We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel at a reasonable price”
Review of Sea Passion hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Passion hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay in Room 505 at this hotel which is apparently the best room in the hotel. The owner stays in this room while he is in town. I highly recommend you request this room when you book. It is on the front corner of the hotel looking over the water.

The rooms are about average. Having a ceiling fan helped circulate the cool air. We were able to keep our room cool in the evening which was nice given the humid warm weather outside.

The hotel only offers internet access in the lobby for $5 per device for the length of your stay. As was noted in many other reviews, this is painfully slow.

Our room, we could see 3GPlus SSID. It took us several days to find a store that would sell the internet access cards. We finally found one in town called Burger House which is located near Mingles. A $10 card gives you 5 hours of internet access at much faster speeds than is offered in the lobby.

The free breakfast at the hotel was ok. They had a wide range of cultures to accommodate and did a reasonable job. We were told that the chef from Drop Off had recently moved over to the restaurant at Sea Passion, but we didn't think the food was better.

Room Tip: A water facing room is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank repus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 216 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent One Night at Sea Passion before embarking on Dive Liveaboard Ocean Hunter III and then 5 nights on our return from the cruise.
Staff are friendly and were always on hand if you required anything.
Room on our first night provided us the essentials for a nights stay though the room we were provided on our return from Ocean Hunter was much nicer, bright, large and had a nice view over the lagoon. Japenese Restaurant served very nice food and The Thai Massage provided on level two of the Hotel was very good and brought my body back into "like new" condition.
Hotel location was very handy and made a very good base to explore the whole island.
Hotel was also close to all the dive and tour operators, museums and cultural sights.
Our Taxi Driver James Bond and Leo were always there to take us where we wanted to go and were great and taking us where we wanted to get.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lagoon are quieter and have a better view of rock island
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Convenient location to Sam's Tours if you are diving with them as it is just round the corner. However, given how small Koror is - getting anywhere is really not a huge problem.The positives are friendly staff, large rooms and comfortable beds. Rooms are large and will easily accommodate a family of 4. Laundry services are very reasonable (US$10 for 15 pieces).

The hotel is currently having some sort of renovation on its 2nd floor, which is a good sign as the place definitely need some work or rather the carpets should be taken out and replaced with something more suitable for a tropical climate. The carpets in the rooms are really old and part of the problem is that is really an unsuitable flooring for a beach resort. We very quickly got tired of the breakfast after our 2nd day there. Internet service is slow in the room but believe that is across entire Palau as you are essentially buying a hotspot service from one of the providers.

Try the 'Jive' restaurant which is just across the bay. it is no more than a 10 minutes walk. They provide a pickup service so call them. It is an open air place and serves a mix of Palau dishes and good seafood.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YING L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We spent 6 nights here in total, spilt around our trip on the Palau Aggressor II liveaboard (which was amazing!!!). The location of the Sea Passion on Malakal Island is close to some great bars, restaurants and dive operators. It's also within walking distance of downtown Koror but the staff are happy to call you a taxi.

We found our room (406) to be excellent condition with beautiful views. The showers work fine if you take the time to read the notice on the shower wall that identifies the hot and cold taps and realise that there is a time lag between making adjustments and the temperature of the water.

Breakfast was varied and eggs are cooked to order. We also ate the occasional lunch or dinner at the Sea Passion and found the meals to be good value and tasty. They also have a juice bar and serve the best homemade lemonade in Palau (and we did our research!)

The beach bar and private beach are great additions and we really enjoyed snorkelling the fringing reef of the neighbouring rock island and the zero fighter just off the beach. Overall, it was a very relaxing start and end to our trip. We highly recommend the Sea Passion to anyone visiting Koror.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent seven nights at this hotel while diving at Sam's. The service was wonderful. The buffet breakfast was terrific. The location was perfect, near several restaurants in walking distance and a few convenience stores. It is also in walking distance to Sam's Tours. The rooms could use a slight facelift with better lighting in the bathrooms. All in all I was very happy with this hotel and would definitely use it again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Buffet breakfast is included and diverse in choice given the remote location. Rooms are large with good views. Getting on in age but is clean and comfortable. Dive boat picks you up from the dock. good snorkelling just outside your door. Staff were friendly and helpful. This is not 5 star but we would definitely stay here again.

Only complaint hot water is touchyl to adjust.

$5.00 in a cab to town

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great place to stay chose the romantic room best view people were very friendly and helpful would stay there again breakfast was great anything you wanted
Picked up every morning by Sams dive tours what a great outfit to dive with nothing was too hard and there dive guides are fantastic.special thanks to sixA and Michelle
Picked a different restaurant every night meals were cheap and most places served good meals for around $7.00 dollars
Only ate once at the sea passion had pizza was great great place

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
0.3 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 30 in Koror
464 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#10 of 30 in Koror
247 reviews
4.6 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#4 of 30 in Koror
44 reviews
0 mi away
Palau Vacation Hotel
Palau Vacation Hotel
#26 of 30 in Koror
8 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palau Hotel
Palau Hotel
#6 of 30 in Koror
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Passion hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Passion hotel

Address: Malakal, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau (Formerly 海的熱情酒店)
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Price Range: $190 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Passion hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Passion Hotel is located on Malakal island, in the state of Koror. We are a small boutique hotel with 77 rooms available. We offer a variety of rooms for different types of travelers, and we cater to guests from different continents from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Passion hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Passion Hotel Koror
Sea Passion Hotel Palau, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing