We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a family”
Review of Sea Passion hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Passion hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Koror
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in the large family room, which was set up very well. 3 double beds, one of which was more private with curtains. Bathroom and shower are very large and water pressure was good. I would suggest many more towel racks or hanging racks as there is really limited places to put several swimsuits and wet towels. Large flat screen TV had many channels with a wide variety. There are water dispensers on every floor and there was one only steps from our room. Very convenient for hot water for tea or coffee. No wifi in the rooms, which is a drawback. The limited access in the lobby was also not particularly fast but reasonable at $5/person for the entire stay. Breakfast buffet was below average but, enough to get by. We never tried any other meals at the hotel so not sure how they compare.
Probably the best feature of this hotel is its location. It is situated on a very nice little cove so the snorkeling is great, right off the beach. You can also rent kayaks and paddle around the area. It is easy walking distance to Neco Marine or Sams, which is convenient. We did not need to use any taxis this visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 216 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Sea Passion is primarily aimed at the Japanese market, but is fine for other nationalities. It has a very convenient location, close to the main diving operators and there are restaurants nearby. I had a room facing the hillside that was roomy, clean and comfortable, with a large balcony too. The Ocean View rooms have a better outlook, but of course cost more. Good pool and beachside bar - but be warned to splodge up with mozzie cream if visiting in the evening

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very decent hotel for a dive trip, big rooms and comfortable beds. The shower is large, water pressure very good.

Airport transfers were on time, the staff friendly and accommodating.

I didn't get to try the pool but it's small and uninviting.

The beach bar is a nice place for a drink after div

We stayed there for 7 days and breakfast was awful every single day. On one of the days, the egg station cooked me scrambled eggs that tasted really off, but the chef said it tasted OK to him. Then somebody else spat out the eggs he was eating and told the chef the same thing. Only then he chucked the large bowl of eggs and made a new batch. I couldn't believe he didn't chuck the eggs when I first complained, and waited for someone else to complain.

I'd recommend breakfast at the mini-mart next door, much tastier and so cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room, the view is so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Decent hotel, but if you're a regular leisure (or even business) traveler, you might be a bit surprised by the lack of amenities that are regular fare in hotels of this size elsewhere. Most notable is the lack of free Wi-fi. They charge $5 per stay and even then you can only surf in the lobby and the signal is a bit slow and weak. Phone rooms were also on antiquated system (irregular dial tone and you can hear a 'party line' every now and then...).

Towels, sheets and mattresses not especially comfy and you can tell the hotel is pretty old and in bad need of an upgrade. Showers are a bit tricky to operate and if you're on the 5th floor like we were, pressure may not be as strong. Also, get a sea view room. We were with a group tour and didn't have a say in what rooms we got and so ended up with a room facing the trees in the back. East and south-facing rooms are best.

On the plus side, the staff (all Filipinos as far as I can tell) are very friendly and accommodating. Beach bar is nice to hang out in (didn't experience the bad service mentioned by another reviewer from 2 months ago) and their cocktails are pretty good (I had a margarita the two nights we drank there). I also love how each bed is a double, so you have lots of room.

Biggest plus for me is that Sea Passion is just walking distance to many dive operators and good restaurants. You can even walk to Rock Island Cafe (about 20 minutes) if you want a bit of an explore of Koror.

Room Tip: Choose sea-facing rooms on the east or south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tingdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice place to stay, very centrally located near very good dive operators, 5 stories hotel with good view of rock islands, good bar at sunset and has a swimming pool. The staff are friendly and also close to good restaurants.

Room Tip: Top floor is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wowpalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Large hotel, massive clean up to date rooms, LCD tv with sat, nice views, huge bathroom with Polynesian like design. Breakfast unusual mixture of fish, miso soup, toast, Kraft cheese slices, veg, eggs, cereals ....get the picture. Omelettes nice though. Evening bar not the best. Wifi in reception only and slow. Rest of hotel bit dated. Small beach, pool ok but didn't use. Small Japanese plane in lagoon you can snorkel. Close proximity to SAMs tours, and other places to eat eg kramers and the others. Most of my time spent diving with sams tours.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pughio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We came to dive so we don't bother too much about the accomdation, but we did have a lovely room here. It was a corner suite with comfy chairs and sofas and as it rained most of the time it was nice place to comes back to and relax. The carpet did need a serious clean or replacing, and the towels were basic. Thes water pressure wasn't great, but it was hot enough. Staff are very friendly and the fafacility to get the restaurants to come and pick you up and take you back is a real plus. The breakfasts were't good - unless you wanted a full asian dinner starting with chicken noodle soup then chops with stir fry vegetables. European breakfasts were limited.
Do make sure you get an ocean veiw room.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Casterbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
0.3 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 31 in Koror
470 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#10 of 31 in Koror
249 reviews
4.6 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palau Hotel
Palau Hotel
#5 of 31 in Koror
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliffside Hotel Palau
Cliffside Hotel Palau
#25 of 31 in Koror
82 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#3 of 31 in Koror
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Passion hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Passion hotel

Address: Malakal, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau (Formerly 海的熱情酒店)
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Koror
Price Range: $188 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Passion hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Passion Hotel is located on Malakal island, in the state of Koror. We are a small boutique hotel with 77 rooms available. We offer a variety of rooms for different types of travelers, and we cater to guests from different continents from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sea Passion hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Passion Hotel Koror
Sea Passion Hotel Palau, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing