We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Passion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Passion
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed several places in Palau and we thought on the last night we would treat ourselves to a posh place for the last night...

The beach was full of dead coral and trash.

There is a bar in the hotel that played really loud music all night long so we couldn't sleep.

The free breakfast was gross... the rice tasted like it was from the day before, and the orange juice was sunny delight but was not labelled.

The room itself was nice enough, and clean, and the view was alright. The Shower was the biggest shower in the world, which was ridiculous but cool.

Personally, I wouldn't stay here again because I had no sleep and was pissed off that I was tricked into drinking Sunny Delight. The beach isn't worth it as once you get on it you probably won't want to swim because its so dirty.

There is a bus from the front into town which is a bonus because it is far too far to walk into town which was another annoyance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ltravel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    109
    48
    11
    8
See reviews for
28
78
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed in Palau as part of a month long holiday visiting Micronesian islands. We booked the Sea Passion through Sam's Tours while also booking a number of day tours with Sams as well. The price was very reasonable and included breakfast, which as mentioned by everyone before me was very good and catered for pretty much every taste. The hotel rooms were very clean and very spacious. I agree with a previous reviewer that having drying racks in the bathrooms would be ideal, as there is a lot of room and it is very difficult to hang anything or get anything dry otherwise. We tried the Japanese restaurant in the hotel, which was an odd experience, too many people in charge but the food was excellent and a fantastic relief from the pretty awful food we ate everywhere else on our trip. We also ate at Kramers, a short walk from the hotel, which offered interesting and slightly creative variations on local quisine and produce. Sam's Tours were a walk away but they still picked you up if you requested it. The service at the hotel was very pleasant and the reception staff were lovely and chatty, nothing was too much to ask. The internet access in the lobby was convenient and one of only 2 places we stayed at that actually had reliable coverage and service. I would definitely stay there again, it is nice to have some creature comforts especially when travelling with small children after returning from day snorkelling tours. There is a sunken Japanese zero fighter just a short swim off the hotel's private beach, pretty impressive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiritlevel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

This hotel provides breakfast daily, including made- to-order omelettes. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The views from the room were incredible. My only complaint is the lack of privacy in the bathroom as sound does tend to travel from the curious sliding shutters in the shower stall. Also, there is no tub, only a very large shower.
The mattress is very firm as is typical in this part of the world.
While there is no coffee pot in the room, hot and cold water are available on every floor, so bring your french press and coffee.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sea Passion. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Our room was large and overlooked the water. There is a mini-refrigerator, but no coffee-maker. Hot water dispenser in the hall. Internet access available in the lobby. Breakfast was included in our package-Eggs cooked to order, bacon, sausage,cereal, different hot dishes, fruits, breads and juices. Didn't try the dinners, but there are several places to eat close by. Kramer's is good and Sam's Bottom Time bar & grill too. Taj Indian restaurant is a quick taxi ride and my favorite-excellent food! My only suggestion to the hotel is that they could add large 'drying racks' for all the diving/snorkelling/wet bathing suits. The bathrooms are large and would easily accomodate this.
This hotel is ideally located close (5 minute walk) to Sam's Tours-a fantastic dive center and tour company.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onthegoNagoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERKELEY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed at the Sea Passion while diving w/Fish n Fins. Our first choice was Palau Pacific Resort where we stayed before but they were fully booked and the dive operation recommended this fairly new place. It was about 1/2 the price of PPR but its beach is not as nice as PPR. We tried swimming one day but it was low tide and we just ran aground on the rocks. The room had a nice view of the Rock Islands and the water but they also operate a jet-ski, kayak, and small dock so every afternoon it got very noisy with people loudly racing their jet-skis. The hotel was full but it was very quiet at night and the bed was very comfortable. Each floor has a nice filtered water machine with hot, cold, and room temperature water, ask for some mugs and you can make coffee & tea in your room. The breakfast buffet (included in our rate) was very good with made-to-order omelets, eggs, meats, fruits, cereals, bagels, and several asian noodle dishes and soups. The location was good and it only took 5 minutes to get to the dive shop or the restaurants.
Because we were gone diving from 8:00-5:00 or 6 the place was fine but we missed the beautiful beach at PPR and would probably stay there next time for our non-diving days. The bathroom was odd: the shower water drained into the main part of the bathroom so that the floor was always wet and kind of gross. If we returned to the Sea Passion we would probably try to get a larger room, our single ocean-view was pretty tight All in all a good stay, the staff were nice and helpful. We also dined at the in-house Japanese restaurant and thought it was average. We enjoyed the 5 minute taxi ride to Taj for Indian food. There is internet in the lobby for a $5 charge for your entire stay. There were some other odd service issues- the elevator was dangerous and would prematurely close as you were trying to board. We had black&blue marks from being slammed by the elevator! Also the top-sheet on the queen bed was for a single bed, we got another sheet and kept changing it but housekeeping would change it back?? Not deal-breakers just odd.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilmaXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

This was an excellent hotel with spectacular views. Rooms were clean and service was extremely helpful and friendly. It was a little way away from downtown Koror but a not unpleasant walk and was extremely convenient for the dive centre I was using.

Only problem was that it took me until the end of my stay to find the English translation of the aircon controls on the back of the hotel service card so had to settle for hitting random buttons until it worked.

Wifi was US$5 for the entire stay but wasn't the greatest speed of connection I've ever come across and could only be used in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

Newly opened hotel. Located across street from Palau Royal. We pick this over others and we were very pleased. We are usually Sheraton type.
BEACH: Palau Pacific has a large beach, Sea Passion has small man made sandy beach surrounded by rock cropping, swimmable, kayak, walk in snorkel . Beautiful, calm clear water with very peaceful setting.
FOOD: Restaurant was not fully functional, but breakfast was 3-4+. Japanese Rest. Upstairs—reasonable price and good food.
ROOM: Very clean, comfortable bed with large shower. Cable TV, In room refrig. Hot water dispenser in Hallway. Bring cups and coffee.
SHOPPING: Gift shop in the lobby. Grocery store nearby.
STAFF: Very friendly and helpful.
POOL: Small. Dip in Pool.
TOUR: We booked with Hanatour.com Korea with ICN air inclusive.(Great & cheapest)
They have a tour office in the hotel,also.
MUST DO: have a GREAT massage in the room. Jellyfish lake. Milky way. Long beach.

YES, We would go back. Unless you want a night life, you won’t go to Palau anyway, if you enjoy pristine, unspoiled, peaceful, beautiful water to relax and enjoy, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DREAMAVACATION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.7 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 30 in Koror
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#8 of 30 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palau Paradise Hotel
Palau Paradise Hotel
#5 of 30 in Koror
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
West Plaza Coral Reef Hotel
1.1 mi away
West Plaza by the Sea
West Plaza by the Sea
#17 of 30 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Passion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Passion

Property: Sea Passion
Address: P.O. Box 10068, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0876, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Passion 3*
Number of rooms: 1877
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Passion Hotel is located on Malakal island, in the state of Koror. We are a small boutique hotel with 77 rooms available. We offer a variety of rooms for different types of travelers, and we cater to guests from different continents from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea Passion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Passion Hotel Koror
Sea Passion Palau, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing