We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Sea Passion hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Passion hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Passion for eight nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only item I would advise visitors, would be about the showers in the rooms. As I believe another reviewer has indicated, the showers have a mind of their own. Probably the best advice to using the shower would be to turn on the hot water, then incrementally and slowly turn on the cold water to mix with the hot. That technique does not always work, but it does work sometimes. You may also want to ask the front desk for a sheet on your bed instead of sleeping under the duvet since you want need a cover that heavy. If you don't get an ocean view room, the rooms facing the hillside are just fine, even more so since they give you more privacy and you can scan the vegetation for birds.
Overall though my wife and I found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating.
You can have the front desk staff call a taxi for you if you need to get anywhere in Palau including land tours. There are showers outside adjacent to the lagoon where you can shower after snorkeling. The lagoon is ideal for a good snorkel in the morning or afternoon.
The in house restaurant provides good service and food. The outdoor bar is fun to go to have a drink before dinner and Maynerd, the bar tender, is famous for is bottle juggling. Maynerd makes a mean, but good Mai Tai and other tropical rum based drinks, especially the mojitos.
Even though the hotelis right by the main road in to downtown Koror, the rooms are very quiet.

Room Tip: Step right out of the hotel into the beautiful lagoon for a snorkel!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f16addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Sea Passion hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 213 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

In December 2012 we stayed at the Sea Passion in Koror Palau for three nights before boarding a live aboard dive boat. As with many hotels there were pluses and minuses which I will share with you. Overall the staff is friendly and helpful. We each had three excellent massages at a fair price. The Sea Passion is located in a convenient location with the town, harbor and restaurants close by. We had excellent meals at the Bottom Time Grill (Sam’s dive center), the Drop Off Bar & Grill (by Neco Marine) and the Palm Bay Bistro which are all within walking distance. Our Deluxe Ocean View room offered excellent views and it was very roomy with a couch, table and chair. The bed and bedding is both top notch. The wardrobe was inadequate as it only offered some room to hang clothing and pile the rest of your clothes on the bottom of it. The top of the wardrobe was too dirty to place clothing on and there was not a drawer in the room. The lanais are only wide enough to stand on. In general our room was tired and had no storage. The outside lounge chairs are uncomfortable because they are wood with no pads available. The breakfast buffet left much to be desired! The only mixed drink we ordered at the Sea Passion took twenty minutes to receive and had a splash of alcohol in it…lesson learned quickly--do not order mixed drinks.
Additionally, Leo, a taxi driver we hired, took us on a private tour around the island of Babelthuap, he was very knowledgeable about the history of Palau and he took us to the area around the Capital that was devastated by the typhoon in early December. Leo spoke good English and was easy to understand. We highly recommend him and his cell number is 779-5280.

Room Tip: Choose a 180 degree ocean view room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Sea Passion is the best location (together with the Royal Palau) if you are diving with Sam Tours. Both hotels are within walking distance to Sam`s (5 min.) and have a beach where you can enjoy your dive-free days.

The pick-up time for Sam´s tours is at 08:30 am by boat off the pier of the resort and takes 5 min. So short ways and the best restaurants of the area such as Kraemer´s and Palm Bay Bistro are also nearby.

The rooms at Sea Passion are according to their category, some very spacious deluxe rooms, smaller standard rooms and the best rooms on the 5th floor with an own terrace. Bathrooms have been designed without any real passion and are only basically equipped. Bad light situation, the lack of towel hooks and ugly tiles make you use the bathroom only when necessary.
The room equipment is equally basic, with an open wardrobe and some hangers, an empty mini-fridge, a TV, two single seaters and a small table. Beds are good and mattresses firm but the carpet has not seen a vacuum cleaner for months. Actually, we had three different rooms during our 3-week stay and all had equally dirty carpets. You see the cleaning ladies wiping the outside corridors but in all that time I haven´t even seen a vacuum cleaner. The floor therefore is very filthy and you don´t want to walk around bare-foot and then put your feet under the linen.

Unfortunately, most staff has no adequate training which makes the hotel from a potentially 4**** place to a 2** hotel. Staff at reception won´t be very helpful, the standard answer to questions or complaints with the room is “come back later”. Internet is working very badly and it takes hours to check your emails. Furthermore, you will not get the password for it but they will type it into your device as “guests can not be trusted to pass the password on to other guests“ (!!!!!) To the same people I should hand out my valuables to a safebox at reception which can only be closed by a key - and of course they have a spare one in case a guest will loose his!! Internet is either USD 5 for the whole stay or USD 3 for one hour if you use the hotel computers and the signal only works in the lobby - if there is any!!! We hardly could check our emails and we strongly do not recommend this hotel if you need to stay in touch with your workplace! Even at Sam´s Tours there is at least a moderate internet connection but if you want to do your emails in dry clothes rather than in wet dive suits Sea Passion is not capable of providing a working internet line and within the three weeks of our stay there was no attempt to improve it despite several complaints from various guests.

The hotel has a Japanese restaurant and a snack bar al fresco where you can get pizza, salads and some dessert. Although prices seem to be adequate at first glance you soon find out that the USD 16 for a pizza at Sea Passion also buys you a delicious yellow fin sashimi as starter and an excellent grilled fish steak as main course at the marina restaurants (see my comment on Kraemer´s restaurant).

Breakfast is okay, with a choice of different toast and bagels, jam, cheese, freshly made omletts, cerals, fruit, cake and some warm dishes.

All in all, we would pick up this hotel again for a next diving holiday for its great location and it is a shame that nobody seems to bother about its potencial as it could easily be so much better by just being more customer and service-orientated.

Room Tip: 5th flloor: very spacious suites with own terracce
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kokukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in the large family room, which was set up very well. 3 double beds, one of which was more private with curtains. Bathroom and shower are very large and water pressure was good. I would suggest many more towel racks or hanging racks as there is really limited places to put several swimsuits and wet towels. Large flat screen TV had many channels with a wide variety. There are water dispensers on every floor and there was one only steps from our room. Very convenient for hot water for tea or coffee. No wifi in the rooms, which is a drawback. The limited access in the lobby was also not particularly fast but reasonable at $5/person for the entire stay. Breakfast buffet was below average but, enough to get by. We never tried any other meals at the hotel so not sure how they compare.
Probably the best feature of this hotel is its location. It is situated on a very nice little cove so the snorkeling is great, right off the beach. You can also rent kayaks and paddle around the area. It is easy walking distance to Neco Marine or Sams, which is convenient. We did not need to use any taxis this visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Sea Passion is primarily aimed at the Japanese market, but is fine for other nationalities. It has a very convenient location, close to the main diving operators and there are restaurants nearby. I had a room facing the hillside that was roomy, clean and comfortable, with a large balcony too. The Ocean View rooms have a better outlook, but of course cost more. Good pool and beachside bar - but be warned to splodge up with mozzie cream if visiting in the evening

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very decent hotel for a dive trip, big rooms and comfortable beds. The shower is large, water pressure very good.

Airport transfers were on time, the staff friendly and accommodating.

I didn't get to try the pool but it's small and uninviting.

The beach bar is a nice place for a drink after div

We stayed there for 7 days and breakfast was awful every single day. On one of the days, the egg station cooked me scrambled eggs that tasted really off, but the chef said it tasted OK to him. Then somebody else spat out the eggs he was eating and told the chef the same thing. Only then he chucked the large bowl of eggs and made a new batch. I couldn't believe he didn't chuck the eggs when I first complained, and waited for someone else to complain.

I'd recommend breakfast at the mini-mart next door, much tastier and so cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room, the view is so worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Decent hotel, but if you're a regular leisure (or even business) traveler, you might be a bit surprised by the lack of amenities that are regular fare in hotels of this size elsewhere. Most notable is the lack of free Wi-fi. They charge $5 per stay and even then you can only surf in the lobby and the signal is a bit slow and weak. Phone rooms were also on antiquated system (irregular dial tone and you can hear a 'party line' every now and then...).

Towels, sheets and mattresses not especially comfy and you can tell the hotel is pretty old and in bad need of an upgrade. Showers are a bit tricky to operate and if you're on the 5th floor like we were, pressure may not be as strong. Also, get a sea view room. We were with a group tour and didn't have a say in what rooms we got and so ended up with a room facing the trees in the back. East and south-facing rooms are best.

On the plus side, the staff (all Filipinos as far as I can tell) are very friendly and accommodating. Beach bar is nice to hang out in (didn't experience the bad service mentioned by another reviewer from 2 months ago) and their cocktails are pretty good (I had a margarita the two nights we drank there). I also love how each bed is a double, so you have lots of room.

Biggest plus for me is that Sea Passion is just walking distance to many dive operators and good restaurants. You can even walk to Rock Island Cafe (about 20 minutes) if you want a bit of an explore of Koror.

Room Tip: Choose sea-facing rooms on the east or south side.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tingdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
0.3 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 30 in Koror
448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#9 of 30 in Koror
241 reviews
4.6 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
1.6 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#4 of 30 in Koror
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Plaza Malakal
West Plaza Malakal
#21 of 30 in Koror
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Passion hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Passion hotel

Address: Malakal, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau (Formerly 海的熱情酒店)
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koror
Price Range: $180 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Passion hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Passion Hotel is located on Malakal island, in the state of Koror. We are a small boutique hotel with 77 rooms available. We offer a variety of rooms for different types of travelers, and we cater to guests from different continents from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sea Passion hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Passion Hotel Koror
Sea Passion Hotel Palau, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing