We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, beautiful resort, but pricey and a bit far from town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palau Pacific Resort
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautifully appointed, good food, plenty of amenities. The bed was sumptuous. The spa is out of this world in terms of settings over looking the lagoon and forest. One of the best serviced hotels I've been to. They know how to do things right, and you pay for it. They are located about a 10 to 15 minute taxi ride away, so not the most convenient if you need to do business in town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 804 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We could not get rooms at PPR (Christmastime), and stayed at the nearby Cliffside which gave us vouchers to use at PPR. I have snorkeled in many places around the world, and found the snorkeling in the PPR lagoon to be the best I have ever experienced. If you don't have a voucher, it costs $50 for the day per person to use the beach, but honestly, after swimming and snorkeling there, I think it would be worth it. Besides that, the facilities were top-notch and the service outstanding. We had dinner there Christmas eve. It was $40 per person (less than I have seen in other resort hotels in Asia) and worth every penny. The food was amazing. I expected a large super resort-type experience, but PPR is actually rather small and very charming. Great attention to detail by the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tenzing58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went to Palau especially for the diving. The best diving facilities we have been to up until now together with the W Maldives: Extremely friendly staff and knowledgeable, there is everything you need equipment wise. Special hello to Jackson who is a great instructor and we did our Advanced Padi with him.

The resort now: we had room 1116 which was a Junior Suite: Bed is very very comfortable, the room is spacious, not super modern though... but we had no disappointment of insects in the rooms etc. Quiet, nice bathroom with both bath tub and shower. Japanese toilets which was nice. The best about the room is the bed, ultra comfortable... No DVD player in the room, but we were not there for that... Wifi is ok - connection is not great great but you get it free and it does the trick for emails. NO phone reception for those who come from UK at least... so you should check that before hand in case you need it.

The food: not great... quality wise. Prices are reasonable compared to other 5 star hotels we have been to. The eggs there are great, so perfect for breakfast, on the rest... barbecue on the beach, we did not like it at all it was the worse experience...... There is quite a lot of junk food. Pizza was good. The rest is really mediocre quality and cooking wise not very fond of it... We only stayed 4 days otherwise we would have gone outside the resort to try some other food.

The service: is great, this makes up for the lack of quality of the food... They are very friendly, smiley, always happy to help. They know how to make you feel home. Great bunch of people.

The place: you are minutes from the Rock Island on the boat, not far from the diving sites of Blue Whole and other beautiful sites for diving. The corals are just out of the world, snorkelling is also in the list of things to do there. The reefs, the walls are amazing. We have never seen such a dive anywhere else we have been. Maldives comes close 2nd.

Spa: the spa and treatments were great, speciality there is Balinese massages. They have a full range of treatments, and prices are reasonable compared to other 5 star hotels. We had the scrub/facial/wrap/massage package, definitely worth it!!

Room Tip: Choose a room not to close to the facilities (Pool/restaurant) to avoid having noise coming from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank go2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is nice but I would agree it isn't a 5 star, it is the nicest in Palau. I took a group of 26 people/divers and I asked to group us together the best they could in rooms that were close together. We were spread out all over the hotel, which ended up being OK. The hotel grounds are immaculate and the beach is amazing, it is the only real nice beach on the island. We had a bunch of rain which made it difficult to enjoy the resort fully.

The restaurant is pretty good, but remember you are on island time, so don't be in a hurry. The last group we brought, we stayed at the Sea Passion hotel which is about $1,500 less but does not have the beach and the hotel is not as nice. The people at the resort were nice to the group and we had no problem with rude hotel staff.

The dock was being redone, so we needed to be bussed over to Sam's Tours, which was a little inconvenient. Overall I would recommend the resort if you are looking a nice quite resort to enjoy.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank cisdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you have many experiences staying REAL 5-star hotels, you will notice that this hotel is not really deserved for an "excellent" rate. Indeed, I think this hotel may be one of the best hotels in Palau, but I would not say this hotel meets cost and performance because rooms are not so spectacular, some of staff are not friendly at all and restaurants are overpriced. I felt they tried to scrape all $$$ from customers, instead of trying to provide best customer services.
もし5スターホテルの経験が多々ある方ならこのホテルがそれと同等の評価を得るに値しないホテルだとお解かりになることでしょう。 実際たぶんこのホテルはパラオでは最高級のホテルの1つだと思いますがコストパフォーマンスはあまりよくないと思われます 理由としては部屋が使い古し感が否めない、従業員教育がたぶんしっかりなされていない、レストランは笑ってしまうくらい馬鹿げた値段設定など。
お客へのサービスよりもどれだけお客から搾り取れるか考えているようなホテルの印象がありました

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JapanSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Palau is a difficult destination to reach, but once there...... it's Eden-like. As scuba divers, we focused our trip their on a week-long live-aboard dive boat (the subject of another review), but we book-ended the yacht experience with a night at PPR before, and two afterwards.

A magnificent place, fabulous food on premises, great snorkeling, a beautiful beach, interesting walks, and a staff that understands great service. (I have read other reviews which criticize service, but that was not our experience). It is pricey, but when you figure that everything has to be flown or boated in over distance, it's not out of line.

I don't think another venue on Palau can match PPR on all counts. Comfortable, quiet, and rather large rooms. Internet access (including wifi) was free and easy. We had difficult flight times, but the staff was able to coordinate our needs wonderfully well.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pond are less expensive but lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaryfromChevyChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Palau Pacific is one of the "better" hotels in Palau. It has a great location facing a beautiful beach and has a large garden with fish bond where you can feed the fish every day.
We had a room at the back for the first couple of nights, facing the congrete jetty. Not very pretty! It was quiet, but also very dark. After a few nights we moved to another family room facing he pool with lots of light and splendid views to the pool and the sea. Rooms are very basic but clean, the balcony spacious. They should consider refurbishing a little, that would make a huge difference!

Food wasn't anything special, it was greasy and they wanted to deep-fry everything. It was quite difficult to order vegetarian options and our veggie daughter ate the same tempura maybe 10 times during our stay! Luckily there are some good restaurants nearby, so after a few nights we decided to take a taxi and have dinner elsewhere.

The housekeeping and bar staff were the greatest, really friendly and hospitable. Unfortunately the personnel at the restaurant and front desk weren't as competent.

Our kids loved the pool and the fantastic beach, and there was always something nice for them to explore; kittens, chickens, frogs and plenty of fish. Management drink night was also lovely with great performers and drinks and nibbly bits on the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diverstroms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.6 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 30 in Koror
465 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#10 of 30 in Koror
248 reviews
5.2 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#4 of 30 in Koror
44 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
1.4 mi away
Cliffside Hotel Palau
Cliffside Hotel Palau
#24 of 30 in Koror
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palau Pacific Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Pacific Resort

Address: PO BOX 308 | PO Box 308, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0308, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Koror
#1 Romantic Hotel in Koror
Price Range: $352 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palau Pacific Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palau Pacific Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Pacific Hotel Koror
Palau Pacific Koror
Palau Pacific Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing