We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palau Pacific Resort
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I visited Palau on business and my colleagues arranged for me to stay at PPR (as it is known locally). It is Palau's oldest resort but you would never know. The property is immaculate, the rooms newly renovated, and the beach is amazing white sand. I ws there for 5 nights and only regret I was not able to truly vacation. The staff are very friendly and available. Snorkeling and kayaking was terrific. I only dined there one night -- though I did breakfast there each day -- and I enjoyed the restaurant and found the food very good. High on my list for a return. One warning: roosters roam the property and *will* wake you at 5:00. Cute the first time . . .

Room Tip: Internet purchased at $5 an hour and is cumulative. If you use 30 minutes one day you use the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 804 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

The resort itself is built Palau style and very well furnished. Bathroom is equipped with shower stall, bath tub and a high-tech toto toilet seat. Our room was on the second floor with a swiping view of the ocean. Bottles of water provided during our stay. The only negative was that we had to pay for the wi-fi and slow Internet connection. We ordered both Japanese style and American breakfast from the room service menu and the food was quite good. Palau Pacific is without a doubt the best place on the island to stay at, employees were nice and helpful. Many activities were available to us right there along with amazing snorkeling and scuba diving. The bay is beautiful and quiet most of the time. This place is great for relaxing on a romantic getaway or to have fun with the whole family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

it is worth of living in Palau only in this very hotel! we treavelled with a 10months doughter, and that was a real pleasure to be there. verything is just for you and your wishes. the onle thing was dissappointing is the cold flour in the room(1st flour garden view), that was not good for the baby. and the rooms are not so big as wanted. but the service make its best!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korovaarisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

You might expect thorough service - attention to detail - when staying at a premier resort hotel such as PPR. Unfortunately this was not our experience.

The resort is very nice. The grounds are well laid out. You have access to a great snorkel area. Pool, hot tub, salt water pond with sting ray and sea turtle inhabitants. The rooms are impeccable. Therefore, you might think that service at this resort might live up to a similar standard of luxury.

We found the waiters in the coconut lounge restaurant to be absentee. Room service was also problematic, as we couldn't seem to get a simple sandwich order right. The front desk had an asian and Palauan receptionist, but only the Palauan speaks English, which can be inconvenient in a crunch. We had a room overlooking the central pool/hot tub area, which was nice (see picture), but on more than one occasions the staff was pushing a broom to clean the concrete pool deck at 4AM in the morning, which woke me almost immediately. Staff had no problem starting up a leaf blower while we were sitting out by the tennis courts, or to run a construction operation (large tent erection using a diesel powered crane/truck) while we were sun bathing on the beach. We had a miscommunication with the on-site dive company about our diving reservation, and we were in danger of staying high and dry in Palau, a destination known for the best SCUBA diving in the world. The onsite spa charged an outrageous amount for a sub-par pedicure. PPR was flighty about providing an airport transport, and they don't have any indoor air conditioned common spaces to span the couple of hours between check out time and when we could catch the shuttle to the airport.

I was perplexed by this experience. Does it matter that the resort has such great potential if there is no follow through by staff? We aren't the type of people to take this sitting down, and on a couple of occasions, we spoke with the management about our experience. Lucy, the assistant general manager, had a personal contact with a SCUBA diving company in Koror called Fish and Fins. In the end I was able to realize my SCUBA diving dreams, but frankly I didn't expect to have to fret over it. Serious divers shouldn't expect to be taken care of a PPR's Splash, which is a shame because the on site marina and dive facilities would have been very convenient. Apparently Splash is a privately run company, and they aren't very profitable. People like us come to Palau explicitly for the SCUBA diving, so the status of this resort very much depends on the quality of it's diving operation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We absolutely loved it and hope to return someday.

We spent 6 nights here, 3 before a liveaboard and 3 after - and we loved it. While we have a strong desire to explore, we stopped leaving after a few nights because we always had a better time there than else where.

The location is great, the bay is awesome for swimming/snorkling, the tennis courts are great (just expect to sweat - a lot), staff is terrific, gym is ok.

The only negative thing I can say (other than the arm and leg it costs) is the food was a disappointment. However, we didn't really find better food elsewhere (only better value perhaps, but it was a crap shoot, we had some appallingly bad food at some of the restaurants in Palau). And the breakfast buffet was pretty solid, and the guy that works the egg/pancake/noodle bar was great and would make us pancakes that looked like sea creatures - pretty fun. We would eat a large enough breakfast that we could make it through to dinner. We also brought our own liquor we got at duty free at our transfer and would make our own mixed drinks with mango juice in our room and hang out on the balcony as the drinks at the bar were western priced - about $8/drink.

We also stayed with an ocean view the first 3 nights, and a garden view the second 3. There was a noticeable difference in service that came with the more expensive ocean view room - they definitely kept the room nicer and serviced it multiple times a day.

Anyway, we loved it and won't stay anywhere else if we return to Palau.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nakedespresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This resort is top of the line and you will LOVE the bathrooms and well... everything about it. Stayed 2 nights before leaving on the Aggressor live-a-board to DIVE.

You will be astounded at this resort, staff who will call you by name and happy to be there.

Room Tip: Depends if you want to be alone or by events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MF A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I tried to give the hotel 5 stars but that would require it to be about $100/day less costly.
It is a really excellent place to stay, with quality services, good staff and quality rooms, really good vacation facilties and the very excellent beach - but it isn't perfect.
Always number one for accommodation in Palau.
Palaun style will always mean the very good service that you will get is not the crisp, perfect service some may expect.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goin_too_far_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.6 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 30 in Koror
465 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#10 of 30 in Koror
248 reviews
5.2 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#4 of 30 in Koror
44 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
1.4 mi away
Cliffside Hotel Palau
Cliffside Hotel Palau
#24 of 30 in Koror
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palau Pacific Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Pacific Resort

Address: PO BOX 308 | PO Box 308, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0308, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Koror
#1 Romantic Hotel in Koror
Price Range: $352 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palau Pacific Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palau Pacific Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Pacific Hotel Koror
Palau Pacific Koror
Palau Pacific Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing