We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management and staff go the extra mile”
Review of Sea Passion hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Passion hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Koror
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I recently stayed 2 nights at Sea Passion Hotel--Sydney Chou was superb as the accommodations person who saw to my reservation, both before I arrived and when I left (on a late checkout) for my 1:45AM flight.
I was originally in room 201--an adequate room--but when I asked for a late checkout for the second night, I had to move to a different room--310--which was much nicer.
The staff (including a young Chinese woman from Guangzhou who was an intern) and Nazar (hope I have the spelling right)--an amazingly multi-lingual young man)--could not have been nicer helping me move.
A downside of the Sea Passion--or maybe flights from Palau--is that guests have to pay half the room rate to stay until just 6pm--and then, of course, there is another 6 hours before leaving for the flight. Try to negotiate something later--it just might work!.

Room Tip: Use Sam's Tours for snorkel/kayak expeditions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejgCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in May 2014 on our way to a scuba diving holiday on a local dive operator's live-aboard ship.
The brochure pictures make the location look idyllic, and to be fair the setting is pretty much just that, the hotel looks splendid with a beautiful secluded bay area and an 'over water bar' in the cove where the hotel is situated, so why only an Average rating ?

This hotel seems to cater mainly for the Asia Pacific customers, the food menu was very much geared to that market rather than western tastes, so unless you are very keen to try just about anything unfamiliar on the menu lists you might find the catering side of the operation disappointing.
While there were 2 choices of cereal available as well as some fruit and toast there was little else that those of us from Europe would be familiar with for breakfast, unless you are familiar with having a roast dinner for breakfast.
My wife asked for a hard boiled egg from the catering staff, this eventually arrived after 20 minutes.
The cereal container didn't get replenished unless you actually made a point of taking it to the staff and the provision of milk for your cereal was a similar story, sorry Sea Passion, but this was a very poor example of hotel catering.

The staff were not particularly friendly or helpful in our experience, although the attitude towards Asia Pacific customers was markedly different, it seemed nothing was too much trouble for the target market.

We were supposed to be provided with a bottle of fresh drinking water each in our room each day, this wasn't provided at all during our stay even after asking for it, bedding wasn't changed until it was demanded and the quality of the sheets was rather rough, on top of this when the sheets did arrive we had to make up the bed ourselves as the staff member who brought them apparently wasn't 'housekeeping staff' so not his job I guess.

Equipment in the room was all labelled in oriental script, trying to figure out how to use the Aircon controller was an 'amusing; experience.
Whilst I liked the large size wet room and shower, I didn't like the visit we had from 2 good size cockroaches that seemed to have come up from the drainage pipes in the wet room, this made for a couple of sessions of chasing them around the wet room trying to eliminate them, which I did after quite a while !

During one of the days my wife ordered a meal at lunch time, she was not at all happy with what she was presented with or how it was presented, the tables were dirty, causing her to have to move tables several times, the cloth napkin looked like it had already been used, being already wrinkled and dirty.
The food its self was un appetizing and left her with an upset stomach, we chose to eat elsewhere after that experience, there was nothing exotic about about this meal it was just mushroom soup and a cheese & ham sandwich which my wife said was disgusting.

when we were trying to get into town the staff failed to offer or suggest a reliable local taxi or bus service.
Outwardly the hotel promises much but for us, failed to deliver very much in the way of an enjoyable experience, we would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Graham105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Even if you're not diving with Sam's, this was a very good place to stay. This was the hotel that we selected with our Sam's diving package. It is about a 3 minute boat ride from their dock and they will pick you up at 8:30. But if you do not want to wait for the other guests to get their act together, it is a 5 minute walk. And if you forget something, you can easily walk back to Sea Passion or Sam's to get it. After the 2nd day, we chose to walk.

As for the hotel, it met all our needs. The room was very nice with a small balcony, comfortable bed, good A/C, a small refrigerator and TV. The bathroom was good size with a huge 4ft x 8ft shower room with plenty of hot water (In fact there was so much we had to have maintenance adjust it. Made up for all the other places we've been without hot water) Our room had a nice view over the lagoon. The breakfast buffet included both Asian and Western foods and it was changed a little every day. There is a restaurant and bar and other places to eat within a short walk. It is basically a no smoking hotel with smoking allowed in only one corner of the main level (which smelled like an ashtray)

The hotel seems to be under new ownership. While we were there, new towels replaced the old ones and we saw new plants brought into the lobby. The gift shop was being remodeled and is probably now open. The staff is very helpful but some are new and don't yet know the area very well. The area around the pool and dock are being improved. There is a dive shop on site.

There is a tiny sandy beach for access to snorkeling. It was a great snorkel site with giant clams and some of the prettiest branching coral only a few feet under the surface. There was also an old Japanese Zero.

We would not hesitate to stay here again. We expect it will be even nicer then.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I was there for a day recently. The room was clean and the bed was large with a good mattress.
The staff was helpful and attentive. There is a nice lagoon for snorkeling and also a pool. There is a restaurant and a bar. Internet is on the first and second floor only, no internet in the rooms. A/C in to room was excellent. The price was a very reasonable $165/night. The downtown is a few min. away by car , $7 taxi ride.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markymark10022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at the Sea Passion for my three nights in Palau and would recommend them. I thought they had a good price, and I was upgraded to a large corner room with balcony- very nice of them. The air conditioning worked well enough, ceiling fan, the room had a small fridge, plenty of hot water for the shower (although you will likely want non-hot water too, it’s super hot and humid in Palau), room was clean, comfortable bed, drapes that keep the room dark if you like. Oh yeah, on each floor they have a filtered water machine where you can get cold or hot water for free, so bring a reusable water bottle and you will save some money with this benefit.

One of the few cons to list was you could only do wifi in the lobby area or a room specifically for wifi on the second floor (bring your own device). They do tell you that up front, the wifi room is air conditioned and comfortable, and for my short stay it ended up not really being an issue. Not good if you have to do work, but likely you are in Palau for vacation and not business.

Breakfast (6-10am) was included each morning and I would say it was very good. Eggs cooked to order (note the egg cook doesn’t show up until about 7:15) , a large variety of western and Asian options that they switched up a little bit every day for variety. They do offer lunch and dinner options in the first floor area but I did not get to try it. There is a nice dedicated bar area right on the water, but only a few people were their when I looked. I am certainly not the nightlife expert though.

Location was ideal for me- you could walk back from Sam’s if you wanted to, Impac was close by, several convenience shops close by, PRR and xxxxx just down the road if you wanted to go there. A taxi charged me $6 for a ride into town (probably not the local rate), and it was a about a 40min walk back. Note a handful of restaurants will do transport for free. Town didn’t seem like a great place to stay- for my trip better to commute into town and stay outside of it. Hotel is about a 30min drive from the airport.

The desk staff was helpful, and you can rent underwater digital cameras for your water activities for $35-40/day. If I had it to do over I would have rented the higher end camera they have for my trip to Mandarin Lake, where I likely could have gotten better pics of those little guys. After my second day BOTH the underwater cameras I had brought with me failed, so I am very glad the hotel had this option for me. There is a small pool and beach I didn’t really use, towels can be checked out for free.

If you want a luxury resort experience you should pay more for PRR or PPR (spa, bigger pool and beach, more people, dedicated restaurants), but I very much enjoyed my stay at the Sea Passion.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 505
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whereisdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The staff was very nice, helpful and always kind. The hotel has a veeery nice private beach where you can snorkel and relax. It has all comforts. Nice beach bar, restaurant and everything generally. The best time is relaxing at the bar during sunset. If you can not go somewhere else to eat, meals there are not expensive and tasty enough. Breakfast is also very nice!! Rooms have lot of space (we stayed in ocean view). I am totally satisfied!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _Antonis_ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I will stay 29. Aug-31. Aug in this hotel.
But I wanted to cancel for some reason. But Hotel staff said Full refund is not possible. They charged me bank refund fee.
I found this hotel's cancellation policy.
In the policy when I have a reservation through internet, they can charge bank refund fee. But I didn't reserve on website. Hotel staff assist my reservation & paying for room rate. They send me off-line Merchant copy. The Hotel Website Booking system had broken down at that time!
This hotel staff is not honest. The staff told me that " Hotel's Policy is not my Policy!!!!!"
You even didn't read my E-mail. You did't send me your answer. I heard your hotel is 3th best hotel. But I think it's lie.
Your E mail service is the worst. I had to call your hotel on my phone to get your answer. Because you never checked your E-mail.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank minlee0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
0.3 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 31 in Koror
470 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#10 of 31 in Koror
249 reviews
4.6 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palau Hotel
Palau Hotel
#5 of 31 in Koror
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliffside Hotel Palau
Cliffside Hotel Palau
#25 of 31 in Koror
82 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#3 of 31 in Koror
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Passion hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Passion hotel

Address: Malakal, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau (Formerly 海的熱情酒店)
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Koror
Price Range: $188 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Passion hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Passion Hotel is located on Malakal island, in the state of Koror. We are a small boutique hotel with 77 rooms available. We offer a variety of rooms for different types of travelers, and we cater to guests from different continents from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sea Passion hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Passion Hotel Koror
Sea Passion Hotel Palau, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing