We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmy resort, charmy staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palau Plantation Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Palau Plantation Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Certificate of Excellence
St.Petersburg
2 reviews
“Charmy resort, charmy staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Honestly, it is not a luxury resort. But you can feel yourself very special, anyway. Small boutique style property, our huge suite and excellent smiley staff can made your days here. The location is fab, the only issue was very slow wi-fi connection, even at lobby. Anyway, enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivmikspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    57
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
58
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
tokyo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

By staying more than 5 nights and booking through the hotel homepage we got a good deal on this hotel. The location was good and if walking to town was too far in the rain we got the free shuttle bus. Included in our pack was free breakfast, free kayak tour and free massage. The room wasn't the best, a little small and dark, but we managed and it was clean and had good amenities.It was a little noisy at night, when it seems most people arrive and depart. The best point was that we could kayak directly from the dock at the hotel when the tide was high and soon we were in the rock islands. The kayak guide was really nice and helped us with our own kayak excursions.

Room Tip: Premium cabins are a bit small but not bad for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
449 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 609 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Staying at this resort was an excellent experience. This was the most expensive accommodation I stayed at while travelling in Asia (including Tokyo), but it did not disappoint. The resort did give us a free upgrade from the Premium Cabin to the Superior Cottage, for which I am forever grateful.

Highlights:

-The upgrade is truly a major reason why I was so happy with this experience. We felt like we were at home in this jungle-view getaway. The shower/tub was next to a huge window with no curtain....it felt like showering in the jungle! The high, peak ceiling made it feel very roomy. The balcony was a personal highlight – it was large with a spectacular view of the jungle. I cherished my daily routine of smoking cigars and drinking Koror’s Red Rooster beer while on this balcony. And our cottage was right on the edge of the property, which is a location I really liked as sometimes the pool area was noisy. We were in the Star Apple cottage, or #3017.

-The airport pick-up and drop-off is also a major perk. Our flight was about 2 hours late, but representative was still there waiting for us at 3:00am. And the seashell necklace was a pleasant surprise upon pick-up.

-Also appreciated was the late check-out at no extra charge. Since we checked in so late for our first night, it was the right thing for them to do (without having to ask).

-Upon check-in, the resort also gave us vouchers for free fruit smoothies/shakes. These were delicious. They also provided a 10% discount voucher for the Jungle Bar. This was an incentive to go in and try it out. At the advice of a local, we tried the fried ice cream. It did not disappoint, and I highly recommend it. It costs $10, but it is large and comfortably feeds two people.

-Location: for those who want to be close to town, this resort is a great choice. While you’re not on a beach, you have access to all the comforts of a town. Grocery shopping, beer/alcohol, souvenirs, museums/attractions, restaurants, and massages are all at your fingertips at this location. It is a very easy walk from the resort to town, which is about 10 minutes through residential roads. There are even small shops along the way, so you may be able to purchase what you need just seconds away from the resort. We did this walk at least a couple of times a day, day and night. There are even ‘lanterns’ in your room if you want to make this walk at night.

Other tips and items worth mentioning:

-While the resorts and excursions are quite expensive, prices of things in town (e.g., restaurants, groceries, beer/alcohol) are reasonable by Canadian price standards. For instance, you can get a can of Carlsberg beer for $1, and you can pay less than this for other beers if you buy a case. We even found a place to go for a donut and coffee in the morning.

-There is free Wi-Fi access in the lobby area, where the chairs are located. But note that the signal strength is quite weak, and not strong enough for Skype. It also made for a slow e-mailing process.

-I’m not sure why, but the airport security process getting to Palau was intense. I’m not sure if this is because of the airline we were with (United), the departure city (Manila), the destination, or perhaps there was a specific security threat. On the way to Palau we were asked for proof that we had booked our departure flight tickets on three separate occasions. And right at the flight gate before boarding for the Palau flight, I went through the most intense security process than anywhere else in my travels. It was like a security assembly line....first we went to a station where they physically searched every carry-on item; then off to a separate person who pats you down; then off to another person who examines your shoes. And we went through all this after having already gone through security twice before that in the same airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank product-of-canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meguro River
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Palau Plantation Resort and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff is absolutely wonderful. They greeted us by name each day and were always helpful. We really enjoyed the experience of staying in the jungle and the incorporation of traditional architectural details into the grounds and cabins.

Some reviews have mentioned the prices of the restaurant and bar. We didn't find them top expensive. It's true, you can find cheaper food in town, but you won't be able to eat it in such a beautiful setting. The menus incorporate dishes using local ingredients (fish, shellfish, taro, etc), which we also enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeguroRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This quaint little resort is set up on the hillside above the drab town of Koror. The property is incredibly lush and utilizes local architecture that is just beautiful. Service was top notch from the moment the staff greeted us at the airport until we departed.

We had a cabin room, which I think is just the run of the house room. It was clean, had a comfortable bed and decent size shower. The walls looked like they would be thin, but we rarely heard other guests. Our room was a bit small and lacking surfaces where we could work with our camera gear, but we don't spend much time in our room anyways.

We didn't try the spa facilities, but the pool and hot tubs were clean and a good temperature. The jungle bar had a good menu and was a creative atmosphere, if a bit musty. The restaurant we thought was way overpriced, so we only ate there a few times. The taro bread at breakfast was good, but not worth $12. The menu also really catered to Japanese tourists. We opted to eat at the dive operator or in town most of the time.

The set apart location we found as much of a curse as a blessing. It was an effort to get anywhere else, and the hotel's free shuttle only runs for a few hours in the evening and only to the supermarket downtown. If you want to go to a restaurant across the bridge near the dive operations you have to walk a while or hire a taxi.

In retrospect, I would stay here again if I wanted a retreat for a few days, but would probably opt for a hotel near the dive operator while diving, just for the convenience.

Room Tip: Opt for a cottage if you plan to spend a lot of time at the resort. They looked more spacious than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Palau Plantation resort has been excellent to me all the way, in normal times and challenging times.

First the warm greeting at the airport with fresh water, a shell necklace and refeshing towel is a little extra but it goes a long way and is only one of the little attentions the staff will give you along the way.

Although the room I rserved was a standard cabin, it was very large, well equipped and decorated with taste and simplicity. Everything is made of local wood, and you have a little balcony even. All the room are oriented so that you have a direct view of the rock islands and no vis a vis with your neighbours.

The hotel was very helpful helping me get my diving package with Sams tours sorted out and every morning they give you a clean towel to take with you.

The shuttle service if you wish to take it is timely and the drivers are nice to chat with.

The food at the hotel is good but not great, but there are so many good options in downtown Koror that it is really not a huge issue at all.

Where the hotel really shone in their service is when my fligt back to Guam got cancelled at the very last minute. They helped me sort things out withthe airline and made sure I could still stay with them for 2 extra nights. They spent quite a good amount of time on the phone helping me resolve the situation, and that is really exceptional service in my opinion.

If there was one minor thing I would fix if I was them would be to offer wifi in the rooms and get rid of the TV altogether.

I had a great stay, got a view of some of the other hotels in Palau and I would definitely choose Plantation again if I returned there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PierreF242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed at the Plantation for three nights in between two dive liveaboards. This was a lovely resort and the room rates were much more reasonable than some others we investigated. We were travelling with another couple and had initially booked a two bedroom suite. The hotel informed us that room had been double booked and instead offered us two individual suites for the same price. Our room was huge with a separate bedroom, living area, kitchenette and big bathroom with a washing machine (the best I have ever used once the staff translated the Japanese characters on the buttons).

We only ate one breakfast at the hotel restsurant which was good.

This is a small quiet place. It is an easy walk to downtown Koror during the day and the hotel has a shuttle service in the evening. It is a 5-10 minute drive to most of the bigger dive shops.

The hotel caters primarily to Japanese tourists but the staff all spoke english.

I woukd recommend Palau Plantation to anyone travelling to Koror unless you want to be right on the beach. The suites like the ones we stayed in would be perfect for longer stays as you could make a few of your own meals.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.3 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 30 in Koror
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
0.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#8 of 30 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palau Paradise Hotel
Palau Paradise Hotel
#5 of 30 in Koror
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sea Passion
Sea Passion
#18 of 30 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palau Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Plantation Resort

Property: Palau Plantation Resort
Address: Koror, Koror Island 96940-0856, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Koror
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koror
#4 Romantic Hotel in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palau Plantation Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palau Plantation Resort is a South Pacific hideaway offering travelers a wide selection of traditional styled cabins, cottages and villas surrounded by the natural beauty of a tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Palau Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Plantation Hotel Koror
Palau Plantation Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing