairly quickly we "inverted" our eating habits, having a lot of our calories at breakfast, a light lunch on the beach during our dive trip, and finding ourselves tired enough at the end of the day that we really did not want to eat all that much. The restaurant did serve excellent food of several different types, however. It was fairly expensive. It is a 10 minute/$7.00 cab ride into town for some of the other restaurants mentioned. The two or three we tried were good but not amazing, but that might have been due to our food selections; as mentioned, we tend to order things we have not heard of before. We did pass on the fruit bat soup available at the Carp, however.

Sam's picked us up by boat promptly every morning, and the brief water taxi ride to their dock was wonderful. They returned us to the hotel by van in the afternoon. There is a simple dive shop on the premises, but most divers use other operators due to the need to travel to the main dive sites. There is a 24 hr. shop for things like snacks, aspirin and beer.

The evening entertainment at the hotel is fairly rudimentary, but very few people seemed interested in partying after a long day.

There is a nature trail that is really a great half hour walk up the hill, through the rain forest, and past a couple of old Japanese defensive caves. Anyone with any interest in WWII history must absolutely not miss a tour of Pelileu. Take the full day tour. Be prepared for some fairly strenuous walking. Our guide mentioned a "Jungle Tour" that I wish I had heard about before.

The internet is reliable but slow by most standards. Forget about logging in to the office to get a little work done. It is free, but you have to get a new access card every 4 days, and have to log on after every computer shutdown. It is a bit of a nuisance, and seems unnecessary; there are not a lot of people around other than guests who might want to try to steal free WiFi access.

The overall cost of the trip was high, but the resort costs were not incredible given the other costs like airfare and diving expenses. We spent about $500 in "extras" at the end of the two weeks at PPR above and beyond our basic package, including trinkets and tips.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautifully appointed, good food, plenty of amenities. The bed was sumptuous. The spa is out of this world in terms of settings over looking the lagoon and forest. One of the best serviced hotels I've been to. They know how to do things right, and you pay for it. They are located about a 10 to 15 minute taxi ride away, so not the most convenient if you need to do business in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We could not get rooms at PPR (Christmastime), and stayed at the nearby Cliffside which gave us vouchers to use at PPR. I have snorkeled in many places around the world, and found the snorkeling in the PPR lagoon to be the best I have ever experienced. If you don't have a voucher, it costs $50 for the day per person to use the beach, but honestly, after swimming and snorkeling there, I think it would be worth it. Besides that, the facilities were top-notch and the service outstanding. We had dinner there Christmas eve. It was $40 per person (less than I have seen in other resort hotels in Asia) and worth every penny. The food was amazing. I expected a large super resort-type experience, but PPR is actually rather small and very charming. Great attention to detail by the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tenzing58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went to Palau especially for the diving. The best diving facilities we have been to up until now together with the W Maldives: Extremely friendly staff and knowledgeable, there is everything you need equipment wise. Special hello to Jackson who is a great instructor and we did our Advanced Padi with him.

The resort now: we had room 1116 which was a Junior Suite: Bed is very very comfortable, the room is spacious, not super modern though... but we had no disappointment of insects in the rooms etc. Quiet, nice bathroom with both bath tub and shower. Japanese toilets which was nice. The best about the room is the bed, ultra comfortable... No DVD player in the room, but we were not there for that... Wifi is ok - connection is not great great but you get it free and it does the trick for emails. NO phone reception for those who come from UK at least... so you should check that before hand in case you need it.

The food: not great... quality wise. Prices are reasonable compared to other 5 star hotels we have been to. The eggs there are great, so perfect for breakfast, on the rest... barbecue on the beach, we did not like it at all it was the worse experience...... There is quite a lot of junk food. Pizza was good. The rest is really mediocre quality and cooking wise not very fond of it... We only stayed 4 days otherwise we would have gone outside the resort to try some other food.

The service: is great, this makes up for the lack of quality of the food... They are very friendly, smiley, always happy to help. They know how to make you feel home. Great bunch of people.

The place: you are minutes from the Rock Island on the boat, not far from the diving sites of Blue Whole and other beautiful sites for diving. The corals are just out of the world, snorkelling is also in the list of things to do there. The reefs, the walls are amazing. We have never seen such a dive anywhere else we have been. Maldives comes close 2nd.

Spa: the spa and treatments were great, speciality there is Balinese massages. They have a full range of treatments, and prices are reasonable compared to other 5 star hotels. We had the scrub/facial/wrap/massage package, definitely worth it!!

Room Tip: Choose a room not to close to the facilities (Pool/restaurant) to avoid having noise coming from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank go2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is nice but I would agree it isn't a 5 star, it is the nicest in Palau. I took a group of 26 people/divers and I asked to group us together the best they could in rooms that were close together. We were spread out all over the hotel, which ended up being OK. The hotel grounds are immaculate and the beach is amazing, it is the only real nice beach on the island. We had a bunch of rain which made it difficult to enjoy the resort fully.

The restaurant is pretty good, but remember you are on island time, so don't be in a hurry. The last group we brought, we stayed at the Sea Passion hotel which is about $1,500 less but does not have the beach and the hotel is not as nice. The people at the resort were nice to the group and we had no problem with rude hotel staff.

The dock was being redone, so we needed to be bussed over to Sam's Tours, which was a little inconvenient. Overall I would recommend the resort if you are looking a nice quite resort to enjoy.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank cisdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you have many experiences staying REAL 5-star hotels, you will notice that this hotel is not really deserved for an "excellent" rate. Indeed, I think this hotel may be one of the best hotels in Palau, but I would not say this hotel meets cost and performance because rooms are not so spectacular, some of staff are not friendly at all and restaurants are overpriced. I felt they tried to scrape all $$$ from customers, instead of trying to provide best customer services.
もし5スターホテルの経験が多々ある方ならこのホテルがそれと同等の評価を得るに値しないホテルだとお解かりになることでしょう。 実際たぶんこのホテルはパラオでは最高級のホテルの1つだと思いますがコストパフォーマンスはあまりよくないと思われます 理由としては部屋が使い古し感が否めない、従業員教育がたぶんしっかりなされていない、レストランは笑ってしまうくらい馬鹿げた値段設定など。
お客へのサービスよりもどれだけお客から搾り取れるか考えているようなホテルの印象がありました

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JapanSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.6 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 29 in Koror
439 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#9 of 29 in Koror
239 reviews
5.2 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#6 of 29 in Koror
28 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palau Hotel
Palau Hotel
#12 of 29 in Koror
6 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Passion hotel
Sea Passion hotel
#17 of 29 in Koror
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palau Pacific Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Pacific Resort

Property: Palau Pacific Resort
Address: Po Box 308 | PO Box 308, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0308, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Koror
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Koror
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palau Pacific Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palau Pacific Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Pacific Hotel Koror
Palau Pacific Koror
Palau Pacific Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing